We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days in March”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A few days in March”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife & I, having been to Iceland twice in search of the Northern Lights moved to Norway. Unfortunately we were again unsuccessful, but the quality of the hotel almost totally made up for it. Knowing how expensive Norway can be we chose a hotel offering not just breakfast but an evening meal plus waffles mid afternoon. One of my better choices, the breakfast was more than enough to keep us going for the day, whilst the evening meal, which was described as a light meal was anything but. This without the waffles or the unlimited hot drinks. On this alone the hotel was excellent value for money. But there was more, the staff were tremendously helpful and I was particularly impressed with how they prepared a meal for two late (after 10pm) arrivals, they could not have done more (apologies for slipping back to the food theme) . On the down side I would say our room, although very acceptable was an attic room & rather dark with a view of the back yard. I would recommend upgrading to a harbour view room if available. As & when we return to Tromso I would happily return to this hotel which has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Harbour view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharltonTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Daer CharltonTed.

Thank you so much for the warm review and the stay with us in March. We hope the weather was kind on you during your stay, and that you got to see the lovely northern lights. You can even see them from the hotel room if they appear on the sky.

Wish you and yours a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    466
    87
    18
    9
See reviews for
192
782
103
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose. Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

All good, overnight stay on my way to hammerfest, friendly welcome/goodbye/conversation with reception, Nice room, sea view, Gym/leisure facilities available, quiet, I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MO1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi MO1426.

Thank you so much for your review and stay. Glad you had a nice time with us and also father north in Hammerfest.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A late review, but better late than never. We were in Tromso in December for 5 days to see the northern lights and were considering a few other hotels. I am so glad that we chose to stay with Clarion Collection Hotel With.

The location of the hotel is awesome - it is within walking distance to most of the meeting points for most of the day trips and very near to the shopping street. It is approximately 5 minutes drive away from the airport.

The room was of a decent size, with a very clean and brightly lit toilet. Breakfast and evening meals are free for hotel guests, and the food is pretty decent. This will save you quite a bit of money if you have your dinner in the hotel instead of spending USD80 and up at restaurants.

As the hotel is also located at the quayside of Tromso's port, you get the good views when you have your meals at the dining area.

Other facilities available in the hotel are free wifi (with very strong connection) and access to sauna.

1 downside was the noise level at night on weekends. We stayed at the 4th floor and could hear drunkards shouting at the top of their voices at 3am and it lasted for half an hour. If you're going out on a northern lights tour then it probably wouldn't bother you that much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Tahari8.

Thank you for the lovely review and choosing to stay with us in December. It was a nice picture you took of the hotel.

We are really glad you enjoyed you stay here, and are aware of the up's and down's of being in the middle of town. Tromsø is a casual city and we do enjoy to have a beer in the weekends. This does unfortunately is something the guests staying here would notice at times.

We still hope your stay with us was memorable and hope to see you again some time.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

So pleased we booked this wonderful hotel. It is an absolute gem of a place and the staff were wonderful too. The location is great with magical views out of the front rooms.
You really cannot put a price on the facility of being able to have tea and coffee, afternoon waffles and an evening meal all for 'free' in Norway. The food was all delicious and there was plenty of choice too, despite what some (fussy) people have said.
Without doubt we would stay here next time we visit Tromsø. We'd probably try for a slightly larger room, but all things considered it is fantastic value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Twincams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Twincams.

Thank you so much for your generous review and stay with us in March. We are really glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you got to see the wonderful Northern Lights.

Hope to see you again next time you return to us :)

Have a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here to start our honeymoon. The superior room was perfect with comfortable bed and fabulous view to the harbor even in cloudy and rainy nights. Evening meal was simple but warm and sufficient. Very amiable and helpful staff, who helped me arrange some flowers and fruit to my wife. We arrived late and the evening meal was over, but the hotel made us some extra warm food, which we really appreciated.

Room Tip: Secure a room with view to the harbor (it seems not necessarily a superior room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Calvin.

Thank you so much first of all for choosing us for your honeymoon trip, and we are glad you appreciated the flowers. Hope you had a lovely time in Tromsø with your wife.

We hope to welcome you back to us next time you are in Tromsø.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went to Tromso hopefully to see the Northern Lights - they did not show up - shame. We stayed at this hotel and what a lovely place we chose. The food - staff and location were all excellent. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody going to Tromso.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoBri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi JoBri8.

Thank you so much for a very nice review and stay with us.

Such a shame the lights did not appear for you. Maybe you can come back next winter for a long weekend? It truly is an experience when you get to enjoy it. You can even see it from the room window if it appears on the sky.

We hope to welcome you back to us.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for four nights and the hotel was very good value. Although we didn't think we would take the free evening buffet meal in fact we did so twice: once on arrival from the airport and another time when we had been out on a day long excursion. The breakfast was OK. The cereal and yogurt option was good. It was great to be able to cook waffles and have coffee/tea during the afternoon, having come back in from a cold day.

Our room faced the harbour and was a good size so I would recommend paying the extra supplement for a superior room, The only drawback was the absence of storage apart from hanging space so we lived out of our suitcases.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Carol G.

Thank you for your nice review and for the stay with us.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Tromsø. We hope you got to see the lights here, and we hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing