We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

So glad we booked this hotel and not the fancy looking one round the harbour. Ours was quiet, well maintained and easy to get to and from. Theirs was undergoing major work and looked atrocious! Great staff who pointed us in all the right directions including the fact that the receptionist's friend worked for a Northern Lights tour company and he'd told her that it was going to be a great display that night - the day we arrived! Good breakfast in the hotel and, surprise, surprise, they stocked lactose free milk which Tracey uses wherever possible.
Nice room overlooking the harbour and the huge bridge and fabulous view as the sun went down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jokerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi Jokerbiker.

Thank you for the review and for choosing us for your stay in Tromsø in February.

I hope you got the most of your northern lights watching and got some great memories to bring home to England. It is a lovely image you attached, and it is truly a lovely view of the harbor side. I was first mistaken it to be during the spring ;)

Wish you all a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Greate location at the harbour, lovely view from most rooms. Short distnace to shopping and restaurants.
Big clean rooms with good comfort, nice beds and linen.
Greate breakfast and evening meals served in nice restaurant with the best view of the harbour.
Newspaper in reception and afternoon coffe with waffels is greate.
Good service in reception at all time of day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have excellent view over the harbour and Tromsdalen with Ishavskatedralen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hei Anita.

Thank you so much for such a nice review and for your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed it! We have had a bit shifting weather in May, but luckily now it seems to offer us lovely weather. :)

Hope to welcome you back to us soon!

Ha en fin sommer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is well situated at the harbor, near the bus stop, and close to the tourist information and shops. Nearby construction of a new hotel disrupted the area; but, we managed fine.
Check-in was a pleasure. All the rooms with a view were booked, so an upgrade wasn’t possible. We were given a room on the top floor. After a few minutes, we decided the building noises were too much and we switched to the same room on the fourth floor.
The room was sparkling clean and is comfy…but really not worth $360/night except that it is in Norway, north of the arctic circle! You just have to get over it and pay. The sticker-shock quickly fades away when you are lucky enough to see the magic of the northern lights!!!
There’s a queen sized bed with good sheets and comforter. The bedside lamps are good for reading. There’s a sitting area with comfy chairs and a desk. The wi-fi works very well. There is no safe in the room. There is little storage for unpacking.
The bathroom was also sparkling clean. Nothing is fancy, but everything is adequate.
The included meals are the biggest advantage to this hotel. The breakfast is wonderful with plenty of choices of cereals, yogurts, fruits, fresh baked breads, veggies, cold cuts, plus a full hot buffet of eggs, sausage, bacon, and potatoes. The all-day coffee/tea service is handy. We really enjoyed the afternoon waffles, try yours with the Norwegian brown cheese, sugar and cinnamon. The evening meal includes a salad buffet and a stew or pasta. The fresh baked breads are wonderful. After eating out in Norway for a few meals, you will see the value in this hotel’s offering.
The staff were all very helpful from helping change our room to recommending northern lights viewing spots…they were kind and caring! They were kind enough to let us stay in our room until our late afternoon flight.
I strongly recommend this hotel if you want a clean, comfortable, well-staffed hotel and wish to eat casual meals in-between sight-seeing and light-chasing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear celusnek.

Thank you so much for your extensive review from you as such an experience reviewer. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you got to see and take a lot of pictures of the Aurora. We are so lucky to be right in the region of good northern lights activity and they are a pleasure to watch every time. Even for us locals.

They are nearly done with the renovation of Rica 100m away, and that also helps the total impression of the harbor side around us as well as the noice.

Hope you return back to Tromsø and to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in December for a surprise birthday celebration. Great location for all the town shops and sights, with the added bonus of being able to look across the harbour at the modern church.The room was very nice, clean with all the facilities you would expect. We did upgrade to a room looking out to the harbour (not an expensive option for a few days). The staff were helpful though it was a shame they did not seem to know about the facilities available for shopping. We were told that shops were closed on Sunday but having taken our time to sort things and pack we then went out, to find that all the shops were open, so we had wasted time really. Breakfast buffet was very nice but the waffle making was slow and people queued for a long time. Perhaps they should have an extra machine for this.
A lovely time spent here for a few days, but getting used to the few hours of daylight is a bit difficult. Would recommend.

Room Tip: If staying in a room overlooking the harbour it is very quiet, so a good night's sleep is no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Alan.

Thank you so much for your review and that you chose us for your birthday celebration. Hope you had a wonderful time in Tromsø and got to see the northern lights. The darkness is even hard for us to get used to, even after so many years. :-)

We wish you and yours all the best for the summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here the end of March for 5 nights. We felt so at home, not like a lot of large hotels that can be rather impersonal. Nothing was too much trouble and the amazing breakfasts, waffles and dinners, included in the price, were a bonus, especially as food is very expensive in Norway. Recommend a harbour view room - great overlooking the water and the goings on.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Glenda H.

thank you so much for the kind review. We are really pleased that you chose us for your stay in Tromsø.

Hope you had a great time and that you come back soon. :)

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife & I, having been to Iceland twice in search of the Northern Lights moved to Norway. Unfortunately we were again unsuccessful, but the quality of the hotel almost totally made up for it. Knowing how expensive Norway can be we chose a hotel offering not just breakfast but an evening meal plus waffles mid afternoon. One of my better choices, the breakfast was more than enough to keep us going for the day, whilst the evening meal, which was described as a light meal was anything but. This without the waffles or the unlimited hot drinks. On this alone the hotel was excellent value for money. But there was more, the staff were tremendously helpful and I was particularly impressed with how they prepared a meal for two late (after 10pm) arrivals, they could not have done more (apologies for slipping back to the food theme) . On the down side I would say our room, although very acceptable was an attic room & rather dark with a view of the back yard. I would recommend upgrading to a harbour view room if available. As & when we return to Tromso I would happily return to this hotel which has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Harbour view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharltonTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Daer CharltonTed.

Thank you so much for the warm review and the stay with us in March. We hope the weather was kind on you during your stay, and that you got to see the lovely northern lights. You can even see them from the hotel room if they appear on the sky.

Wish you and yours a wonderful summer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

All good, overnight stay on my way to hammerfest, friendly welcome/goodbye/conversation with reception, Nice room, sea view, Gym/leisure facilities available, quiet, I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank MO1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi MO1426.

Thank you so much for your review and stay. Glad you had a nice time with us and also father north in Hammerfest.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £93 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing