We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value for money ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located right at the seafront, this hotel offers good value for money. Breakfast and evening meals are included, as are hot drinks 24 hrs and waffles in the afternoon. Staff are friendly and the common areas stylish enough. Our room was quite small and faced the sometimes noisy back yard, but I guess you could through in some extra money for a room facing the harbour if that's important to you. Bottom line is I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Megselv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Megselv123

Thank you so much for your review and for your recent stay with us. Hope you had a lovely time and glad for the friendly words. I will bring them over to the rest of our staff.

Wish you a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    460
    87
    17
    9
See reviews for
190
773
102
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I selected this hotel based on the reviews. but as I stayed five nights from June1-June 6. I was disappointed. It is true that the location is good. but Tromso is a small town and most of the hotels have good location. the real positive thing is the evening meal. the bad experience started on the third day. it was not cleaning the room. as I told the reception at that day of this considering it a simple oversight that can be resolved easly and nicely, I was shocked to hear the gentleman at the reception trying to make unbelievable excuses about clarion collection don not clean the rooms daily. finally someone from the staff volunteered to clean the room. next day I made sure to ask the reception to clean the room. but again it was not and the same man making similar excuses. I think that the most important thing that a traveler is looking for in a hotel is cleanness of the room and consideration of the reception and management. on both counts this hotel fails. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alshaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear alshaheen

Thank you so much for your feedback. Good feedback from our guests is important for us to get better.

Our hotel and chain is a chain focussed on enviroment and the man in the front desk is correct. We do not do full cleaning of the rooms every day. The linen is changed every 3rd. day and towels are replaced if the guests wish. A notice about towels spesific is noted on the bathroom wall. We do have the possibility to change linen more often if the guests spesifically put in a request about this during work hours, but we do not have housekeeping staffed 24 hours a day. We do clean the rooms and dust them every day, but the guests here can also choose no cleaning by hanging out a "do not disturb" tassle.

We always look for new ways of improving and new ways of being a more enviromentally friendly chain. Good ideas and tips to make this happen is very welcomed to us.

I hope your stay with us in Tromsø and in general was pleasant and that you choose us upon the next occation to come back to the north.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing location and view with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. The food and service was brilliant and the staff were very helpful. Loved the bedrooms with underfloor heated bathrooms, everything was spotless and kept to a brilliant standard. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank -charrild-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear -charrild-.

Thank you so much for your nice review of us, and you stay in April. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us in Tromsø. Hopefully you spotted the northern light during your stay?

We hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

So glad we booked this hotel and not the fancy looking one round the harbour. Ours was quiet, well maintained and easy to get to and from. Theirs was undergoing major work and looked atrocious! Great staff who pointed us in all the right directions including the fact that the receptionist's friend worked for a Northern Lights tour company and he'd told her that it was going to be a great display that night - the day we arrived! Good breakfast in the hotel and, surprise, surprise, they stocked lactose free milk which Tracey uses wherever possible.
Nice room overlooking the harbour and the huge bridge and fabulous view as the sun went down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Jokerbiker.

Thank you for the review and for choosing us for your stay in Tromsø in February.

I hope you got the most of your northern lights watching and got some great memories to bring home to England. It is a lovely image you attached, and it is truly a lovely view of the harbor side. I was first mistaken it to be during the spring ;)

Wish you all a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Greate location at the harbour, lovely view from most rooms. Short distnace to shopping and restaurants.
Big clean rooms with good comfort, nice beds and linen.
Greate breakfast and evening meals served in nice restaurant with the best view of the harbour.
Newspaper in reception and afternoon coffe with waffels is greate.
Good service in reception at all time of day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have excellent view over the harbour and Tromsdalen with Ishavskatedralen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hei Anita.

Thank you so much for such a nice review and for your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed it! We have had a bit shifting weather in May, but luckily now it seems to offer us lovely weather. :)

Hope to welcome you back to us soon!

Ha en fin sommer!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is well situated at the harbor, near the bus stop, and close to the tourist information and shops. Nearby construction of a new hotel disrupted the area; but, we managed fine.
Check-in was a pleasure. All the rooms with a view were booked, so an upgrade wasn’t possible. We were given a room on the top floor. After a few minutes, we decided the building noises were too much and we switched to the same room on the fourth floor.
The room was sparkling clean and is comfy…but really not worth $360/night except that it is in Norway, north of the arctic circle! You just have to get over it and pay. The sticker-shock quickly fades away when you are lucky enough to see the magic of the northern lights!!!
There’s a queen sized bed with good sheets and comforter. The bedside lamps are good for reading. There’s a sitting area with comfy chairs and a desk. The wi-fi works very well. There is no safe in the room. There is little storage for unpacking.
The bathroom was also sparkling clean. Nothing is fancy, but everything is adequate.
The included meals are the biggest advantage to this hotel. The breakfast is wonderful with plenty of choices of cereals, yogurts, fruits, fresh baked breads, veggies, cold cuts, plus a full hot buffet of eggs, sausage, bacon, and potatoes. The all-day coffee/tea service is handy. We really enjoyed the afternoon waffles, try yours with the Norwegian brown cheese, sugar and cinnamon. The evening meal includes a salad buffet and a stew or pasta. The fresh baked breads are wonderful. After eating out in Norway for a few meals, you will see the value in this hotel’s offering.
The staff were all very helpful from helping change our room to recommending northern lights viewing spots…they were kind and caring! They were kind enough to let us stay in our room until our late afternoon flight.
I strongly recommend this hotel if you want a clean, comfortable, well-staffed hotel and wish to eat casual meals in-between sight-seeing and light-chasing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear celusnek.

Thank you so much for your extensive review from you as such an experience reviewer. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you got to see and take a lot of pictures of the Aurora. We are so lucky to be right in the region of good northern lights activity and they are a pleasure to watch every time. Even for us locals.

They are nearly done with the renovation of Rica 100m away, and that also helps the total impression of the harbor side around us as well as the noice.

Hope you return back to Tromsø and to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in December for a surprise birthday celebration. Great location for all the town shops and sights, with the added bonus of being able to look across the harbour at the modern church.The room was very nice, clean with all the facilities you would expect. We did upgrade to a room looking out to the harbour (not an expensive option for a few days). The staff were helpful though it was a shame they did not seem to know about the facilities available for shopping. We were told that shops were closed on Sunday but having taken our time to sort things and pack we then went out, to find that all the shops were open, so we had wasted time really. Breakfast buffet was very nice but the waffle making was slow and people queued for a long time. Perhaps they should have an extra machine for this.
A lovely time spent here for a few days, but getting used to the few hours of daylight is a bit difficult. Would recommend.

Room Tip: If staying in a room overlooking the harbour it is very quiet, so a good night's sleep is no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Alan.

Thank you so much for your review and that you chose us for your birthday celebration. Hope you had a wonderful time in Tromsø and got to see the northern lights. The darkness is even hard for us to get used to, even after so many years. :-)

We wish you and yours all the best for the summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing