We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Couldn't get a better location -- right on the harbor within walking distance of most of what you might want to do in Tromso (plus all the buses stop around the corner from the hotel). The place is clean and run by friendly people -- it is Norway afterall. Some of the more surprising benifits include an almost constant supply of free food -- breakfast, then an afternoon "tea" of Norweigan waffles, then an evening buffet. They also have a fantastic coffee/espresso machine on duty 24/7 which was enough to earn this hotel my eternal loyalty as I fought off jetlag There is a comfortable lounge off the dining room that's well stocked with books and chairs as well as outdoor seating whent he weather is right. The rooms were clean and spacious for Europe. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2009

We moved from the budget Ami Hotel to this one (not because Ami was not good. It so happened that we have booked this well in advance. Please see my separate comment on Ami), and are most impressed.
Originally we have booked a single room with extra bed (to save a bit of $$ and we need to in Norway!). The lady at the counter saw that we are two adults and has kindly switched a two single beds room to us at no extra charge. The room is very large and clear. Although there is no view, we are more than happy with the deal.
Free waffles are remarkable and are certainly one of the highlights of our first trip to this part of the world! We stayed for 2 nights (and we hope we had stayed more) and the evening meals were different. It's included in the not-too-expensive room rate so let's be realistic. As a matter of fact, I'd rate it highly compared to any restaurant out there which charges at least 300 krones per person for a full meal. On the first evening we had fresh salad and fish soup. On the second the hot dish was the memorable potato pie - yummy! The taste still lingers....
It's entirely because of this extraordinary experience that we changed our stay from Comfort Hotel to Clarion Bastion in Oslo the next week, as the latter also provides free waffles and light evening meal!
The hotel is just a 5 to 10-minute walk from the tourist office and the cruise pier so it is very convenient. Really enjoy our 4-day stay in Tromso. Hope I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Arrived to a very welcoming reception and soon found out that nothing was too much trouble. They gave us a harbour view and a kettle in our room as requested, even though coffee, tea and chocolate was on tap in the dining room 24 hrs a day! Room was comfortable, although the window a little on the small side. Beds were extremely comfortable. Steam room and sauna on the top floor had a wonderful view of the harbour and a lovely place to go and relax after trips. The food was basic but plentiful and the afternoon waffles (you made yourself) were so yummy! It was good to have free internet access to keep in touch with family. We couldn't really fault the hotel and would definitely recommend it, especially after speaking to people in other hotels in Tromso.

We were there for 5 days and it snowed for 4 or those! We waited and booked trips with the Tromso Tourist Information - Kyle was the best and helped us immensely. Trips - reindeer sleighing, evening dog sledding, nature trip and northern lights trip (we did see them briefly – Ivar the guide was determined even though we left the hotel in a blizzard!). Unfortunately our snow-mobiling was cancelled due to the threat of avalanches!!! Trips were expensive but worth doing.

We visited Polaria, the Polar Museum and the Mack Brewery (very expensive pint though!)

We found Tromso a delightful and compact city. Locals were friendly and we felt very safe going out in the evening - mostly walking around in the snow!

All in all a great break. We will return one day when hopefully solar activity is more prevalent!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_JDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed at the Hotel With for 6 nights in mid February 2009. We were a party of 4 and had booked 2 double rooms through Norsc Holidays http://www.norsc.co.uk. We found the hotel on Tripadvisor and originally contacted the hotel direct but then we came across Norsc Holidays and they were able to get us a much better rate. They also managed to get us 2 of the best rooms in the hotel, with a lovely view of the harbour.
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, though we didn't really spend an awful lot of time there, with all the activities we had on during the day and the evening. The breakfast buffet was really nice and offered plenty of choice. We also enjoyed the waffles and they were certainly popular (be prepared to queue!).
We ate in the hotel most evenings as it meant we had time for a quick bite to eat before leaving for that night's activities. Again, the choice was quite good, with one hot dish (usually soup or pasta) and some cold meats, cheeses, salad and fruits. We made use of the sauna and steam room on a couple of occasions, and the free beer that's provided up there :-)
The Hotel is very centrally located, with great views of the harbour and across to the arctic cathedral, and a lot of the northern lights trips leave from the nearby hotels.
We originally booked our holiday to Tromso after seeing the Joanna Lumley programme last year, and were lucky enough to be able to book to go out with the same guide she did, Kjetil Skegli. We went out with Kjetil on our second night, full of optimism and excitement. Unfortunately it was a very cloudy night and although we spent six and a half hours driving around in his car (almost crossing into Finland at one point) we didn't see anything!
Apparently there had been a really good display of the lights the night before but we’d been too busy drinking our duty free in the hotel room to notice!
We had better luck the next night though, on a trip to Ramsfjord which we booked through the Tourist Office (which is a 5 min walk from the hotel and the staff are really friendly and helpful). This was more of an organised trip to a really nice camping area by a frozen fiord. We were given reindeer skins to lie on to look up at the sky and wait for the lights. There was also a lavvo (Sami tent) with a fire and hot coffee and cake, perfect for warming up between sky gazing! When we spotted our first glimpse of the northern lights (a green streak in the sky) it was very exciting and soon made you forget that you couldn’t feel your toes! The display got better and better until it stretched across the whole sky.
We had an even better display the next night, when we took the fast Hurtigruten boat up to Saroya, one of the northern islands, and then got the steamer back to Tromso. The next night we had the best display of the trip, on another organised tour to Frilufsenter, which was again a really nice area by a frozen fiord. The lights were already on display when we got off the minibus and continued to entertain us for the rest of the evening with an amazing display which seemed to fill the whole sky. Although there was a lavvo with fire, and coffee and cake no-one wanted to tear themselves away from the lights.
I would thoroughly recommend a trip to one of these centres to anyone who wants to see the northern lights. You’re with a small group of people who are all there for the same reason, the guides are really knowledgeable and helpful, and the scenery is amazing. Plus there’s coffee and cake thrown in!
I’m aware that this review is turning into a novel so just a couple of things. On the last day we went dog-sledding at the Villmarkssenter which was absolutely brilliant. The scenery is amazing and there are plenty of bumps and hills to make the ride interesting, as my sister and brother-in-law found out when they both fell in the snow! The dogs are really friendly and we were lucky enough to see (and hold) some 2 week old husky puppies! I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who is looking for some fun and a change from sky-gazing. Finally, the scenery around Tromso is fantastic, I would recommend taking a bus out of the city (as we did) and exploring a little. The staff at the tourist information office will be more than happy to recommend some areas that are worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank GnTJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We booked 3 nights at The With, as a spur of the moment decision, and were guided to some extent by earlier reviews.
We had a basic room, but it was large, with 2 comfortable armchairs, and very warm.
Staff were helpful and friendly. When we were checking in on line for our flights back to UK they even let us use their office computer as the public one had a broken printer and we needed to print boarding passes.
We enjoyed the choice at breakfast, and even cooked our own bacon. Waffles were fun, but a bit messy, and the choice of coffee and tea on tap 24 hours a day was good. We had one evening buffet - good range with hot soup, and were able to order wine with this.
We ate at Streakers - the steak house virtually next door. It was very good, and not as expensive as we feared.
We booked a dog sledging trip at the Wilderness Centre. It was wonderful - over snow and frozen lakes at night, then warming up in the Sami tent round a massive fire. It was expensive, but worth every penny.
We used local buses to see a bit of the immediate area, and walked over the bridge to the Arctic Cathedral.
The Hotel was clean, warm, well located for everything, and very friendly.
We would love to go back in the summer, and would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank worthingwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I booked direct with the hotel for 3 nights from 26th Nov to 29th Nov and I can't praise this hotel enough.
When booking on-line I noticed that a superior room was the same price as a standard double so obviously we went for that one.
When we arrived, check-in was quick and the receptionist was really helpful. He even offered to look into any local events that may be going on whilst we were there. We arrived at 9pm, just in time to catch the evening meal on offer. I will admit, I am not too sure what it was, some pasta dish that tasted nice and there was plenty of fruit as well, great after our flight over.
Our room (417) faced the harbour and was lovely. We arrived to find slippers, dressing gowns and a teddy bear on our bed. 2 comfy chairs with tea and coffee, big tv, dvd player and an ipod player! It was great to relax with the curtains open and see the snow falling.
Breakfast is continental - bread, ham, cheeses, fruit etc... but on Saturday bacon and eggs came out, although at which point the hotel got busy.
Waffles is also a nice treat - especially how expensive it is here.
The hotel is in a prime location, right on the harbour and near all the pick up points for trips. There is also a lovely looking area on the top floor with a suana and free beer! Although this opened at 3pm-10pm and we were always out at these times so only briefly got a glimpse of it.
Overall I was really impressed with this hotel. Its decor is done like a ship and looks really fresh, as did our room.
I couldn't recommend this hotel enough to people (although looking at other reviews, it would appear the superior rooms are superior!)
As a final point it was also great to have tea, coffee and hot chocolate on tap in the lounge all day - they even provide take away cups so if you are heading out you can keep yourself warm with a hot drink - brilliant!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeiraYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

This hotel sits on the harbour in Tromso with great views. We stopped in a twin room as I went with my niece. The staff were helpful at check-in and when asked if we could have a room with a view, they were more than happy to accommodate us. The room was clean basic and maybe in need of a bit of an update. Certainly the bathroom seemed rather old - having said that, the shower was great - powerful with lots of hot water.

We didn't use anything from the mini-bar, so I can't comment on prices. They served breakfast by way of a buffet style affair, the food was trypical European fare, with cooked cold meats etc. From 3pm you can cook your own waffles - not the most healthy food, but it was great having hot waffles. Dinner in the evening was again a buffet affair with cold meats, fish, bread etc. There was a coffee machine in the restaurant area which was free and no limit on how much you had. This meant that there was no tea/coffee making facility in the hotel rooms!

The weekend at the hotel was very busy and certainly made meal times a little difficult as there didn't appear to be enough seats for everybody. A lot of children were at the hotel during the weekend, some of them playing in the lift which I found a little dangerous - but staff and parents seemed to turn a blind eye to what was going on - maybe they have a more 'relaxed' approach to parenting than the English!

The only 'negative' about the hotel was the fact that the TV in the room had no English speaking channels. The TV info said that there was a BBC World News channel, but this wasn't the case. I'm not a great watcher of TV and the time spent in the room was minimal, but I do like to catch up on a bit of news now & again.

The hotel is set in a great location, but if you are not a shopper, I think that the options of what to do are pretty limited. I hired a car and once I got used to driving on the right side of the road, it was great and we travelled over 1,000km 'sightseeing' the various islands and the mainland - we came very close to the border with Finland at one point.

I was told that Norway is very expensive and took over 3,000 Kroner for only 4 days & 3 nights. However, as we spent a lot of time in the car, I cannot comment about the cost of eating out as we managed with what the hotel had to offer, and purchased stuff from a supermarket while out in the car. The cost of petrol/diesel is similar to that of the UK. We managed our 1k miles on less than a tank of fuel. I managed to return with 1,300 Kroner.

All in all, a great few days away in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £93 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing