We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent spot”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

lovely hote,l just got home today, rooms where nice there was still some work going on but not to much noise, was concerned that although myn room was cleaned it was not hoovered and i was with a child so there where crumbs etc on the carpet, no big deal but.., breakfast was yummy would be an idea to maybe have even one cereal available espicially for children, evening buffet was pleantiful, and the waffles mega yummy, cant believe thisis a 2 star easiley a 3, friendly staff, english programmes to snuggle up in bed to look at, fab views, 24 hr tea coffee hot choc and cookies at reception, free internet, and they make it look so cosy will definately be back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    486
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
200
800
106
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bialystok, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

That hotel is wonderfull. Staff - more then helpful. Food - delicious. Atmosphere - super. I were treated like the precious guest since I have crossed the entrance till I said "good bye".

I strongly would recommend it for even most exigent travelers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tejsza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

If you are travelling to Norway to see the Northern Lights, then Tromso is your best bet and if you are staying there this hotel is a must. The location is fabulous, right on the harbour, with fabulous views of the Cathedral and surrounding mountains. The harbour is a working harbour but the larger ships dock further down so your view shouldnt be interrupted. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are currently being refurbished and we stayed in a room with a new bathroom which was lovely. The main advantage of this hotel is that it provides not only breakfast but a buffet meal in the evening. This consisted of soup, salad, cold meats, cheese and a hot offering. Whilst we were there we had Salmon with veg, meatballs and potatoes then a stir fry. On top of that waffles are available in the afternoon and hot drinks throughout the day. Who can ask for more?? Norway can be expensive so these little extras really make a difference.
The hotel is in a prime position and the only thing we found a little odd was that the bed was not fully made up, a small thing compared to all the advantages.
As for Tromso, it is easy to get around (the taxi from the airport cost about £10 and there a frequent buses) and everyone speaks English. The Tourist Office is a very good place to start your visit, with very helpful staff. We went on a Northern Lights Tour bus, which was excellent (yes we saw the lights!!) There are a few tours like this and we went on the shorter option, which lasted nearly 5 hours! It is worth doing this as the lights are only visable if the sky is clear so on this type of tour you can travel around to find a clear sky.
Norway is expensive especially for alcohol so if you enjoy a tipple maximise your duty free allowance. Saying that though we paid the same for a couple of beers in a boring grey hotel near Gatwick as we did at the cafe on top of the mountain, with stunning views and a roaring fire in Tromso, so go figure.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodygirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

A friendly hotel with very helpful staff. We stayed in two large rooms that were directly on on the quayside. Both rooms were spacious and modern. There was no disruption from renovation work mentioned by earlier visitors. The room price included buffet breakfast, all day coffee and juices, waffles in the afternoon and a simle buffet dinner. There is parking available right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopLatimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWith, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Just a short clarification about parking. The hotel do not have parking ourselves outside the hotel, but our guest usually can pay for parking at our neighbour. There is limited space available there, can not be prebooked and the price for 1 night is 120 NOK. We also sell parking tickets to a garage in town (4 minutes to walk back to the hotel after parking), and the price here is 100 NOK for a 24 hour parking ticket. Please ask about parking at the Front Office when you arrive at the hotel.

Alf-Einar Gjertsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I'm going to try and split this review in to a review of the Hotel and a review of Tromso and trips. If you only care about the hotel then only read the 1st bit.
So Hotel First... We (3 of us) stayed in Room 603 on the top floor of the Hotel. The room was reasonably sized and had a fantastic view of the harbour. We hadn't booked a room on the 6th floor. They upgraded us for free (at my sister's request prior to arrival) because it was my birthday.

The negatives: As another reviewer has mentioned they are refurbishing the bathrooms and so there is loud drilling noise daily any time from 9am-5pm supposedly. However, we were woken at 7.30AM!!!! on our departure morning by the noise of builders erecting scaffholding pretty much under our window. If we hadn't been leaving that day we'd have complained but as we were going I didn't see the point. Like the other reviewer we also hadn't been pre-warned.

The two single beds in our room were VERY soft and I found mine uncomfortable. The fold out sofa bed was pretty creaky and also uncomfortable.

These are the only two negative things I have to report. Staff were friendly and helpful (eg providing restaurant recommendations etc), the whole hotel was clean, the food was good (breakfast and dinner) and the free waffles and hot drinks were great. I can't stress enough what a bonus it was having food included. I knew Norway would be expensive but be warned - It's MONSTROUSLY expensive. £8 for a tiny sandwich and £7.50 for a Vodka & tonic. You do get a good hairdryer, trouser press, mini bar including snacks and basic toiletries in the room. Obviously the food and drink in the mini bar is extortionate.

Other things I liked were the lounges and the sauna and steam room. I'll try & attach photos. Another bonus is the hotel's location right on the waterfront and only 50 yrds from the Rica Hotel. This is where many companies collect you from for the trips. The main shopping street and heart of the town is right behind the hotel.

Trips:
We went on 2 lights chasing trips. The first was with Guide Gunnar and the second with Ivar from Natur i Nord. We booked well in advance. Both men were friendly and knowledgeable. Gunnar in particular was incredibly helpful before our arrival in Tromso. We had a snowball's chance in hell of seeing the lights as the weather was terrible and It is crushing getting on the bus knowing that you're in for 7 hours of sitting on a bus in the slamming rain. I tell you this because I was NOT prepared for the disappointment of not seeing the lights. Paying £90 to drive around in the dark isn't funny. However, I'd still pre-book if I were to go back because both tours were full even in such bad weather so I imagine we'd have had no chance trying to book them while we were there especially if the skies had been clear. If you do go out with Natur i Nord then I recommend the "Lights Tour with Dinner". It's probably £20 more but the food was lovely. Meats, cheeses, fish and salad beautifully presented followed by chocolate cake.

We also went Dog Sledding with Lyngsfjord Adventure. You spend about 3 hours sledding. You go in pairs with one of you driving and the other sitting down. You have 5 friendly but boisterous dogs pulling you. I found that you did need to be fit and healthy to drive the sled. I am 30 and reasonably mobile and I was struggling by the end. I fell off twice and nearly broke my neck but it is worth doing. My Mum who is in her 60s really loved it and she didn't find it difficult at all! If one of you wants to drive and the other doesn't then that's fine - but the person driving had better be strong. One tip here: Don't wear bulky clothes. They make you wear their all in one survival suits. We went wearing ski gear and had to pretty much strip down to our thermals to get the suit on.

We also booked Reindeer sledding at the Friluftsentre. We were looking forward to this most of all but it was cancelled because of the rain. The lady said she thinks their season may be over now and that it's been an awful year (too warm).

Boat trip - we went on a boat trip to Finstness (I've probably mis-spelled that) on a Hurtigruten catamaran. It's about £45-£50 and takes about an hour and 15 each way. The scenery is gorgeous - at least I'm sure it was behind the awful weather. You can just walk down and get on the boat. No need to pre-book.

In conclusion we did not have a good holiday due mainly to the awful weather and the no-show of the lights. Tromso/Norway is wonderful though and worth a visit despite the prices and the CRUEL CRUEL weather. I would also stay at this Hotel again despite the noise.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Striker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWith, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
As we never before have given feedback on reviews on TripAdvisor, and that we have started again with the renovation of the bathrooms, we feel that it is necessary to post a general comment to the reviews regarding the noise from the renovation.

The reviews are very understandable, as these guests have stayed with us at the time when the noise was at its highest. We were (and still are) trying to warn guest prior to arrival, but there is almost impossible to reach everyone as the bookings come from several different channels. The guest that have written the reviews here, were not warned beforehand and their reaction is very understandable.

From February to May we were renovating the bathrooms of the 2nd and 3rd floor. For the summer period we had a break from the work. We have now started again with the 4th, the 5th and the 6th Floor. The work will continue until the end of November, and there will be noise at the hotel during this period. The extent of the noise will vary, some days there will be extensive noise due to drilling in the tiles (especially in the starting period of every floor) and some days one will hardly notice any work. The drilling hours are from 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday. There can also be other noise from 7.30am to 9am, but not to the extent of the drilling. Normally the work stops at 1pm on Fridays and there will be no work on Saturdays and Sundays.

If you are planning to book accommodation at Hotel With it is necessary for us to point out that one can experience noise as long as the renovation is going on. If you are coming for a relaxing time during the week (Monday to Friday) it might be better to find another hotel until the renovation is finished, and instead come back to stay with us when we can offer a relaxing atmosphere along with new bathrooms in all our rooms. Are you coming for business and are out most of the day, you will not be as much affected by the renovation. Of course we want as many guests as possible to stay with us, but have realised that it is not suited for all type of travellers to stay with us during the renovation.

Inger Helen Hjemvoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoreham-by-sea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Unfortunately we did not have a very good experience at this Hotel despite reading all the glowing reports on Trip Advisor we felt we were dealt a raw deal.

Firstly we were given room 313 which had a broken bed, the bed sank in the middle and had apparently three soft mattresses on top so goodness knows what the condition of the bed was underneath. Anyway, the following morning after explaining to reception we were given room 307 which did have a better bed. It had a glorious view of the harbour and we were happy.

We heard the most dreadful drilling, hammer drill sounding like an industrial pneumatic drill from 9.15 in the morning and on enquiring discovered that they were renovating all the bathrooms on the second floor and the work would continue from 9.15am to 4pm every day except Saturday and Sunday and it would be going on for weeks. When I said that I felt it was unacceptable and that we were on holiday and wanted to rest we were told that people had been told when they booked about the renovations. I explained that we had booked months ago and had not been told. We were not offered a different hotel, just sympathy and ear plugs. In fairness we did not push for another hotel as we needed the food that was included as the restaurants were so expensive. It meant that we were unable to be in our room during the day, which was not good for us as we like to take a nap early afternoon before setting off on our explorations again. It is also extremely unfair of the hotel as people are out late searching for the lights and therefore not everyone wants to be forced out of bed just past 9 in the morning. We had to make use of the lounges in the nearby hotels during the day just popping back quickly to have a hot drink or a waffle at the With. Resting was impossible. Goodness knows what is going on now as scaffolding was being erected harbour side and large tubes being attached to it. Should be lovely for residents!

There were times when the lounge was out of reach to residents as it had been let out for conferences. This also made us feel pushed out. One night there was a chair blocking the lounge off whilst we were having dinner. I was so angry as there were a few of us that liked to go in there for a chat after our meal as the weather was not 'light watching' weather. They did re-open it later so we were able to use it but I really think it is a residents lounge not a conference room. They could have used the leisure room at the top of the hotel for a conference room. Interestingly, on our last day there was an IBM conference and amazingly the hammer drilling stopped.

If you are going to be out all day this will not worry you, but we are oldies and like the comfort of the hotel room to come back to during the day if we need to.

The food was most welcome although very repetitious, fine if you were just staying for a long weekend but not at all good for a 7 night stay. Having said that, we were grateful to have some food included even though there was no variety, especially with the salads that were the same daily. The hot or should I say warm offering seemed to be repeated every three or four days. Pasta dish, rice dish, salmon dish. The same with the soup.

I hate to file a negative report and so here are a few positives:-

The room was lovely with a fabulous view.
The staff were polite and tried to be helpful.
We appreciated the free internet.
The breakfast was good and so were the waffles.
We appreciated having free hot drinks 24 hours.
There were vitamins there for free.
Kettle and tea and coffee in room.
Dressing gown and slippers supplied.
Shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, body lotion supplied.
The hotel was very central and near the Flybussen for the airport, and there were numerous local buses close to the hotel.

Would we recommend the With, probably yes, but NOT whilst the work is being carried out.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dragonrapide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a really great choice in Tromso because the location is perfect, both in terms of its central location and in terms of views (do get a room with harbour-views!) Don't expect 5 star luxury, this isn't the league this hotel is aiming for. But if you are looking for really comfortable, clean rooms and a lovely, warm atmosphere with plenty of free extras (afternoon waffles, dinner buffet, sauna etc. etc.), don't think twice about booking this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing