We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,689)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveller rating
1,001
550
103
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,001
550
103
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon wafflesevening mealsoupharbour viewnorthern lightshot dishlight dinnerincluded in the pricehot drinksarctic cathedraltea and coffeesuperior roomtop floorbuffet dinnermid afternoonon tapreal bonus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel was in a great location, the staff were extremely helpful - especially when I lost my wallet. the rooms were clean and of reasonable size. The bathroom had a fabulous heated floor. The only downside of the hotel was that it doesn't have a hot tub which the one next door did but really that's nit picking!
They also provided tea and coffee all day, a great breakfast that you could really fill up on and a buffet style evening meal. All of which were a great antidote to the fairly high Norwegian prices. But they also had a waffle iron available during the afternoon and it was a great opportunity to meet fellow travellers and eat excellent food!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank estherch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here recently on a family trip for the sole purpose of seeing the Northern Lights. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was warm, spotlessly clean and the staff were exceptionally helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome.

Our room was harbour facing and offered fantastic view over the downtown harbour and to the mountains beyond. There was English speaking tv with norweigan subtitles. No tea or coffee facilities in the rom but available free on the ground floor (you can bring up to the room if you want). The food was excellent with a choice of cooked or continental breakfast and for dinner a fish or meat based meal (alternate days) in the evening. All in all a wonderful few days and a once in a lifetime trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muggleUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed for ten days in total and used the hotel as a base to explore surrounding area and an embarcation point for the Hurtigruten coastal cruiser The hotel is unique in the fact that breakfast buffet , afternoon waffles and evening hot meal are inclusive. Norway is renowned to seem expensive for European travellers so this is a welcome bonus.Tourist office is very helpful and we took the ship from Tromso to the North Cape and the russian border £250 which lasted 3 days. Dogsledding is fun for the reasonably active and a 2 hour run with collection and pickup is £150 .Didnt see the Northern Lights but some other travellers were a bit more dedicated

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Just got back from a 3 day break to Tromso and having read the other reviews we were pleased we chose this hote as everything in Norway is so expensive so the free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices and waffles were a bonus. I think this hotel has the best location in Tromso overlooking the fjord and close enough to the town and other hotels for pickups for trips. We heard no building work going on while we were there and as we were a party of 4 we had 2 rooms both with new bathrooms. Our room on the 2nd floor we were told the next day had a plumbing problem although we never noticed it and we were upgraded to a fabulous room overlooking the fjord with no extra cost.
We went out with Ivor (natur y nord) for 5 hours in his minibus the first night and he drove us to 2 areas to find clear skies to see the northern lights - he was very good and really tried his best but we did not see any. The next night we went to the winter sports centre 30 min outside Tromso (villermarkcenter?) and saw an amazing display of lights and they had a sami tent with a fire in it so we could keep going in to keep warm because at minus 10 degrees your hands and feet certainly feel it! Tromso is a lovely town with delightful shops but the only negative thing is there is not much to do during the day as all the tours are in the evening and as there is a lack of daylight hours (only 3 hours) it is not worth doing a boat trip at this time of year

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelightedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

lovely hote,l just got home today, rooms where nice there was still some work going on but not to much noise, was concerned that although myn room was cleaned it was not hoovered and i was with a child so there where crumbs etc on the carpet, no big deal but.., breakfast was yummy would be an idea to maybe have even one cereal available espicially for children, evening buffet was pleantiful, and the waffles mega yummy, cant believe thisis a 2 star easiley a 3, friendly staff, english programmes to snuggle up in bed to look at, fab views, 24 hr tea coffee hot choc and cookies at reception, free internet, and they make it look so cosy will definately be back

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews