We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value; fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We arrived quite late in the evening; staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. We ate from the buffet which was very good. Waffles in the afternoon are a real bonus as is free hot/cold drinks whenever you want them.
Our room was in the next door hotel as there was a plumbing problem in our originally booked room. Very nice room.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Fantastic location; close to the flight bus stop and the Hurtigruten ferry stop. A big bonus was seeing the Northern Lights from right outside the hotel on our first night. No hesitation in booking this hotel.
Fantastic value. (Breakfast buffet very good too)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

Good hotel, Great location right on the waterfront and within short walking distance of all the shops, bus stops, Polaria, loads of restaurants and the Lyngsfjord pick up point for their tours. Was really helpful that reception is manned 24 hours so if you fancy a 4am stroll (or more likely get back from a tour at 1am) there's no problem. The food that's included is really good too...you can go through the day quite happily eating only what's provided at the hotel (breakfast buffet, as many afternoon waffles as you like and simple but tasty dinner buffet) which is brilliant money-wise cos food is not cheap in Norway! As for the room everything was fine, bathroom looked brand new & had a lovely powerful shower. Only problem was internet as I couldn't get the wireless to work on my laptop but to be fair there was a free computer with internet working in the lobby (are also a few at tourist info within walking distance) and I didn't get round to asking staff about it so it's entirely possible that they would have been able to fix it - who knows. Also slightly annoying there was no 'do not disturb' sign so the cleaner would have walked in on me changing a couple times if she hadn't knocked so loudly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessmaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My partner and I loved this hotel. As everyone else says; the staff were friendly, it was comfortable and laid back but clean and professional, and food almost on-tap which, as has already been pointed out on this site, is excellent news in one of the most expensive places you could wish to visit! One tip, our first room overlooked a wall at the back of the hotel and was very small. For a small increase in fee we upgraded to a larger room at the front and I recommend you do the same.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank N10goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The reception staff at the hotel was really friendly and professional. Hege, Leonora, et al were always willing to help and give advice, info, and directions..they even tried to fix the cappuccino machine which was broken (boohoo) for a day or so...the room was cozy, like an old time cabin on a wooden ship, I had the attic room (moderate single room). There is a lovely evening buffet that, made for a nice tea as it was quite substantial; the waffles were a nice afternoon treat. There is a homey lounge to watch movies or read and the breakfast area is open 24 hrs to have a coffee or read or pop out to check for northern lights...without having to freeze and stand outside! Met many friendly guests, nice clientele in general.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelatogoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Service:
The service at the hotel was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.
It was also great that you could come in at any time of night as there was a night guard.
Since aurora chasing can mean staying out to the wee hours this was a plus.

Rooms:
The first room we got was on the 5th. floor. There was a loud humming noise from the air con. We then asked to get another room which we got without complaint. The room and the bed were a bit smaller but perfectly acceptable. As a matter of fact the mattresses were comfortable so we slept well. The bathrooms are brand new, and a good size.
Although it was freezing outside the rooms were warm and comfortable.

Location & amenities:
Situated at the harbour in the centre of town the hotel is still quiet. A few steps from the bus stops, tourist office and shops.
Internet access is free. Breakfast is plentiful. But the real plus are the free waffles in the afternoon and the dinner buffet in the evening. You can get all the food you need for the day in the hotel.

What we liked best & least
Best:
Friendly staff and good food. Clean neat and warm rooms.
Before I forgot to mention that the coffee is not only free but also very good and you can help yourself throughout the day.
There are also apples and jugs of water at your disposal all day.
On our first night we arrived at about 10:30pm and were invited to help ourselves to the leftovers from the evening buffet if we hadn't already eaten. This was very much appreciated as we hadn't eaten on our flight.

Least:
We would have liked a room facing the harbour. Though since daylight was limited and we were out and about most of the time that didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I went all through tripadvisor before booking this trip. All I could find was good reports about this hotel ,but I thought its only a 2 star! So I thought okay it has the best reports and looks fine in a great location. All I can say is all the reports are spot on! To top it all now the evening buffet is included, I admit it is not the best buffet you will go to but its fresh and included, which in this part of the world is very welcome as it is by far the most expensive place I have ever been!! One little tip if you want a really stunning room go for 603 its top floor with seating area so you can look across the harbour up to the mountains with uninterrupted views "whilst sipping your own duty free kept cold in there minibar" the room is an extra £30.00 a night but in my opinion well worth it. The trips are mainly good but also very expensive all are over £100.00 each and some only lasting a couple of hours, so choose carefully.To make a good break great on our last night we saw the NORTHERN LIGHTS they were stunning but don't take it for granted you will see them as a majority of people don't. So go ahead and book this hotel it is definitely not a 2 star more like 4 star as you are in a different country and Europe does differ quite a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buddylove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed for two nights at the Clarion Collection. I liked the ship themed decor, compared with the Bryggen next door (where friends stayed) the Collection is very light and bright and restful. Satisfying buffet breakfast, free waffles in the afternoon were a nice touch, all in all a good trip. At about 11.30pm on the Saturday night the room next door sounded like they were having a party, but we called reception and within 30 mins all was quiet. There was no hairdryer in the room but I was able to borrow one from reception. Would definitely stay here again, but maybe ask for a room with a harbour view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £97 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing