We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok Radisson Blue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An ok Radisson Blue”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived at midnight having just disembarked from a Hurtigrten trip; along with another 100 or so people so check in was a long queue and a bit chaotic. If I did that trip again independently, I would stay at another hotel.
The hotel itself is fine and an average Blu. Our room on the fourth floor was quiet and clean. The bathroom had a bath/shower and was spot on. In the bedroom the TV was fixed at a right angle to the bed which was a little bizarre as the fittings were still marked on the wall for where the TV should obviously be - and once was! The room the looked shabby was the skirting board s. They just need another coat of white gloss - why do hotel managers miss such basic stuff? Is it only cleaners who look at the rooms? The bed linen and pillows were great having just been on the ferry for a few days!
It's a buffet style breakfast with plenty of choices.
The hotel is in the centre of the town which is all walkable. It's quite a small town and one night is probably enough. We got a map from the reception staff who were friendly. The Cathedral is about 30 minutes walk across the big bridge. (Check the Cathedral opening times on the map before you set off!)
There is a bar adjacent to the hotel. Friendly staff and locals but remember you are in Norway and its super expensive! A beer and wine was just under £20!
I think the service bus to the airport leaves from right outside the hotel. Number 901 if I noted it correctly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    551
    278
    50
    26
See reviews for
158
536
114
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Currently staying our first night of three here and are being subjected to a party being held in the conference room 4 floors down not due to finish until 1am. Only solution we have currently been offered is a single room for a married couple on honeymoon or earplugs. Business class rooms are not worthy of the classification.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I came here to see the Northern Lights and experience the arctic. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern and clean, and the breakfast is fantastic. My room had a very nice view. The Radisson is in the center of Tromsø, so walking everywhere is easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank KeithR0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed (PERSONALIZE TO THE GUEST). We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

At 23:45 we made the short walk to this hotel for a one night stop. Many people were booking in (Hurtigruten) and there was a queue - is there a better way!?!?!?!? Must be! Room ok. Clean but weird mirrors and pictures on wall. Bathroom good. Plenty of hot water. Breakfast plentiful. Good central location - ok is apt!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Southden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during a short "aurora hunting" break to Tromsø, having chosen it on TripAdvisor after my first two choices were fully booked. As others have noted, the airport bus stops directly outside the hotel, meaning no problems with a) finding it and b) having to lug heavy suitcases around town.

Having stayed at a number of Radisson / Radisson Blu hotels in the past, I had a good idea what to expect - the standard rooms were modern, bright and clean, of a reasonable size and came with a minibar and tea / coffee making facilities. My room was on the 5th floor and had a great view across the port area towards the mountains and Arctic Cathedral. An added bonus was that the regular Hurtigruten cruise ships docked almost outside the window, adding to the atmosphere.

Breakfast is included and the selection is excellent, with a choice of hot and cold food and omelettes available on request. My only criticism of the restaurant is that, at the time I visited, the hotel was extremely busy with tourist groups and on the first day I had to wait 15 minutes for a table, whilst the staff were at times very slow at replenishing the many items which had run out.

It would be unfair not to mention the front desk staff - when I checked in, I was met by a young guy whose badge identified him as a trainee. However, he could have given many of his "qualified" colleagues lessons in customer service - not only did he go to great lengths to change my room when he realised it wasn't the one I booked, but when I discovered that I'd left the key to my locked suitcase behind, promptly went off, re-emerged with some tools, and rapidly managed to open the suitcase, all in the middle of the reception floor!

In summary, I found this hotel a good choice for a short stay in Tromsø - reasonably priced, clean and in a great central location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAviatorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed overnight, party of 12 every room spotless. Staff very helpful. excellent breakfast. The pizzeria attached to the hotel very good value for money. Nice to have late check out, this enabled us to have a stroll around Tromso before we set off for our final destination of Malanger Brygger.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrapcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our room was extremely noisy on Saturday night through to Sunday morning due to a corporate function that was being held at the hotel. The music was unacceptably loud and the party went on for far too long

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing