We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It works!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It works!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perfectly satisfactory hotel, clean with plenty of kind and helpful staff. Beware though. We booked a 'Business Room' and were put in a bank of rooms with a window over a corridor!! So we changed, but could only be 'downgraded' to a superior room, which lacked the extras - coffee machine etc. Pity, but it was OK. Very busy time of year so breakfast was a bit like a railway station. Food was fine, and an excellent pub next door. It does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 730 (or probably any other room with 30 at the end as you will be overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    569
    290
    56
    28
See reviews for
167
550
121
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Tromso itself is a very small town. However the location of Radisson Blu is great. It is by the water and where the Airport Bus terminates. So you can get to the hotel easily and not costly. The airport bus cost about NOK 70 per person and it takes about 10mins from the airport to the hotel.

The hotel check in is very effecient and we have been allocated a room with the water view. It is very pretty but can be noisy and quite bright if there is a ship that stands there. The room and the 2 beds are a bit small however it is very comfortable. The bathroom is very basic. All in white tiles with no special amentities. There is no face flannel and no mat for the bathroom floor.

The wardrobe is also very small but I presume for a weekend trip this is adequate.

The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and have quite a few choices from cold meat, to hot dishes, breakfast cereals, cheese & bread and Fruit. There is one day, we are allowed to order omelette but on other days no. So it is quite strange.

The one that we are disappointed is that the hotel does not appear to test whether some of the electronics are working or not. We have an inbuilt hairdryer in the bathroom. Not only is this not working, when you turned it on, you can smell burning and when you take a look at the hairdryer you can see it is starting a fire. So when we called the reception to get a hairdryer because of this situation, they say they will look. However 20mins down the road, we have to call again before they do anything. All they need to do is to called housekeeping.

The front desk staff is not always that friendly. I was enquiring about when I should leave the hotel for airport and the airport bus frequency. Her reply was the schedule is over there. I am aware of this, as I am not norwegian or speak there language, you cannot expect me to understand which is the schedule for Monday -Friday and which is the schedule for weekends. She has to grudgingly went over to the schedule to show me. However even she herself was confused.

By the hotel there is a post office so it is perfect if you need to get stamps or sent postcards.

I am not sure this is a 4 star hotel. A 3 star perhaps.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastmeetsWestAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here two nights after a Hurtigruten cruise, and deem this hotel to be top notch.
Check-in at 01.30 after a Midnight Concert took seconds; our Superior room was spacious and well equipped, with a great view of the harbour and bridge; beds were comfy and room temperature just right; breakfast was fine; service was excellent; everywhere was clean and fresh; Reception was very helpful. And location excellent for walking around Tromso.
Of course Hurtigruten chose this hotel, but it was a choice with which we were totally happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here in February 2014. Had a sea view room. Nice room cracking view . Helpful staff and very clean . Breakfast was OK, with good selection. Hot food was lukewarm and scrambled eggs one morning was like concrete.

Room Tip: Sea view on 8th floor is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the end of a Hurtigruten coastal cruise. Very pleasant, ticked all the boxes. We had a brilliant room overlooking where the cruise ships dock, and we could also see the big bridge linking the island to the mainland, and of course the Arctic Cathedral. The service was good and everyone was helpful. Our room was airy and spacious and really comfy beds.

Room Tip: Room 0404 has a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We only stayed here one night at the end of a Hurtigruten northern lights cruise, but it was a very pleasant hotel, centrally located. The reception staff dealt calmly and efficiently with the influx of guests and luggage at midnight. With the prior knowledge that this many guests were going to arrive, they could perhaps have had a third receptionist on duty though.
The rooms were standard Radisson fare, spotlessly clean, if a little strangely set out - the TV was on the wall to the side of the beds not opposite. Tea and coffee were provided, but the only tea was Earl Grey which was disappointing and not to my taste. The decor was eclectic! Not sure about the large plastic chilli on the wall and the carnival girl painting. The shower was efficient and roomy, but the dispensers for soap/shower gel, which are becoming more prevalent, were rather awkward to use, having to lift the cover first before squeezing.
Our room overlooked the town and was very quiet.
Breakfast was good and varied with plenty of room in the dining room. Again, a curious layout meant that jams and spreads were next to the hot foods and difficult to get to. Otherwise delicious, with some really good scrambled eggs which is difficult to achieve in quantity.
As I said, we stayed only one night as a stopover, and it is too corporate for my tastes. If I was staying longer in Tromso I would want something with a little more character, but it certainly is central for both the town and port and provides a good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Located ideally for people chasing the northern lights , this hotel provides the necessities . The reception experience was good , the receptionist told us all we needed to know and suggested the tour desk 10 yards from reception could help

Breakfast was a little like feeding time at the zoo as people came from everywhere but a large selection of cold meats , fruits , appeared and were restocked ,hot items were plentiful beans,eggs,sausages etc

The actual location is really central

The only negative is the health club which is actually two gym machines and a sauna

Room Tip: Try to stay above level 5 , also worth inquiring re business class room slightly more modern and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing