We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, expensive, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 8 March 2014

It's a Radisson, so you know to expect a certain standard. However, breakfast was overcrowded at the weekend and the hot food was hot on only one day. Staff were rarely seen at breakfast. Things ran out and were slow to be attended to.

There are no toiletries provided except liquid soap. Towels are meagre.coffee sachets not reilled. Powdered milk ! Room overheated and couldn't fathom the controls

Staff generally friendly but when I return I will insider other hotels. Tromso centre is tiny. If you can walk then do !

Room Tip: There is no pool - I can't remove the blob ! There's a sauna on the top floor. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Like many visitors, we stayed here at the beginning and end of a Hurtigruten cruise. It couldn't be more conveniently located, just yards away from the quayside. The room was comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts excellent, whether you wanted Scandinavian style or a good old fashioned British fried breakfast. The hotel is equally well situated next to the centre of Tromso if you're waiting to catch the boat and want to have a look around. We disembarked close to midnight and there was quite a queue to check in but with three desk clerks the queue moved very quickly. They even posted a member of staff on the quayside to direct new arrivals to the hotel. We had an executive room on arrival at no extra cost and a standard room on return, both with tea/coffee making facilities (free of charge). I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlander1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We bookended a Hurtigruten voyage with 2 one night stays in this hotel. Found it ideal - very friendly, helpful service. Rooms, while small, are well laid out and very comfortable. The location is fantastic, just a couple of steps to the Hurtigruten ships, and a short and easy walk to anywhere in Tromso, e.g. Polar Museum or Polaria. Breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice.

A nice little story, too: We arrived after midnight and missed out on all the dining options, but when we approached reception for night service after midnight they offered us a choice of sandwiches: either "fresh" sandwiches for the customary Norwegian princely sum, or those that had just ticked past their use by date the previous day (i.e. half an hour earlier) for free, as they were going to be thrown out otherwise. We went for the freebie and were pleased to have saved a little money in what's a very expensive destination.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perfectly satisfactory hotel, clean with plenty of kind and helpful staff. Beware though. We booked a 'Business Room' and were put in a bank of rooms with a window over a corridor!! So we changed, but could only be 'downgraded' to a superior room, which lacked the extras - coffee machine etc. Pity, but it was OK. Very busy time of year so breakfast was a bit like a railway station. Food was fine, and an excellent pub next door. It does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 730 (or probably any other room with 30 at the end as you will be overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Tromso itself is a very small town. However the location of Radisson Blu is great. It is by the water and where the Airport Bus terminates. So you can get to the hotel easily and not costly. The airport bus cost about NOK 70 per person and it takes about 10mins from the airport to the hotel.

The hotel check in is very effecient and we have been allocated a room with the water view. It is very pretty but can be noisy and quite bright if there is a ship that stands there. The room and the 2 beds are a bit small however it is very comfortable. The bathroom is very basic. All in white tiles with no special amentities. There is no face flannel and no mat for the bathroom floor.

The wardrobe is also very small but I presume for a weekend trip this is adequate.

The breakfast is a buffet breakfast and have quite a few choices from cold meat, to hot dishes, breakfast cereals, cheese & bread and Fruit. There is one day, we are allowed to order omelette but on other days no. So it is quite strange.

The one that we are disappointed is that the hotel does not appear to test whether some of the electronics are working or not. We have an inbuilt hairdryer in the bathroom. Not only is this not working, when you turned it on, you can smell burning and when you take a look at the hairdryer you can see it is starting a fire. So when we called the reception to get a hairdryer because of this situation, they say they will look. However 20mins down the road, we have to call again before they do anything. All they need to do is to called housekeeping.

The front desk staff is not always that friendly. I was enquiring about when I should leave the hotel for airport and the airport bus frequency. Her reply was the schedule is over there. I am aware of this, as I am not norwegian or speak there language, you cannot expect me to understand which is the schedule for Monday -Friday and which is the schedule for weekends. She has to grudgingly went over to the schedule to show me. However even she herself was confused.

By the hotel there is a post office so it is perfect if you need to get stamps or sent postcards.

I am not sure this is a 4 star hotel. A 3 star perhaps.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastmeetsWestAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here two nights after a Hurtigruten cruise, and deem this hotel to be top notch.
Check-in at 01.30 after a Midnight Concert took seconds; our Superior room was spacious and well equipped, with a great view of the harbour and bridge; beds were comfy and room temperature just right; breakfast was fine; service was excellent; everywhere was clean and fresh; Reception was very helpful. And location excellent for walking around Tromso.
Of course Hurtigruten chose this hotel, but it was a choice with which we were totally happy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here in February 2014. Had a sea view room. Nice room cracking view . Helpful staff and very clean . Breakfast was OK, with good selection. Hot food was lukewarm and scrambled eggs one morning was like concrete.

Room Tip: Sea view on 8th floor is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#6 of 18 in Tromso
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £100 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing