We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Not Anything Fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean, Not Anything Fancy”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean and tidy. Quite Basic, Close to Town and most tourist attractions. Most tours leave from the hotel so it is a good place to stay. Staff were polite and efficient. Not the most comfortable sleep I have had but the bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was plentiful, I liked the fact I could make tea and coffee in my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    557
    280
    51
    25
See reviews for
160
537
117
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
544 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Clean and functional and in a great position.

Breakfast was typical hotel quality but tea and coffee making facilities are open most of the time. The restaurant, again, is hotel food so not for us.

Rooms offered basic amenities but liquid soap ran out, no towels to stand on. Worse is there are no shelves or drawers.

It lacked personality and warmth - other than the lovely stuffed polar bear in the foyer - and could do with a lobby coffee shop. Not overly welcoming for some reason.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Serviceminded, polite and professional staff greeted me upon my arrival at the hotel. I got my room very fast, and I felt welcome.
The room itself was clean and tidy, except for a few corners near the bathtub, where it was old dirt and residues. At my stay in Tromsø, the weather was really bad outside, with wind at storm-level and more. That unveiled a disturbing noise as the wind hit the windows and made ut through the framework and made a rather
noticeable, whistling sound. The Tv had all the nice channels, but the quality of the image was really bad, with disturbances due to bad cablequality. (This is in my field of job-expertise, so I recognize the reasons to the bad quality.)
The wifi was also a bit troublesome with some blindspots in the room, but once I found out where the good reception was, it was no longer a issue and I got my work done. The breakfast was really good! And the staff was really proffessional and it made my day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A typical city hotel. The rooms were functional clean and comfortable and breakfast was ok. Only a brief stay, but if I were visitibg Tromso again, I would book this hotel again. The staff were a little morose, but busy when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinsp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Comfortable hotel in a superb location on the waterfront in Tromso. The staff at reception were very efficient, but not very warm. The rooms were typical of a city centre business hotel. We were grateful for the tea and coffee making facilities, but weren't tempted by the very expensive mini-bar.
The bathroom was compact but very clean, however the major disappointment was the soap dispenser in lieu of bottles of shampoo, body wash etc. We've had great toiletries in hotels where we'd paid a fraction of the room rate for this Tromso hotel.
Breakfast was ok, and usually very busy.
What makes this hotel stand out is it's waterfront location, ideal for the Hurtigruten ferry which docks just in front of the hotel, the airport bus stops just outside (70NOK, approx £7), most of the tours start from just outside and the great coffee shops and restaurants of Tromso are just a short walk away. And if you're lucky, as we were, there are some great views across Tromsoysundet to the Arctic Cathedral and the cable car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Like others, we stayed here for one night at each end of a Hurtigruten cruise. rooms seem to be allocated on an ad hoc basis. The first night our room was huge although the view was limited.On our return we had a top floor disabled bedroom with an enormous wetroom. Neither of us is disabled but the room was a joy and should anyone need this type of facility then I can recommend it.
The only meal we ate there was breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Pavement outside the hotel were a bit icy, take a set of the ice grippers for your shoes.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Expensive, (Norway!!) but excellent location, especially for the Tourist Office, Bus station, various tour pick up points and the ferries as well as the museums and shopping.

We stayed 3 nights, and had a 5th floor room with views over the harbour to the Arctic Cathedral. The room was a good size, with hanging wardrobe, and armchair to relax in. We were out chasing the Aurora many nights and weren't back until 3 a.m., but found the beds very comfortable.

Breakfast was a reasonable self service buffet, although some options seemed to disappear faster than they could be replaced (bacon & eggs), and staff were not very attentive. The fitness suite was nice on the top floor, with the saunas having a great view over the water front. We dimmed the lights and reckoned it could be a good viewing lounge for the Aurora!

We found the desk staff to be very helpful. Anne Lise took a lot of trouble to help us find transport out to our next stay in Sommeroy at the Arctic Hotel (All Tromso's hire cars were booked out!), and then helped store our luggage when we took an overnight trip on the Hurtigruten ferry.

The hotel's pub is like a traditional fishing shack with obligatory Polar Bear, serving a good range of beers in a rustic ambience.

Room Tip: the waterfront views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rezidor, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing