We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summerdeal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“summerdeal”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Got some sort of good deal from Radisson for summer getaway rate. Well when we arrived there during July it feels like just Spring, no nothern lights but instead midnight sun. We were assigned a room towards Tromso town/hill/Airport and we could see planes landing, I assume our rate were not qualified for the waterfront side. The room is a bit small with typical Scandinavian design furnitures, bathroom very clean and light.

Breakfast was rich in selection. Actually I saw some well-known Swedish football coach sitting at the same table, there were having an away match in Norwegian premier league and stayed in the same hotel.

The location is also great (I know the town size is small but anyways) it is close to everything you need there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    549
    277
    50
    26
See reviews for
156
536
113
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm not honestly sure what people who've written negative reviews, were expected from this hotel. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and given a free room upgrade but I'm sure we'd have been happy even with the standard room we had booked. In my experience city centre hotels are always small but this is fine as we don't spend much time in there anyway! Our room here though was spacious and offered an absolutely fantastic view across the water to the Arctic Cathedral and the mountains beyond. The decor is quite vivid so if orange isn't your colour, you might find it a little bright! Despite the cold temperatures outside and the big windows (affording us this fantastic view!), our room was always warm and cosy.

Breakfast was ample and varied - full English, continental meats, fish (mackeral etc), fruit, muffins, tea, coffee...what more could you want to set you up for a day exploring the Arctic circle?

There is a sauna, couple of pieces of gym equipment and a relaxation area on the tenth floor which also has fantastic views - even from within the sauna so you can sit and watch the snow as you sweat! My only slight disappointment was that there are two separate saunas for men and women...travelling as a couple it would have been more pleasant to be able to sit together and relax. I understand why you might have different rooms given that I suppose traditionally you wear only a towel in a sauna but I'd rather have to don a swim suit and sit with my husband when on a holiday together.

As I say it's a small point and our stay at this hotel was great - we even saw the Aurora on our final night. I'd definitely recommend the Radisson Blu as a base for exploring Tromso and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Higher floors looking over the Arctic Cathedral offer stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a compact room facing the harbour; modern décor, breakfast with adequate choices, efficient reception, airport bus stopping right in front of the hotel. Just one weird thing that the TV was mounted beside the bed instead of in front. There was actually an exposed conduit on the wall in front, I think perhaps that wall could not take the loading of the big TV so they had to put it on the other wall instead? Anyhow, nice hotel to stay in. A little expensive compared to the others in the city, but we had a very good deal booking online so it’s good value for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Somehow this hotel manages to look a lot more attractive on the web than it is in reality. This is common, but I have to admit I was disappointed when i arrived to my room which was the size of a shoebox. They were nice and changed my room to a larger one. Good breakfast. I would stay again but only if the room was a larger size.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetRove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Such a convenient location for almost all activities you plan to do while staying at this beautiful town. Easy walk around the town from here. The port to embark/disembark on a Hurtigruten cruise is right across from the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBirdsTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

They are incredibly efficient at this hotel when the cruise ship docks and you disembark, although it was the early hours we were in our room within minutes. The breakfast was good and the staff really helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WDC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is the third hotel I've stayed at in Tromso, and it is by far the best. You can't beat the location for walking around the center of town or embarking/disembarking the Hurtigruten. We stayed in a Business Class room, and it was a huge space with plenty of room for the three of us. By comparison, I previously stayed at the Clarion Bryggen a month earlier, in a room for three people, and the room in Radisson was easily double the size. The room was clean, warm, spacious, with a nice size bathroom. The Nespresso machine was an added bonus. I also found the room to be exceptionally quiet. Breakfast was decent, but the best part of the hotel is the numerous public spaces guests can use after checkout while waiting to embark the Hurtigruten late at night. Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel enough for a short stay in Tromso.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeakerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing