We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent location, just off water front, clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. We stayed for two nights, very little time is spent in the hotel so it was ideal for our needs. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors as more likely to have good view and see northern lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Average Radisson Hotel in the city center. Nice service, functional but rather small room and bathroom, nice breakfast. Nice view over the fjord. Ok value for money. Close to everything in the city center

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Runar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Owner at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location in downtown Tromso practically on the waterfront. 2 mins walk to the Tourist Information Office and maybe 1 minute more to the main shopping street in Tromso. The hotel has 2 wings (two separate buildings actually) linked by an enclosed walkway on the 2nd? floor. Try to get a room facing the waterfront in the newer building if you can. These rooms offer the better views. The staff were great, buffet breakfasts were also very good. Also try the pizzas for Yonas next door, a very short walk from reception (good thing in winter) and reasonably priced (for Norway) good food. If you are dumb enough to hire a car (like us) they offer on site parking (in the basement) for a fee. Warning, the parking spaces are very tight and getting into and out of the parking garage is a little tricky, but better than parking on the street (which also costs money everywhere in Tromso).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arnold z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Got some sort of good deal from Radisson for summer getaway rate. Well when we arrived there during July it feels like just Spring, no nothern lights but instead midnight sun. We were assigned a room towards Tromso town/hill/Airport and we could see planes landing, I assume our rate were not qualified for the waterfront side. The room is a bit small with typical Scandinavian design furnitures, bathroom very clean and light.

Breakfast was rich in selection. Actually I saw some well-known Swedish football coach sitting at the same table, there were having an away match in Norwegian premier league and stayed in the same hotel.

The location is also great (I know the town size is small but anyways) it is close to everything you need there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm not honestly sure what people who've written negative reviews, were expected from this hotel. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and given a free room upgrade but I'm sure we'd have been happy even with the standard room we had booked. In my experience city centre hotels are always small but this is fine as we don't spend much time in there anyway! Our room here though was spacious and offered an absolutely fantastic view across the water to the Arctic Cathedral and the mountains beyond. The decor is quite vivid so if orange isn't your colour, you might find it a little bright! Despite the cold temperatures outside and the big windows (affording us this fantastic view!), our room was always warm and cosy.

Breakfast was ample and varied - full English, continental meats, fish (mackeral etc), fruit, muffins, tea, coffee...what more could you want to set you up for a day exploring the Arctic circle?

There is a sauna, couple of pieces of gym equipment and a relaxation area on the tenth floor which also has fantastic views - even from within the sauna so you can sit and watch the snow as you sweat! My only slight disappointment was that there are two separate saunas for men and women...travelling as a couple it would have been more pleasant to be able to sit together and relax. I understand why you might have different rooms given that I suppose traditionally you wear only a towel in a sauna but I'd rather have to don a swim suit and sit with my husband when on a holiday together.

As I say it's a small point and our stay at this hotel was great - we even saw the Aurora on our final night. I'd definitely recommend the Radisson Blu as a base for exploring Tromso and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Higher floors looking over the Arctic Cathedral offer stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a compact room facing the harbour; modern décor, breakfast with adequate choices, efficient reception, airport bus stopping right in front of the hotel. Just one weird thing that the TV was mounted beside the bed instead of in front. There was actually an exposed conduit on the wall in front, I think perhaps that wall could not take the loading of the big TV so they had to put it on the other wall instead? Anyhow, nice hotel to stay in. A little expensive compared to the others in the city, but we had a very good deal booking online so it’s good value for us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Somehow this hotel manages to look a lot more attractive on the web than it is in reality. This is common, but I have to admit I was disappointed when i arrived to my room which was the size of a shoebox. They were nice and changed my room to a larger one. Good breakfast. I would stay again but only if the room was a larger size.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetRove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#6 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#7 of 18 in Tromso
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tromso
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £104 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing