We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in translation?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Knowle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lost in translation?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited as a family of three in February after booking our holiday through Expedia.co.uk.

Our first impressions were of a very cold reception as we were told that we had to pay another £20 per night for a rollaway bed for our 6 year old daughter despite the fact that we had booked directly as a 'family of three' on the Expedia site. The uncaring receptionist didn't consider for one minute that we had just walked in from a long journey from England and could demonstrate that we had paperwork for three people. We were informed that there was a commentary in the small print on the site to this effect. When I asked why would I book a room for three people with only a double bed I was told that sometimes people would share the bed with their children! Really?? Up to what age? 12? 16? Come on Radisson get real.

After leaving this 24 hours we complained to the Manager who agreed not to charge us an extra £80 for the four nights...on the basis that we understood they were doing this exceptionally.

This incident was a shame as the actual quality of the hotel was surprisingly good and location superb.

In terms of the room we had gone for the larger business room ...well that's what it said on the website. Whilst the room was of a good standard it was quite small without a bath, there was very little hanging space and the cable tv that they talked about didn't work at all, All you had was a few standard channels which was very disappointing.

We had a room on floor 7 and had a view of the harbour which was okay but the other side of the hotel with views of the bay would have been much better.

Breakfast was ok apart from the obligatory non working toaster and the hotels inability to deal with what appeared to be coach loads of tourists from the various cruise ships.

Other disappointments were that there was no bar open in the hotel forcing you next door to the local bar which was not really child friendly.

On the positive side the hotel did have the local tour company based in reception and it was a good base for the dog sledding or other arctic activities that you wanted to do.

The viewing lounge was great...especially if you turned the lights off... to look for the Northern Lights which amazingly we saw from our room and then on the street later that night at 23:00. Incredible...! Suggestion...put a bar in the viewing lounge or offer a drinks service.

Overall Tromso is more of a hub for other activities although we did enjoy walking around the town, dog sledding, going to Polaris and the Arctic Cathedral.

There isn't a great deal of choice for hotels of this type and I would therefore say that you would have no alternative but to book in here if you are looking for a large chain hotel. However I think the staff know this and I think that this comes through with a little too much arrogance in terms of customer service.

Finally watch out for the taxi drivers ripping you off with a meter that already starts of at a third of the fare! This is a very expensive place so be aware and look out for the local Pasta Factory restaurant which offered much better value for your evening meals

Room Tip: ask for a bay view floor 7 not a harbour view...and ask for the largest business room as they are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordKixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    546
    277
    49
    26
See reviews for
156
532
113
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great impression from the first minute I stepped into the hotel (and also when I booked the room). I felt very welcome and when I told them I was proposing, they were cheering me on, yet being very discrete about it when my girlfriend arrived. They also helped me out with some details! very nice! The room was big, I got an excellent view at a great price, and the room was flawlessly cleaned, I really have to hand it to the cleaners! All in all very satisfied (and I got a yes!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Larza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. The hotel is just about 20 minutes from the airport and close to the city center. Moreover, the staff is very helpful and gave us a detailed information about the nearby attractions and things to do etc. The room wasn't overly decorated with expensive furnishings, but was clean and tidy. The view from the room was quite splendid.

Room Tip: rooms with harbour view are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsö, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located by the waterfron in Tromsö far in the north of Norway. Hotel has nice and clean modern rooms with a view over the water. Location is excellent. Breakfast is OK, but I would appreciate more fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas O Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here before & after our Hurtigruten cruise. Very convenient location, just a short walk to the quayside and only a 5 minutes walk onto one of Tromso's main streets. Good size room with very comfy beds, nicely decorated & quiet, very clean. Excellent selection at breakfast, catering for all tastes but narrow serving area so it got abit hectic when guests all trying to eat at same time. We also had a drink in the adjoining pub, great character & not too pricey (for Norway). Would recommend as handy location & good value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 471helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent location, just off water front, clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. We stayed for two nights, very little time is spent in the hotel so it was ideal for our needs. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors as more likely to have good view and see northern lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drøbak, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Average Radisson Hotel in the city center. Nice service, functional but rather small room and bathroom, nice breakfast. Nice view over the fjord. Ok value for money. Close to everything in the city center

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Runar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Owner at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing