We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Radisson is right in the centre and quite a number of the Northern Lights tours pick up and drop off from outside the hotel which is REALLY convenient, especially at drop-off.
The rooms themselves were fairly standard Scandi design - rather on the small side, but we didn't pay for any type of upgrade.
We spent a lot of time in the "Top Relax" room that has lovely views across the harbour. It was a great place to laze and recover from late nights chasing the lights.
The breakfast buffet was ok. There was an excellent fruit and cold meat selection. You had to be quick to get the pastries which were amazing.

Room Tip: Top floor at the back of the hotel was a long walk but had a great view over the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Radisson Blu in Tromso is an excellent choice! My reservation was made by American Express, and all was in order at check in. Presented my Club Carlson Gold Card as requested by the receptionist who upgraded my room to a beautiful Harbour facing suite (Room 1055). Requested a 3pm check out and informed that would be fine. Really spectacular view of the bridge and the Harbour.

Good space for working and good connectivity for wifi. Bed was comfortable and the room had a nice bath tub in which to unwind. The suite came with a very nice private verandah as this was the top floor of the hotel - furnished so you could relax outside and enjoy the view. Sitting room had a nice comfortable sofa and large television. Air conditioning worked well.

Reception staff friendly and helpful and gave good practical advice for things to see and economically get around. Breakfast was standard Scandinavian which I very much enjoyed. Excellent stay!!!

I previously stayed at this hotel some years ago and stayed in the Mack Suit - named after the locally brewery the room was stacked full of artifacts from the brewery and looked more like a museum than a room, I loved it - I asked for it at check in again but unfortunately it was occupied. If your staying a few days n want some nostalgia - that certainly is a great room - as indeed is Mack beer come to that!! Skoll!!

Great hotel, great location and great staff.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was booked for us by Hurtigrouten and it is very conveniently located adjacent to the embarkation point for the ships. Let us say that the rooms are smaller than a typical college dorm or enlisted barracks on military bases. There is not enough room for our luggage or for anything we unpacked.
This hotel has many harbor side view rooms, even some with balconies, ours had neither view nor balcony. We had a drab view of other rooftops.
There was no help with luggage when arriving so we had to schlep our bags from bus to front desk, then up to our rooms. We asked if we could get help with our luggage when boarding our midnight ferry. The answer was "no".
Beds are European skinny singles, smaller than dorm beds. They are low to the ground and soft as mush. The firm back support we needed was not there and getting out of this was difficult.
Clean bathrooms are OK but again no place to put your stuff.
The positive report is that their complimentary breakfast buffet is excellent and has lots of variety of warm and cold dishes. Excellent selection of traditional Scandinavian Smorgasbord dishes like herring, lox, variety of cheeses and fresh breads. They also offer a chance to carry out a box lunch from the buffet for a minimal service fee. A real good idea for travelers.
It is short walk to shopping street and museums and most restaurants. Also adjacent to bus stop for airport and city buses.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nice hotel close by the city center that you can visit walking. the sightseeing trips are having pick up just from the parking just next to the hotel. top floor has a great view over the city especially during new year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed in two other Tromso hotels since my last visit over two years ago. Save for the unending construction project going on at the nearby hotel, this was a great stay. The hotel is well-maintained, the staff very friendly, and the service excellent. Most of the rooms have great views and the location (one the waterfront and easy walking distance to everything in the downtown core) is perfect. It is expensive, but very nice. The breakfast lay out is large and expansive -- eat hearty! The exercise room is way too small but the location is unbelievable -- with a stunning view of the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan S, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for feedback, - we really appreciate that you take your time to share your experiences with us and other co-travellers. We sincerely hope you one day will return to us and Tromso “ The gateway to the Arctic”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this hotel was in a nice location near city center. It had easy access from the airport on the airport hotel bus so you didn't have to take a taxi. The room had view of the harbor. Accommodations were clean and acceptable but nothing fancy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There are expectations one has from a chain convention hotel and different expectations from small boutique hotels. One would expect to use a regular Visa or AMEX, good wifi and pleasant front desk staff at a hotel that hosts international meetings. None of these were present. What was present was excellent food, very clean and corporate dull interior.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank 2,851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Polar
Thon Hotel Polar
#13 of 18 in Tromso
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso

Address: Sjoegata 7 | PO Box 928, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Family Hotel in Tromso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £117 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s 269 rooms and suites provides modern amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet and the complimentary Super Breakfast Buffet to fuel your day’s adventure. A majority of the guestrooms howcase breathtaking views of the city, the waterfront or the surrounding mountains. Choose from a variety of on-site dining options, including artisan pizzas at Yonas Pizzeria & Catering or mouthwatering meat and fish dishes at Charly's Restaurant & Bar. Rorbua Pub offers drinks to warm you inside and out after a day of activities such as whale watching, dog sledding or skiing. You can work up a sweat in the 10th-floor fitness center, which overlooks the fjord and the landmark Arctic Cathedral, or melt away stress in the sauna or solarium. Our flexible event space offers a reception-area coffee bar, 10 meeting rooms and the Tromsø Hall, which can be split into 3 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso Hotel
Radisson Tromso
Tromsø Radisson
Radisson Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing