We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth in the Cold”
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warmth in the Cold”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently in December, it is classed as a budget hotel but I think it was more like a 3 and half to 4 star hotel. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and it was great having heated flooring in the bathroom. The view I can't comment on cause it was mostly darkish in Tromso during the day and I was out. When back in my room it was dark so who needs a view.
The reception staff were lovely, they were friendly and helpful. They checked out things for me online, as the sites were in Norwegion and I couldn't read the language. And they all speak English like it's their first language.
The breakfast was Excellent, it was served in the adjoining Egan cafe. Very European, good
value and filling. You could also dine there for the evening meal if you wanted.
I would stay here again if I went back to Tromso.
The bus to and from the airport is just around the corner outside the Grand Rica hotel cafe, so there is easy access to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and hope
you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    66
    35
    17
    3
See reviews for
21
52
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

As the only "budget hotel", I can' imagine why you would pay more for a different hotel. The Thon Polar was comfortable and the staff very helpful. It had everything I needed and nothing I didn't. The location was within an easy distance to see most things in the city center. I couldn't manage to figure out how to call a Norwegian number on my cell phone and the front desk staff was very helpful calling multiple times for me.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodious329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

It's in Norway, a budget hotel is always going to cost more than a budget hotel in other parts of the World, but the Hotel Polar was worth every penny.

I understand there are 'older' and 'newer' room, and I had one of the newer rooms so I'm only able to comment on that but it's was lovely. It was clean, felt spacious, the beds were comfortable and a special mention needs to go out for the bathroom. The shower was lovely and the floor, ah the floor. I'm sure it's a common place, but as I usually stay in the lower end of the range hotels I've not come across it before; it radiated warmth but it was a pleasure just to stand on it.

The free breakfast done the job, nothing special to write home about but the restaurant itself felt very cosy and warm, it had a charm about it. I had dinner one evening there and the food was good and not too pricey (relatively speaking).

As with most of the hotels in Tromso, the location was more or less in the middle of everything. Nothing was more than a 5-10 minute walk away, including any bus stops for getting to those further away places. The pick-ups for all the tours were only minutes walk away.

I'm not somebody who looks for luxuries in my hotels, and all in all this was a brilliant hotel and I really enjoyed my stay, comes with my highest recommendations.

Room Tip: I was 'offered' an upgrade to a newer room on arrival, if you aren't it might be worth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alankeyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and hope
you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Staff very friendly, room nice and clean, good breakfast, right in the town center

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnusar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Maybe it was that we had been roughing it for so long but we thought this hotel was excellent. It looked brand new. Was clean. The staff were so so helpful. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot! We even popped over to the expensive Thon hotel across the road to use their internet because the lobby computer at the budget hotel was broken. Ours seemed just as nice as the pricey one!

Great buffet brekkie too!!! Those meatballs were delicious!

Oh and its super easy to use the airport bus to get to and from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarleeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. Your positive review has been shared with everyone here. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I have booked our room from this hotel based on the reviews. However, since all the hotels we had stayed in Norway had seperate beds, i specially asked for a French bed at the reception on arrival. This kind receptionist checked the rooms and told me that they had no rooms available for us as per my request but he directed us to the hotel just across the street (which was also a member of the Thon chain). The hotel was more expensive and upper standart then Thon Hotel Polar but they accepted us from the same price and gave us a French Bed. It was just very polite.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dnpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

stayed 3 nights in June with my wife, very good location, friendly and helpfull staff, rooms are standard size, good bed, nice furniture. very good breakfast in hotel restaurant. no coffe/tea/kettle in room, free coffee in lobby. poor room cleaning service (dust on table)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarzanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing