We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice modern budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The rooms are small (think London size) but they're modern, scrupulously clean and comfortable. Our double room was warm and the decor was modern and clean. It's very well positioned for the city centre and harbour. The buffet style breakfast is excellent. I couldn't fault this at the price (which isn't bad for Norway).

I recommend a short walk to the smaller of the two fiskekompaniet restaurants on Storgata if you want an evening meal. It's really atmospheric and the menu is an excellent mix of modern and traditional. The people there are lovely and on a winter's evening you can't beat a glass of wine by the open fire.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padmeister101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    230
    121
    36
    11
See reviews for
75
170
83
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuv
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very good quality for a "budget" hotel, although I paid 200 euro for 1 room per night. Large room, which was renewed. Large bathroom and also the bedroom had lots of space, besides the 3 beds. The hotel is situated (like most hotels in Tromso) in the city centre. Coffee and thee are available (free) at the reception.
The breakfast is served in a "far west"-style restaurant and the buffet is limited and no variety during our 3 day stay.

Room Tip: Ask a room which is not located at Storgata-street, because at the other side of the road is a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdileuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for Your positive review . We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fasano
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The position is perfect. Everything is close enough to the hotel, to be reached on foot.
The breakfast,in the attached restaurant, is rich and very good and the hotel is not noisy.
The rooms are not brand new but confortable and the staff is always friendly and helpful.
Very important: the internet connection is free and unlimited.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcello T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto iguassu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

If oyu want somewhere comfortable to relax with pleasant staff and a decent breakfast then ThonPolar offers good value for money (by Norway pricing). The Egon restaurant nextdoor is also a reasonable option, especially their eat as much as you can pizza buffet.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side and there was no problem with noise, street is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank You for Your comment. We hope that You will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is labelled 'budget' by Thon hotels, and offers the lower end of its prices. Therefore, you need to adjust your expectations. Having stayed at thier 'city' hotel in Alta as well, I would say it is worth splashing the (relatively) slightly higher amount to stay at a 'city' hotel. Thon's city hotel in Tromso is located exactly across the street from this hotel (but I did not see the rooms there, and my review is on the basis of the city hotel at Alta, which I have reviewed separately).

You get a functional, clean, basic, small, room with an attached bathroom. The only let down was the small, old, CRT television with only local channels (Scandinavian design being what it is, I was quite surprsied that they still had 20 year old TVs).

The front office staff were were very friendly and helpful, even calling others (tour operators, bus companies) to get information for me, gratis.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed four nights in this straightforward budget hotel while I hunted for the Northern Lights (which disobliged by hiding from me!). It's basic, but clean, comfortable and warm. The bedroom had a pale wooden floor, pale cream walls, a desk, table, two chairs and a telly. And a comfortable, if narrow bed. Big old blokes like me like to be able to roll over in the night without having to wake first to ensure that we don't role out onto the floor! Dear hoteliers, please take note!
The bathroom was also basic and perfectly adequate, though the shower only had two temperatures -- slightly more than lukewarm, and scalding. Breakfast was a very good Scandinavian buffet, with cheese, various meets, two types of egg (boiled or scrambled), cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad and some of the best breads I've eaten in a hotel. Pity about the coffee, though, which was very ordinary and could have been hotter.
The staff on the front desk and in the restaurant were without fail friendly and helpful -- lots of welcoming smiles! The location of the Thon Polar is within walking distance of everything, but then you can walk right across this city easily within fifteen minutes, or you could if the pavements were properly kept clear of ice. Every so often one encounters areas which are veritably hazardous and falling over becomes a real possibility. I know, I did it more than once despite wearing suitable boots. (Across the water to the Ice Cathedral and the chair lift is a little further).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again next time you visit Tromso, and ask for a double room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Basic rooms, nice clean bathroom with fabulous shower. Comfy bed, windows blocked all the noise even though our room faced the street. Wide range of food for breakfast which was constantly refreshed. Front desk staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Tromsø in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing