We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, small and old room”
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice location, small and old room”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I've just stayed one night in the hotel. The room was really small and outdated. I was expecting a bigger and newer room. The breakfast was fine. The locations is good and only a few "walking" minutes from the city center away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    231
    121
    36
    11
See reviews for
75
171
84
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. It's central, the beds were VERY comfy, and as we were on top floor we had a great view towards the fjord. The breakfast was great, and reception staff friendly. There was just a small hanging area for clothes, but that was fine for us, as we were only there a short time. Will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Top floor room with a view towards the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freyaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in last july. The room is clean and bed is comfortable. The sink´s height is kinda low, but this is not a real problem. Hotel is centrally located. Breakfast was good and staff was very, very friendly. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeuvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank You for taking time to comment on Your stay with us.
We hope You will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just recently spent four nights in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel belongs to Thon Budget line of hotels, so it the services available are limited. Rooms are clean, but rather spartaic. Furniture include a bed, a desk and a chair and in some rooms also an armchair and a smaller table. There was no place to store your clothes in the room (no cubboards or closets). The worst thing in the room was the extremely poor curtains they had! Thin yellow curtains + 24 h daylight in summer is a terrible combination. Sun shined directly to the room and bed from 2 am onwards. Apparently they had blackout curtains on the other side of the building where the sun shines during the daytime(!).
There's another Thon hotel (Thon Hotel Tromso) across the street. It belongs to their City line of hotels, so it will be a better (and pricier) choice.
Also Thon Polar had a good breakfast in the adjacent Egon restaurant. A very limited selection snacks was available in the automats in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with blackout curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet all your expectations.

We hope that you will visit one of our hotels next time you visit Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Everything (except smoked salmon) is expensive in Norway but the relatively cheaper room prices at the Thon Hotel Polar bring good accommodation within the reach of most tourists. It is situated on one of the main thoroughfares in Tromso. However, this caused no upset to the high quality of our stay there. The rooms are quiet, warm, clean and comfortably furnished with no unnecessary extras (minibar, in-room coffee/tea provision et al) to keep down the cost. (There is a free tea/coffee/cocoa machine in Reception.) Our double bed was very comfortable and the shower a delight.

Food is provided in Egons Restaurant next door with direct access via Reception. It is a self-service buffet menu which does not change over the week. If you really want to save money, one large breakfast would probably see you right until next breakfast-time!!

The Reception staff speak perfect English and are very helpful, both in the making and alteration of bookings of accommodation and for any queries arising during the stay.

If I return to Tromso I have no doubt where I will be staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guernsey_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Google Translation
Takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding og godt å høre at dere hadde ett fint opphold hos oss.
Velkommen tilbake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very nice big room. Very friendly and good service at the reception, and okey price. Egon restaurant serves breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for 436,8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank August50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Google Translation
Hyggelig å høre at dere var fornøyd med vårt Budget konsept.
Håper vi får gleden av å ønske dere velkommen tilbake til oss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The rooms are small (think London size) but they're modern, scrupulously clean and comfortable. Our double room was warm and the decor was modern and clean. It's very well positioned for the city centre and harbour. The buffet style breakfast is excellent. I couldn't fault this at the price (which isn't bad for Norway).

I recommend a short walk to the smaller of the two fiskekompaniet restaurants on Storgata if you want an evening meal. It's really atmospheric and the menu is an excellent mix of modern and traditional. The people there are lovely and on a winter's evening you can't beat a glass of wine by the open fire.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padmeister101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Polar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing