We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, great location and nice room”
Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location and nice room”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Room is simple but its a budget hotel so that is expected. Door only locks with the key so be careful. Location is perfect. Flybuss on the corner, ten minute walk to everything central, and full range of shops out the door. TV gets BBC news. Shower is hot and strong. Lobby coffee is nice and internet works. Curtains block out the sun. Breakfast at Egon restaurant is very good and excellent value. I would use this hotel again. Stayed in the back to avoid noise but got a unwelcomed concert from birds each day, so perhaps no way to avoid a bit of noise.

Room Tip: Ninth floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    231
    121
    36
    11
See reviews for
75
171
84
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the Thon Hotel Polar during the 1st weekend of March.

The staff are friendly and really helpful. The hotel is clean, quiet and warm, ideally situated nr the the airport bus stop and one block from the square where the coaches pick up for the trips to the Northern Lights, sledding etc.

Our room was clean and spacious with a twin bedroom plus adjoining living area comprising of a sofa, coffee table and flat screened tv. An ideal area to relax after a day of sightseeing, husky dog sledding etc. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean with under floor heating and a huge power shower - fabulous. The one small negative, I'm 5' tall and not overweight - but the beds were very narrow. A taller or larger person would find them uncomfortable.

The buffet breakfast was fantastic with a huge choice of VERY fresh hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes. Lots of fruit, cereals, fabulous rye bread, yoghurt, fruit juices, tea, coffee etc.

The breakfast area is in a really cozy restaurant which is open to the public for lunch and dinner and offers a good choice of food and wine. The restaurant was busy every day we stayed at the hotel.

The Thon Hotel Polar is great value for money.


Yvonne, Central London

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel its quiet. There is traffic at the front of the hotel, but it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Spent 6 nights there after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Good location. Lovely breakfast. Loved the egon restaurant for diner. Clean room and nice house staff. A great value for money. Would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doczahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slupsk, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Located in the city center, Thon Polar Hotel is one of the highest buildings in the city, stands the magnificent views of the surrounding area from the top floors.
With luck you can observe the aurora borealis also the

A rich breakfast buffet is served each morning in the restaurant EGON.
EGON restaurant serves a great European and Norwegian specialties and in the evening it is difficult to find a free space.

We chose this hotel because of the family rooms - they were really exceptionally good for a budget hotel

Room Tip: if you came in search of the northern lights in Tromso - order a room on the top floor - you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopylowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just back from a family trip. Great location with everything close at hand. Had a treble room which was plenty big enough and the bathroom had a great shower and the underfloor heating was a real bonus. The Egon restaurant next door had a great selection to choose from for food and drinks but expensive like everywhere in Norway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Thon Polar hotel was just like a Premier Inn in the UK. It was clean, well decorated, plain. The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. Only 6 channels on the TV but we weren't in to watch it! Under floor heating in the bathroom was lovely. A good shower. The restuarant was expensive but normal for Norway prices and served a variety of food which was very good. Breakfast was superb with a large buffet selection, of cereals, cold meats, fish and cheese, bread, waffles, eggs, etc. All included in my price which was well worth it. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room had no view but we only slept in it so who cares! Will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We had a triple room on the 6th floor with great views of the city. The room had twin beds and a converted sofa bed which was very comfortable and plenty of room for us. The location is right in the centre of Tromso, beisde the pick up point for Guide Gunnars trips and also close to the EuroSpar. The breakfast where they serve the breakfast is called Egon which is attached to the hotel and is great value for money and one of the cheapest to eat in. Tea and coffee is free of charge in the hotel reception 24hours but there was never any milk or english breakfast tea and when asked the receptionist they just said "not today, tomorrow!" but tomorrow never happened!! The hotel is clean and comfortable but dont except any frills but I would highly recommend it. Also would agree with another reviewer that the reception floor was always dirty looking. Would definetly go back and stay here, great hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishnic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Polar, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comment about dirty floors in the reception is carried over to the housekeeping manager.
We hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing