We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value comfortable lodgings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Polar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Polar
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Kilkdare, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value comfortable lodgings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Small rooms with small single beds but beds very comfortable. Rooms a bit too warm and too noisy with window open. Coffee and tea in lobby but not in rooms. Everywhere very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast in restaurant adjoining hotel - very adequate buffet included in price. Restaurant also nice for quick evening meal and "pizza deal" up to 6.00pm very good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    230
    121
    36
    11
See reviews for
75
170
83
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed in Thon Hotel Polar just for two nights, but it was terrible and the worst stay we ever experienced. We arived at aprox.11:00 but were told to wait till 15:00 that our rooms are not ready and there were just few little rooms that are not for us. When we arrived at 15:00 we got the smallest room in the whole hotel, It was just one and a half bed and little table, that was all. Our firends (couple) had 3 times bigger room with sofa, large bed, two tables,.... for the same price. At the same day we ordered the early breakfast for our leaving day (receptionist Amanda booked it for 1 day earlier) Next day in the morning after breakfast we could not open the door to the room. My partner had to go to reception 6 times to get the room open (I was waiting almost 15 minutes in front of the door). We were told that it will be repaired as soon as possible. In the afternoon about 16:00 when we arrived, we realized that the lock was not repaired. I had to again wait for 10 minutes and my partner ran 3 times to recepiton. At the end we got two options. We can stay in the room and receptionist will open it for us when we need to get in to room, or we can get different room. Our room was not done at all, no made bed, no changed towels, NOTHING - NO SERVICE. We decided to get different room. We were more than shocked. We got 4 times bigger room. We waited first day 4 hours for nothing. We wanted to talk to some manager of the hotel, because receptionist was not able to do anything. We wanted discount for all those troubles the hotel did to us. NO PERSON wanted to talk to us. Because we paid the hotel when we arrived so they didnt have reason to talk to us. We got just email address we can use now. We paid lots of money and we didnt get anything. It was the worst experience we ever had. We feel like that hotel LIED and CHEATED on us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SonaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The hotel has a great central location in Tromso one street behind the main street. The main sites within the city are all walkable from the hotel.
The staff were very helpful, very friendly and pointed me in the right direction for all the sites!
My room was actually much nicer than I thought, the bathroom is dated but all very clean.
Free wifi and coffee, tea etc.
Breakfast was better than I expected for a budget hotel and there was plenty of space and plenty of fresh food.
I wouldn't pay the additional for the smarter hotels unless you want a view over the fjord!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliwilliams78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Thon Hotel Polar is a newly refurbished hotel, just across the street from the slightly more expensive Thon Hotel Tromsø. Hotel Polar is a no-frills, modern hotel. My room was new and big, with amenities like free wi-fi, a small flat screen TV, a work desktop and a sofa. No minibar, though. The bathroom was also new, big and clean, but simple.

The people at the desk were friendly and helpful during check-in and in guiding me around town. The breakfast in Egon restaurant was OK - no more, no less. Though it was a bit annoying to eat breakfast in the smell of a pizza restaurant.

The hotel is very central, and had everything I needed in a clean, but rather anonymous package. And a reasonable price (for Norway). I would stay here again for business, but not on a romantic trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2010. Easy and problem-free check-in. I arrived early in the morning and was assigned a room straight-away. The room was located in the top floor with view overlooking another Thon Hotel across the street. The room, especially the bathroom, was in need of some refurbishment, but clean and of acceptable standard. As I stayed in the summer, there was midnight sun at night, making it somewhat difficult to sleep. At the booking site, the hotel promises black curtains, but in my room this was absent. Very nice and polite staff at the front desk. Breakfast at the nearby Egon Restaurant; fair, but definitely holds potential for improvement. Centrally located in Tromso, most attractions within five minutes walking distance. All in all, fair and cheap hotel in central Tromso. Can be recommended for a few nights stay, but the next time, I will probably try another hotel in a higher price class.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stjordal, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

I lived here for one night in June 2010.

The room was small, but OK and clean. The price was not low, but you don't get low prices on hotels in Norway.

I got a room in the 3rd floor, but some of my friends got room in the 1st floor (2 etg in Norwegian way of thinking). I could open my window, but in the 1st floor it seemed like you can't open the window, so during summer - it can get pretty hot in there.

The breakfast was in the Egon restaurant on ground floor, and was ok.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evlenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

There are two Thon hotels directly across the street from each other. Thon City (or Tromso) and Thon Polar. We stayed in the cheaper of the two, Thon Polar.

As a group of four, we had to wait a few moments when checking in for them to make up our room. While we were waiting, my husband and I moved the car from the closer parking garage to a cheaper and larger garage about a block away. I suggest you start in that one to begin with, as the smaller one is extremely difficult to get out of.

The hotel offers breakfast in the attached restaurant (offered at a discounted rate to hotel guests), though we opted out of that and walked to Ica (the grocery store nearby) instead. After walking through the hotel at breakfast time, it seemed as though we made the right choice. We did eat there for dinner, and were not impressed. It was a great looking place with many seats and great atmosphere, but the food was a bit lacking. It was Norway though, and still expensive (as Norway has been the most expensive country I have ever visited, and I lived in Stockholm!)

The room once it was made up, was great. We were four adults, and we each had a separate, comfortable bed. The couch was opened to make for one bed, we had a roll away and then two twins. The room was still large enough for us to stash our suitcases and walk around comfortably.

We traveled during the midnight sun, and the curtains were able to block most of the light out. Two bad they didn't have Velcro to attach the curtains to the walls though. The windows cover the whole wall, so the curtains had a tough job trying to keep the light out. They did reasonably well.

The bathroom was stylish, and well stocked. The room had a decent sized television with English speaking channels.

The free coffee available in the lobby, however, is awful. I suggest buying a better brew.

All in all, not too shabby of a place. I don't see why you would pay more to be across the street, when this hotel is very nice, modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Tromso
Thon Hotel Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Polar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Polar

Property: Thon Hotel Polar
Address: Groennegata 45, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Polar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Polar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing