We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites in Tromsø”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Grand Tromso
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Halden, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Tromsø”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A nice hotel with pleasant staff and nice rooms. It is located in the center of Tromsø.
Very nice breakfast. There are pubs connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your positive response! We are happy that we are one of your favourites, and wish you welcome back at your next Tromsø-stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    195
    101
    27
    10
See reviews for
60
145
54
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I liked this hotel a lot. It fells like it's on the "backside" of the city center but as soon as you walk around the corner you are right in the city center and still just meters away from the sea.

The rooms are of good size and the bed was great. Slept like a king! And the top floor you'll have a outdoor jacuzzi with a view over sea and mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your nice response. But I think you have been staying at Clarion Hotel Bryggen, because they have an outdoor jacuzzi, and we don't. Anyway, we hope you will try our hotel the next time your visit Tromsø.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odder, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I had the pleasure to book some rooms for my self and colleagues in Tromsø february 2011 - and the choise fell out on Grand Hotel Tromsø.
We all had a great stay - nice rooms, well situated in Tromsø and a really nice/personally service from all of the staff in the hotel. Nice atmosphere all over. Some rooms are quite small, but still nice and modern rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Hello Ole, and thank you so much for your positive response! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and welcome you back for your next trip to Tromsø.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

really cool room, great service, a bit pricey, but defenitly a quality hotell! will go there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toran03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your response! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and for your next visit, ask for a room to the back side, where you will be spared for traffic noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leknes, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Fast elevator, perfekt bar, perfekt location, good breakfast, few channels on tv, very good menu at the Restaurant

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-stlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with oss.Vi appreciate your comments and welcome you back at a later occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2010

we have visited Grand several times, and it is always great. this time we went with some friends, and had "Julebord" at the hotel - and also visited the nightclub Level 44. We always get great rooms and the breakfast is great. Late checkout on sundays is one of the offers at this hotel - superb service!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with oss.Vi appreciate your comments and welcome you back at a later occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Great location, shopping area is near. Nice service, smily faces everythere. Breakfast is tasty and cool, many different dishes and if you are not hungry, you will be when you see it. Grand owns the most popular nightclub in town, and since we are young, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaKristiansen77, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with oss.Vi appreciate your comments. So nice that you have tested our facilities, and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We welcome you back at a later occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Tromso

Property: Scandic Grand Tromso
Address: Storgata 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Grand Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Grand Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing