We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would wish for better shades in those long summer days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Grand Tromso
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I would wish for better shades in those long summer days”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel was ok, the staff were really helpful. Breakfast was amazing; a lot to choose from, definitely fitted for all tastes. But the only thing I was really disappointed in, that the curtains were not big enough to block all window. For somebody not used to sleep in the daytime it was quite hard to fall asleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy that you hade a good stay, and wish you a warm welcome back. We are checking our the curtains, because they should cover the whole window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    193
    99
    27
    9
See reviews for
59
141
53
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we have stayed in rica grand 28th feb-4th march. we chose the suit room which is very large,new decorated,real hot hitting with a good view.... if you worry about the comfort comparing the price,just try it,you will love the hotel trust me.especially very expensıve norwagıen standarts ,so cheap hotel :)))

Room Tip: suit rooms are very comfortable for the families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ece K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank you for giving us such a great review! Its great to hear that you have had a great stay! We wiah you a warm welcome at your next Tromsø-stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've stayed at Rica Grand Hotel several times and have always had the nicest stays here. The staff are polite and friendly; front desk personal are welcoming and always doing their very best for the guests. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast is great. The hotel is centrally located in Tromsø.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anahell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank you for your nice review! We are happy that you hade a nice stay, and are welcoming you back at your next Tromsø-trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

One of the lifts makes much noise which was hear in my room which was not very close to the lift. Our room had a decent view in a pretty good location.
Breakfast on the first day didn't go so well, there was no staff controlling who was coming in the breakfast room. Besides its risks to the hotel, this fact made a couple sit in a table which was already occupied by our food while we're getting some more, without asking. They even "stole" our cutlery. So we moved to another table. This kind of situation should never happen in a hotel, and that's one of the reason why there should be staff controlling entrance and tables.
Breakfast was fine but there is lack of pastries. Pastries disappear very quickly.

Room Tip: high room to get best views. Try to have breakfast earlier as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoNuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Hotel Manager at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We are aware of that one of our lifts are making noise, and we are really sorry for this. But this is the reason why we close it during the night. The lift is planned to be shifted during a couple of years.
It is not common in Norwegian hotels to register guests for breakfast. It is not common that people from outside comes and take breakfast. And that guests steal tables from each other is not a usual problem. We are sorry that this happened to you. Despite this we hope you enjoyed out breakfast. We hope to see you again at your next Tromsø visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for four nights in a 5th floor room at this central Tromso hotel. The airport bus stopped just outside and the check in was quick & efficient. The Reception staff spoke very good English and were helpful in printing out boarding cards for our return trip.
The room was compact and had little storage space. There was only hanging room for two padded coats, no drawer space and suitcases had to be placed on the bed to be unpacked/packed.
The shower room & toilet had cosy under floor heating, which dealt with the water that escaped under the screen every time the shower was used. The beds however were very comfortable and the room spotlessly clean.
The short comings in room design were what reduced my overall rating to average.
The buffet breakfast was extensive and had a great choice of food & beverages and helpful staff circulating to top up coffees.
Grunder Café & Bar in the hotel was a pleasant venue for a meal on our first evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Google Translation
Hei og takk for din anmeldelse. Beklageligvis er nok mange av hotellrommene våre designet for forretningsreisende som bor i 1, max 2 netter. Derfor er det ikke plass til så store kofferter. Men vi er glade for at dere har satt pris på vår frokost, og vårt flotte personell. Vi ønsker dere velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi,India
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The breakfast was very good and had plenty of variety , the staff particularly at the reception is very friendly and helpful. The junior suites are creatively designed and very comfortable. Even though there were three of us staying in them, it felt spacious enough. Our room had a balcony too. its in the centre of town and close to excellent on all counts

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse av vårt hotell., vii setter stor pris på at du tar deg tid til dette. Ønsker deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss ved ditt neste Troms-opphold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here two nights while my husband had some business in Tromso. The hotel was centrally located and although the room was small the beds were very comfortable. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and there was a bit of noise on the Saturday night. We were on the 5th floor. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and very nice. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a real deficit. I asked if I could organise for an iron in the room, and was advised that this couldn't be done, but that I could go to an ironing room and use the iron there. I was given vague directions and couldn't find it. I asked a house maid who pointed me in the right direction - there was no signage saying it was an ironing room. My key wouldn't open the door so I had to find the maid to let me in. If you are looking for luxury I wouldn't stay here, however the location was so convenient and it served us well. While the rooms weren't cheap they were good value for being in the arctic circle and the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShineSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K, Hotellsjef at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Google Translation
Takk for din anmeldelse. Beklager at vi ikke fikk vist oss fra vår beste side når dere var hos oss. Kaffe og te fasiliteter har vi kun på våre oppgraderte rom, som koster kun 250 NOK ekstra per natt. Strykerommet skal nå få skilt på døren, slik at det er lettere å finne frem. Takk igjen, og håper at du ønsker å komme tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Tromso

Property: Scandic Grand Tromso
Address: Storgata 44 | Postboks 8, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Grand Hotel Tromso)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Grand Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rica Grand Hotel enjoys a central location right on Tromso’s main street, closest to the best shopping, the most tasty restaurants, the most overpopulated cafes and the wettest waterholes. The Rica Grand Hotel is your best starting point for visiting Tromso and its colourful inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Grand Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing