We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sivertsens cafe

Sivertsens cafe
Ranked #40 of 111 Restaurants in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sivertsens café and culture cooperative is the only vegetarian restaurant in town, a quirke meeting point for people of all ages and an arena for both concerts, poetry, art and dancing. Are you open minded - we are! The chef decides the menue every day - so it varies from day to day (updates on facebook). The only constant is the delicious vegan food and the relaxed and cosy atmosphere. Restaurant on daytime and vibrant pub in the evenings.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Very cosy cafe with great little nooks and crannies to sit in. Only 2 options for the meal per day which you can see on their Facebook page before going if you wish to but what they lack in variety they make up for in quality. Delicious!! Highly recommend for veggies and omnivores alike :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Filling, tasty food”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a cute little veggie restaurant/bar. They seem to only have two choices of dish on the menu - when we went it was chana masala + rice, or red pepper & bean soup (plus carrot cake for dessert). The food was really tasty and good value for expensive Norway - the portions were enormous and more than enough for two to share. They also have live music events at the restaurant, although if you're planning to eat then I'd advise to get there early so you can finish your food before the act starts, as it is only a small place and got quite cramped. Friendly service. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For hardcore vegetarians only”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I'm absolutely happy eating vegetarian meals but this seemed really aimed at people for whom the non-meat stance is all-important and not the taste. Following a recommendation, I went here. Towards £15 got me a bowl (admittedly quite a large one) of rice with some vegetables in a tomato sauce. The vegetables took 'al dente' to a whole new level - they were rock hard. I also made the mistake of asking for a Coke - I got a bit of a stern look and was advised of the non-"okologisk" nature of Coke in the guise of helping me choose an alternative. The informal layout inside was attractive, the waiter (despite the stern look!) couldn't have been nicer but I wouldn't go back - it all felt a little self-satisfied with itself for its ethical outlook.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bps-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Veggie Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is hard to find because its underneath a dance studio but its so worth searching it out. The food was AMAZING. All made from fresh, all vegetarian and reasonably priced. Much cheaper than the other restaurants around. The atmosphere inside was friendly and the waiter/bar tender spoke good english and recommended good places to visit. We kept going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“low-key veggie oasis”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yes, there's only one or two menu items daily, and yes the hours are limited, but I just had one of the best veggie burgers i've ever had, lentil based and huge, very filling and flavorful. And the brownie i had afterward was one of the best and biggest brownies i've ever had. The prices are average (or even slightly below average) for Norway (burger and roasted potatoes was 155 kr and huge brownie was 45 kr). I will be going back (tomorrow).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CME123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sivertsens cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sivertsens cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing