We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing experience.. Highly recommended”

Arctic Adventure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arctic Adventure Tours is a company in Tromsø, Norway that provide nature-based tours. We offers dog sledding with Alaskan huskies, Whale watching for killer whales and humpback whales in the fjords, Northern lights tours and boat sightseeing. Dog sledding is a tour where you drive a sled with six dogs. You will get all the equipment you need, we will teach you how to drive and our experienced guide will take you through snow-covered hills and mountains. Experience the polar night under millions of starts and the green northern lights dancing in the Northern Norway. Whale watching is unique in Norway because the whales swim in to the fjords for eating herring. The narrow fjords makes you get close to orcas and humpback whale. It is breathtaking and amazing to experience their feast. Through the summer we offer RIB Excursions, boat sightseeing around Tromsø, showing and telling you about the area, the history and the mountains and wild life. We will love to see you and share our tours with you.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Most amazing experience.. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting Norway, must visit Tromso. If you are visiting Tromso, GH o with Arctic Adventure Tours! Here's why:

-went on my first kayaking trip, was nervous but my instructor, and now a friend, Hege, managed my anxiety very well. Her professionalism and discipline with the equipment made me more comfortable
-I was travelling solo. And was the only one on this kayaking trip. Any other operator would have canceled the trip, but these guys went ahead and took me for a wonderful experience
-it was a complete package, kayaking, reaching and island, campfire and food, passing a sunk German WW2 battleship beautiful views and courteous Hege who took some stunning shots
-Hege went at my pace. I got tired after rowing, but she did not sound rushed, and gave me enough breaks to allow me to be comfortable

Highly recommended. Wish Hege and Arctis Adventure Tours all the best!

Helpful?
2 Thank Anurag_Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    25
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went on a Dog Sledding tour in April, it was the most amazing experience of my life and definitely be back to do it again. It is run by Hege and PerThore who are extremely friendly and welcoming, they put so much effort in to making sure you have a great time it is really amazing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank -charrild-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived in Tromso on 20 February & went on the Dog Sledding tour that evening. It was the most wonderful introduction to our holiday, an evening we will always remember. What we liked was the personal, friendly welcome & obvious pleasure which Hege & Per-Thore derive from raising & training their husky dogs. The fun started when we were kitted out in all-in-one suits, boots & gloves - very necessary against the arctic cold! There were only 6 sledges with a driver & passenger on each so a small, friendly group & we were all up for fun. After a short demo on how to drive, we were off into the wilderness, dogs howling & eager to get going. Several times we turned off our head torches as the Northern Lights were displaying & when we were familiar with the route, we drove in the dark .. a unique & thrilling experience. It was a good long hour so a full-on experience (we only fell out once & it was just funny, no injuries). Back at the hut we were warmed up with hot drink & tasty chocolate cake. Then Hege introduced us to some month-old pups - they were adorable, shame we couldn't bring one home. Oh & to top it all off, we had the most beautiful Northern Lights display outside so we felt very privileged. And this was only our 1st night - the rest of the holiday was great but this experience with Arctic Adventures really set the standards high! If we'd had time, we would have booked on another trip with them. It was well worth it - and we didn't feel like paying tourists, we felt like friends enjoying a great experience. Thank you!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 471helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After reading all the positive reviews, we decided to book with this company on our recent trip to Tromso for our wedding anniversary. We did the evening dog sledding tour on the 13th March and it was ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. The couple who ran the tour were superb people, very friendly. Best of all, the dogs were AMAZING. You can tell they are well cared for and happy dogs. When we arrived we got kitted out in all the warm gear and then had a quick demo of how to drive the dog team. When the group set off towards our sleds, all the dogs howled and it was sooo amazing. They are so keen to get going! My husband and l took turns to drive our wonderful six dog team and it was EPIC. They love to run and as you head across the snow it is amazing. I have been fortunate enough to travel alot and do some wonderful things, but this is up there with one of the best things l have ever done. It was worth every penny, and l am seriously tempted to do one of their week long expeditions next year. Enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just wonderful! Do it!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked a Dog sledding tour with Arctic Adventure Tours on March 8th and it was an unforgettable and a pretty arctic adventure.
Hege, Per-Thore, their team and their amazing dogs are just the wonderful.
From the moment Per-Thore picked us up in Tromso, to our arrival at their place where we met Hege and got warm suits, boots and hats, the dogs and dog sledding and - of course - the tea/coffee and Hege's chocolate cake afterwards....everything was just perfect.
Although the weather wasn't quite on our side and we had to literally fight our way through some kind of snow/ice storm it was such a unique and incredible experience we never want to miss.
It was storming and snowing/ice raining so badly that we had to keep one arm up to shelter our eyes to at least see vaguely where to go and what to do but this made it an even greater experience.
We had such a wonderful time that we did another tour with them again the very next day.
This time with good weather so we could not just enjoy the feeling of being part of a team (the 2 of us and 6 amazing dogs) but also take in this breathtaking scenery.
Hege and Per-Thore are very welcoming and warm hosts and are happy to share the dream they are living with their guests.
You can feel their love and passion for this fantastic sport everywhere.
If you are into dogs and outdoors don't miss out on an opportunity that you won't forget.

A massive THANK YOU to Hege, Per-Thore, their team and the dogs!

We will be back and hopefully will be able to do the 1 week tour with you next year!

Best wishes!

Nicole & Dirk (London)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ILT186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arctic Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Arctic Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing