We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enter Backpack Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I think this place is more like a hostel than hotel. Place was okei.. but not feeling like hotel. It could bw cheaper. Possibility to use kitchen for preparing food was good. Room was enough big for us and clean. Toilet and shower were fine. Tv was working. Bed was excellent. Wifi was working poorly. It was okei place.. but more like hostel than hotel. Service was friendly.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BiriT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hello Birit!

Thank you for your review.
We are very similair to hostel, but we would say we are more a budget hotel. As far as the prices we always want to be the best budget choice in Tromsø. So if you ever come back and you find somebody with a better price then us, let us know and we will match them!
Again thank you so much, and have a fantastic day!

Regards

Simen
ABC Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I booked apartments in ABC hotel, but received mail with offer to live in Viking hotel apartments. Next day they had charged money twice - from ABC hotel and from Viking hotel. When I called to booking.com administration of hotel told me that I'll receive difference on arriving.
So when we arrived manager gave us difference and upgraded our apartments for better, there was nice interior. So I'm not disappointed in this hotel, I recommend it for families with kids. only wifi disappointed it worked not good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashul9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hello Sashul!

Thank you for your review.
Viking Hotels is our sisterhotel, so at times we arrange for people to be moved, with no extra cost. As far as the payment Im sorry for the mix up. Good thing it got fixed on arrival as it should be.

Best regards

Simen
ABC Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Affordable ABC Hotel Nord has very friendly and helpful staff, but no staff at night. Parking available for a small fee, common kitchen, fridge in your room, 2 min walk to city center. I'll be back. PS.: Not too happy about the mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hello Berit!

Thank you for your kind review, I have noted the room you stayed in and we have changed the overmatress, if this is what you meant.

Have a great day!

Best regards

Simen
ABC Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fantastic views from hotel room and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had everything I needed. Located within walking distance from the town and attractions such as the Polar Museum, Arctic Cathedral and the cable cars. Would highly recommend the ABC Hotell for anyone planning on visiting Tromso.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello Benjamin!

Thank you so much for your review, it warmed our hearts.

Have a great day!

Best regards

Simen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is something between a hostel and a hotel. It has common kitchen, shared bathroom, hostel breakfast and private rooms with a sink. It is very clean and comfy. Good option for someone tired and can afford a hundred dollar budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seawide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello seawide,

thank you so much for your review. Yes we strive to be the best option in Tromsø for budget travelers, so if you ever come back and find someone with a offer better then ours, let us know and we will match it!

Have a nice day!

Best regards

Simen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would have given this place 5 stars if it were not for the discovery of bed bugs in our room.

We walked to the hotel from the airport, which took about an hour and was quite hilly. It would have been very easy to take a bus, but we chose to walk because check-in was not available until 3pm, but also because it was nice and sunny with an incredible view.

The staff were incredibly friendly, chatty, and helpful from the minute we walked in the door. The cheerful woman who checked us in happily gave us a local map and pointed out the nearest grocery stores, where to get bus passes, and other useful things. She also gave us little slips with a code to get in the building after hours and info about the wifi, which worked smoothly with no problems in both our room and the lobby.

Our room was nice - plain and simple with a sink, fridge, TV, chair, and two twin beds (although we were hoping for a double). We opted for a cheaper room without a private bathroom, which was definitely worth the savings. The shower and toilet are separate, so there were no problems with waiting. I think we only had to wait once for the toilet (never the shower), but if it was ever an issue we could have run down to the restroom one floor below.

The main reasons we chose this hotel were the wifi (worked great) and the kitchen. The kitchen was spacious and well-stocked, and while it allowed us to make our own meals, note that you may have to wait for a pot or pan on occasion. It was open for use 11am-11pm. There is free coffee and tea as well during the daytime.

On our last night there, we were up quite late, lounging on the beds and checking emails, etc., when we horrifyingly discovered a few bugs crawling across the sheets. A quick google search confirmed that they were bed bugs -- a traveler's worst nightmare. Not only did we have bugs in our room, but we found out that it was impossible to contact anyone because the front desk is not staffed at night, and there was not even a single phone number or email address left in case of problems or emergencies. So, we were forced to sleep in the infested beds and wait it out until the morning. Thankfully, neither of us were bitten, but uh, it's really hard to sleep when you know there are tiny bugs near you that want to suck your blood.

We were truly disappointed, not just for the obvious reasons with the bugs, but we really really wanted to love this place. In all other regards, it was the perfect cross between a hotel and hostel -- clean, friendly, utilitarian, and cheap. However, there is never ever an excuse for pests or bugs, and the awful anxiety coming home and trying not to bring them with you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simsam93, Public Relations Manager at Enter Backpack Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Katie,
I remember very vell this incident, I was the one checking you out. Never do we want guest to have to experience such a thing. Bed bugs is a hotels worst nightmare, having guests that travel all around the world staying here, they sometimes bring with them this.
We have a standard procedure when these situation occurs. Luckily we don’t have to go through them so much. As far as the telephone we have one located outside the main door where you can call the staff. We understood from this situation that this was not well enough informed so we have now set up posters informing about this when we leave for the day.
Other then that it is good to see that you enjoyed our hotel, and it is a real shame that this happened and ruined your stay. But good to hear that you wasn't bitten!
Best regards
Simen
ABC Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

One of the cheapest hotels in the expansive Tromso. Position is great, staff friendly and helpful and wifi always working fast.
Rooms are very basic but spacious, bathrooms look new and are functional.
There is also a kitchen available from 11am to 11pm, very useful to cook a meal and save some money.
Downside; sheets didnt appear very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enter Amalie Hotel
Enter Amalie Hotel
#14 of 18 in Tromso
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Backpack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Backpack Hotel

Address: Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter Backpack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Backpack Hotel is a travelers' hotel with rooms with private or shared bathrooms, single, double and triple rooms. As well as studio and three bedroom apartments. Central location in a quiet side street. Ideal for travelers seeking budget accommodation. Free cooking and washing facilities. Wifi is included, and all rooms have a TV and fridge. Breakfast - 75NOK Parking - 95NOK ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enter Backpack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotell Nord As Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing