We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enter Backpack Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
US$163
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$150
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
42
78
49
16
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
78
49
16
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon kitchenfully stocked kitchennorthern lightsshared kitchengreat wifibed roomclose to the city centerfresh towelsvisiting tromsobeds were comfortableshort stayhotel is situatedfridgetvsinkwintersupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2009

This hotel is an excellent alternative to a hostel. If you are travelling with a friend, then it is basically the same price as a hostel, but you get your own room.
There is only one shower & toilet per floor, however the hotel was completely full & there was no line-up for the shower, so it seems to work.
The employees are very friendly & helpfully! The lounge & kitchen facilities are excellent & always clean. Breakfast is basic but good & relatively inexpensive (especially for Norwegian standards). It is only a short walk to the town centre & great for views of the Northern lights.
All linen is supplied & you get a TV in your room.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnkayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

If you are a young traveler looking for quite retreat, this is your hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chela167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Well, we enjoyed our stay for 4 nights in the heart of Tromsø. The most important to say is that the service in the reception was excellent. The ability to cook your own dinner in the well equiped kitchen was also a big plus. Free coffee and tea for the guests durring the day and quite cheap (only 30 NOK) and nice breakfast, that was easily eaten as dinner or supper. The vicinity to the very city center was stunning - only 5 min walking.
Not bad at all I would say, it is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I had made reservations online and mistakenly did not reserve a bath and shower; poor Norwegian language skills I suppose. The room was spacious, but not what we wanted. In any case, we were lucky enough to get another room, this time with toilet and shower, but it was just a tiny bit larger than the combined size of our suitcases; not so clean either. Next day we checked into the Amelie Hotel nearby and basically paid the same price (900 NOK) for a normal hotel room. Nord Hotel may a good idea for students, who pay half price, but we got a raw deal. We did like having wireless internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeroyPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

If you're looking for affordable and adequate accommodation, then ABC hotell Nord is for you. After reading some of the posts here I was expecting a rat hole but I was surprised. It is a combination of a hostel (the communal areas) and a hotel (many individual rooms) as stated. The room we had didn't have a bathroom but the shower was just down the passage which was great. What impressed me the most, unlike the hostels, this one is very quiet! People seem to respect each others privacy and no-one slammed doors or talked loudly in the passage. The fridge in the room was welcomed and we kept our water and food in there. I get the feeling that Tromso is a very cold place, even in summer and therefore the inside will always be warmer than the outside which forms condensation and probably damp on the walls. We had our window open most of the time knowing about this occurence but their duvets are really warm, so we didn't feel cold at all. The towels were changed everyday and were not scratchy. If no-one is at the front-desk, there is a telephone where you can find someone to help you check in if you arrive after hours. The only thing I can think of that was uncomfortable (that no-one anticipated) was that we took part in the marathon and had to climb down 3 flights of stairs afterwards! Other than that, we had a pleasant stay here and will do so again, hopefully to brave it there in winter. ABC is very close to the city centre and there is a down hill slope that leads to it which was great relief for our sore legs! If you have any concerns, let someone at the frontdesk know about them as soon as possible. The staff seem approachable and I am sure will try to help you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews