We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of ABC Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ABC Hotell
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I just wanted to write to you and let you know how pleased we were with ABChotel when we stayed there 6-10 Feb. The location was perfect and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and quietness of the hotel. We found your staff to very friendly,welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend your hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Thank you for a wonderful visit to Tromso

Sharon and Keith

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippyatHeartGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    66
    44
    13
    16
See reviews for
18
63
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The Hotell is well located slightly up the hill, but in good walking distance to the centre of town. Some of the rooms have a good view. Generally the rooms are warm, have fridges and TVs.

Its a strange system where reception is only open 7am to 3pm, after which you speak to a porter on the phone and then get a code to enter into the hotell and then pick up your key from a safe with the code. Its all a bit inpersonal and bizarre.

Breakfast costs £3/3 euros, which is good value as its an unlimited buffet: coffee is fairly good, but the food is pretty dull and average with too many of those scandanavian spreads they seem to love, and poor quality cheese and meat.

The staff are nice but not as helpful as other places in Scandanavia; when we asked for help with our trip to the Lofoten Islands by bus they did not really try and help us, but told us to go to Tourist info, when other people have spent a long time helping to find the bus timetables for us.

Overall, we were pretty happy with it, but maybe because there was not another affordable option that had vacancies and we needed a place to stay in Tromso

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2010

They have most friendly & helpful staffs, to help you get around the city. The communal area is spacious, good to meet friends and organise your trip (it is equipped with 2 computers and free internet access). Some rooms (at level 2) have fantastic view of the city. The self-serving breakfast is considered cheap, and they also provide free coffee and tea all day long. Other than that, you also have your own fridge in your room, and free wireless internet access. If you rent a car, you can have a car-parking slot for free too.

So, what can you ask for more from a budget hotel as such?
No, i can't.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

This hotel is an excellent alternative to a hostel. If you are travelling with a friend, then it is basically the same price as a hostel, but you get your own room.
There is only one shower & toilet per floor, however the hotel was completely full & there was no line-up for the shower, so it seems to work.
The employees are very friendly & helpfully! The lounge & kitchen facilities are excellent & always clean. Breakfast is basic but good & relatively inexpensive (especially for Norwegian standards). It is only a short walk to the town centre & great for views of the Northern lights.
All linen is supplied & you get a TV in your room.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnkayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

If you are a young traveler looking for quite retreat, this is your hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chela167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Well, we enjoyed our stay for 4 nights in the heart of Tromsø. The most important to say is that the service in the reception was excellent. The ability to cook your own dinner in the well equiped kitchen was also a big plus. Free coffee and tea for the guests durring the day and quite cheap (only 30 NOK) and nice breakfast, that was easily eaten as dinner or supper. The vicinity to the very city center was stunning - only 5 min walking.
Not bad at all I would say, it is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterbrook
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I had made reservations online and mistakenly did not reserve a bath and shower; poor Norwegian language skills I suppose. The room was spacious, but not what we wanted. In any case, we were lucky enough to get another room, this time with toilet and shower, but it was just a tiny bit larger than the combined size of our suitcases; not so clean either. Next day we checked into the Amelie Hotel nearby and basically paid the same price (900 NOK) for a normal hotel room. Nord Hotel may a good idea for students, who pay half price, but we got a raw deal. We did like having wireless internet access.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeroyPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tromso hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hotell

Property: ABC Hotell
Address: Parkgata 4, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ABC Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABC Hotel is a travelers' hotel with rooms with private or shared bathrooms, single, double and triple rooms. As well as studio and three bedroom apartments. Central location in a quiet side street. Ideal for travelers seeking budget accommodation. Free cooking and washing facilities. Wifi is included, and all rooms have a TV and fridge. Breakfast - 75NOK Parking - 95NOK ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your ABC Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc Hotell Nord As Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing