We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant change from usual chain hotels found in most Norwegian towns”
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalie Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant change from usual chain hotels found in most Norwegian towns”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

A comfortable hotel in the centre of Tromso with an especially friendly welcome. We stayed just one night but for the whole of the following day in order to catch the Coastal Steamer at midnight. Leaving luggage and being able to call in during the day despite haveing checked out presented no problem An inexpensive evening buffet is laid on and inall the hotel offers excellent value when set against its competitors

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeringKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    98
    32
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
115
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glos, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Amalie in Tromso in February 2011. The hotel is very unassuming on first appearance, sitting as it does on a street corner next a newly re-opened Italian restaurant. But looks are often deceiving. The Amalie Hotel is a good hotel well located to the local bus terminal, city centre shops and Fjord cruise liners.

The SAS bus from Tromso airport cost 55NK each and we were dropped outside the hotel on our inward journey. The bus departed from the main Terminal and Rica Hotel, both of which were only a few minutes from the Amalie. The journey took thirty minutes and the service was very regular.

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted and the hotel staff were helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast selection included a good selection of hot and cold with bacon, eggs, pate, yoghurts and breads. Enough to set you up for the day. The hotel also has a lift and an internet enabled computer in the reception area.

Our room was very well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, wardrobe space and a multi channel TV. We had noticed previous ‘Tripadvisor’ guidance to ask for a room on the 5th floor to benefit from the great views towards the cable car and over the estuary and the hotel were able to accommodate this request. The view was worth the request. The only slight disappointment in the room was the slightly claustrophobic bathroom. Not many cats were getting swung in this room. However, the room was always spotlessly cleaned.

During our stay I noticed that the Amalie was described as a ‘budget’ hotel in the local travel guide. This is unfair on the Amalie. The hotel is well run and at no time did we regret our decision to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PilgrimPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Very average.
The restaurant had no staff and only a buffet with some cold cuts which appeared to have been there for a long time.
You are advised to find anoter place for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location as mentioned in previous reviews. The hotel doesnt have free wifi but the price was reasonable at 45 krone for 24 hours access with time starting from the purchse time. The room we had was very nice being on the 5th floor we were lucky that we could actually see the water in the fjord as we had the corner room and could look down the street to the harbor edge. The bed had was 2 single mattress pushed together. The staff were friendly and the tourist ofice is right around the corner. The breakfast is a decent selection and they have evening buffet at 75 krone per person. It was quite similar to the breakfast buffet but represents a good cheap option if you are on a buget. Free waffles can be made in the afternoon as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Great location. Only 2 minutes to ferry stop. They give free waffles in afternoon, and have an inexpensive mini buffet in the evenings. They allowed us to use their common room while we waited for our midnight departure.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swannzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The room was quite small ("small double room") but fit our needs. It was equipped with a double bed, a suitcase stand, a small table, television, refrigerator (a quiet one) and some mini-bar articles, a small snacks table, an armchair and wall-mounted ironing set including a trousers press. In overall, a very nice room; the double bed might be a bit narrow for a couple with an over-average size person. The bathroom has no bath but a large and comfortable shower compartment. The breakfast is a buffet with warm eggs and coffee, and a quite good choice of cheese, ham and vegetables. It is served until 10 on the weekdays, 11 on Saturdays and 12 on Sundays. The room fare was around 1100 NOK and included WLAN and breakfast.

The harbour-side rooms have the view to two similar-sized office buildings, probably belonging to the harbour. However, if the room is in the 5th floor, you can see the opposite side of the fjord quite good, including the Arctic Cathedral.

The service were nice and very helping. Recommendation to all willing to visit Tromsö, especially for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This hotel is apparently one of the only family run hotels in Tromso and this helps to create a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We arrived at about 2am and our check-in took hardly any time at all, which at that time of night is always a bonus! The room could be described as on the small side depending on what you may be used to, but had all amenities we needed and we don't go on holiday to sit in our hotel room anyway.

The location is excellent as it is in the harbour area and about a 2 minutes walk to the big chain hotels which are used as pick up points on a lot of the activities, eg northern lights tours, dog sledding. It is also within walking distance of the other sights, eg Polaria, Tromso museum, if you can stay upright on the ice! Also, at the time I booked this it was quite a bit cheaper than the chain hotels.

The inclusive buffet style breakfast included a range options, from toast, cereal, eggs and bacon to fish, ham, cheese and salad. (They said 90% of their guests are Norwegian and hence there are plenty of fish options for breakfast). In addition, we checked out at 4.30am and they offered to lay a breakfast on for us at 4am. We thought it would just be toast and may be cereal if we were lucky, but they had also included some salad options and biscuits and said if there was anything missing to just ask . The free waffles in the afternoon are also handy if you are on a tight budget and need to skip the occasional meal!

The staff were always friendly and welcoming and happy to deal with any ditzy tourist questions we had and as with most people we met their English was excellent. All in all we were very pleased with our choice and would be happy to stay here again should we find ourselves in Tromso in the future (here's hoping!)

Lastly, there is a Dolly's Dimple pizza place right next door which offers an all you can eat buffet meal, with a drink, through the day on weekdays for 100kr, which is a good budget option if you need to eat before the 6.30pm buffet meal at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaineyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Property: Amalie Hotel
Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing