We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beds!”
Review of Enter Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Enter Amalie Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I wondered why there are not too many recent reviews of the Hotell Amalie in recent months but that is (I think) because most of the visitors are Norwegian. This is a lovely, small independent hotel and we had a really comfortable stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Always a choice of sausage, scrambled egg, bacon, lots of fresh bread, good juices, good coffee, cereals and every thing else from smoked salmon, cheeses, jam...Everything hot and fresh.We didn't have the 75 NOK evening buffet as it wasn't available Friday and Sat nights but it would be very good value in a very expensive city. A very clean hotel. Very quiet even though it was busy. The beds were the most comfy hotel beds that i have ever slept in. We were as warm as toast too. Make your own 'free' waffles every afternoon if you like - delicious! The twin room was 'cosy' but we just felt snuggly not cramped. The location of the hotel was great, very close to the TIC, the water and the centre and minutes walk from the Flybussen stop. The only down side was a lack of storage and the wardrobe space was a bit odd. I would definitely stay again - just for a sleep in that lovely bed!

Room Tip: We had 309 and had a mountain view between buildings - occasionally obscured by a passing cruise lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

A comfortable hotel in the centre of Tromso with an especially friendly welcome. We stayed just one night but for the whole of the following day in order to catch the Coastal Steamer at midnight. Leaving luggage and being able to call in during the day despite haveing checked out presented no problem An inexpensive evening buffet is laid on and inall the hotel offers excellent value when set against its competitors

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeringKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Amalie in Tromso in February 2011. The hotel is very unassuming on first appearance, sitting as it does on a street corner next a newly re-opened Italian restaurant. But looks are often deceiving. The Amalie Hotel is a good hotel well located to the local bus terminal, city centre shops and Fjord cruise liners.

The SAS bus from Tromso airport cost 55NK each and we were dropped outside the hotel on our inward journey. The bus departed from the main Terminal and Rica Hotel, both of which were only a few minutes from the Amalie. The journey took thirty minutes and the service was very regular.

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted and the hotel staff were helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast selection included a good selection of hot and cold with bacon, eggs, pate, yoghurts and breads. Enough to set you up for the day. The hotel also has a lift and an internet enabled computer in the reception area.

Our room was very well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, wardrobe space and a multi channel TV. We had noticed previous ‘Tripadvisor’ guidance to ask for a room on the 5th floor to benefit from the great views towards the cable car and over the estuary and the hotel were able to accommodate this request. The view was worth the request. The only slight disappointment in the room was the slightly claustrophobic bathroom. Not many cats were getting swung in this room. However, the room was always spotlessly cleaned.

During our stay I noticed that the Amalie was described as a ‘budget’ hotel in the local travel guide. This is unfair on the Amalie. The hotel is well run and at no time did we regret our decision to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PilgrimPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Very average.
The restaurant had no staff and only a buffet with some cold cuts which appeared to have been there for a long time.
You are advised to find anoter place for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location as mentioned in previous reviews. The hotel doesnt have free wifi but the price was reasonable at 45 krone for 24 hours access with time starting from the purchse time. The room we had was very nice being on the 5th floor we were lucky that we could actually see the water in the fjord as we had the corner room and could look down the street to the harbor edge. The bed had was 2 single mattress pushed together. The staff were friendly and the tourist ofice is right around the corner. The breakfast is a decent selection and they have evening buffet at 75 krone per person. It was quite similar to the breakfast buffet but represents a good cheap option if you are on a buget. Free waffles can be made in the afternoon as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Great location. Only 2 minutes to ferry stop. They give free waffles in afternoon, and have an inexpensive mini buffet in the evenings. They allowed us to use their common room while we waited for our midnight departure.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swannzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The room was quite small ("small double room") but fit our needs. It was equipped with a double bed, a suitcase stand, a small table, television, refrigerator (a quiet one) and some mini-bar articles, a small snacks table, an armchair and wall-mounted ironing set including a trousers press. In overall, a very nice room; the double bed might be a bit narrow for a couple with an over-average size person. The bathroom has no bath but a large and comfortable shower compartment. The breakfast is a buffet with warm eggs and coffee, and a quite good choice of cheese, ham and vegetables. It is served until 10 on the weekdays, 11 on Saturdays and 12 on Sundays. The room fare was around 1100 NOK and included WLAN and breakfast.

The harbour-side rooms have the view to two similar-sized office buildings, probably belonging to the harbour. However, if the room is in the 5th floor, you can see the opposite side of the fjord quite good, including the Arctic Cathedral.

The service were nice and very helping. Recommendation to all willing to visit Tromsö, especially for leisure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Amalie Hotel

Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £70 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enter Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing