We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a long weekend”
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalie Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Perfect for a long weekend”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently stayed for a long weekend staying 2 nights in room 411.

The hotel serves a great breakfast and there is free tea/coffee and biscuits throughout the day. In addition you can make waffles in the afternoon and in the evening they had soup and rolls available. All of which is greatly appreciated as food and drink prices in Norway are high.

The hotel also offers free WIFI and is conveniently located.

Depends on personal preference, but I found the beds to be too soft and the rooms are small and compact but sufficient for a long weekend away.

Tromso itself is quite small and easy to navigate around. The shuttle bus from the airport was 70 one way or 100 for a round trip.

When in Tromso, do try and get yourself on a round trip ferry ride as it gives you more to see in terms of landscape and in the late evening, you may also see the Northern Lights if there is little/no cloud cover.

Something to watch for is the queue at the Tourist Office. It is very close to the hotel but gets busy and there can be a long wait to be served, so might be worth checking on line the things you want to do and booking direct.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    98
    32
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
115
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great hotel in the centre of Tromso. The rooms were small but very clean & functional - grateful for the opening windows as it was a little stuffy at times. Good choice for breakfast & the afternoon waffles went down well. Staff friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WidnesWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a small family run hotel, located just around the corner from the Radisson Blu hotel, where many of the organised tours and daytrips depart from. Despite some confusion over the original room reservation which was made last July, the staff made every effort to accommodate my sister and I and we were happy with the gesture of good will which was made by the management. The room was very comfortable, warm and clean. There is a good selection for breakfast and the afternoon waffles [which are free of charge] are to 'die for'. Since our experience of viewing the Northern Lights was limited to one night, I would have no hesitation in rebooking with the Amalie, on a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth and fifth floors facing towards the Fjord, should give a better view. I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vietnam52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Amalie Hotel is very centrally located in Tromso with the town centre a few streets away and easy access to all local attractions. The hotel is basic but in February the rooms were very warm and comfortable, although the double bed was two singles pushed together. Breakfast is great and waffles and coffee are provided throughout the day which is great when you come in from the cold. If you want somewhere to sleep comfortably with a filling breakfast, you can't go wrong!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

When we decided to book to go Tromso we were aware of the price for tourists out there so wanted to try and save as much as we could so we could do as much activities as we could. We would have usually splashed out on a much more highly regarded hotel which would have put an extra £250 on what we spent for the Amalie .... How lucky we didn’t as the Amalie did what it said on the tin and then some.

We'd had a delay of a few hours at Gatwick so were late by a good 3/4 hours when we arrived. The staff could not be more warm and greeting when we stepped through the door. They immediately checked us in whilst asking if we wanted a coffee or something to eat (I’ll touch on that in a bit) after what seemed like seconds, I was being handed my key a nice hot cup of coffee and shown to my room. Even when I asked if there was anything I needed to sign or to sort out payment it was replied with 'it’s fine we can deal with that later, you've had a delayed trip, let’s get you settled first' that was so appreciated when you've been delayed and just want to jump in the shower and get out there and see Tromso.

The rooms were more than adequate. You read on here that the rooms are a little small. Yes maybe but not to the extent that it’s a problem. 2 comfortable beds, desk, ample space for storage, a TV, tea and coffee facilities, everything you need. The shower room is just that, a decent sized shower, basin and toilet. Clean, hot water and even the luxury of heated flooring. Top that off with decent Wifi (I could stream Lovefilm and NetFlix no problem) I was extremely pleased with the room. I have booked hotels all over the place with the same 'star' rating and believe me this one certainly adds an extra 'invisible star' so please don’t be put off like some.

If you are not a soft bed' type person then you may be weary. The beds are ultra-soft and I’m someone who like a firm bed but It still was comfortable sleeping in the bed. Yes it swallows you up a little and the pillows personally were a little too soft for my liking but after walking out in the temperatures of Tromso, its actually quite nice being cuddled by the bed when you collapse into it.

For cleanliness the Hotel went above and beyond. Spotless throughout. Inside the room and in the communal areas. There was always a maid walking around I noticed, at all times.

Location wise its perfect. It’s practically on the harbour Close to everything needed, a supermarket round the corner, a lovely Italian next door and 2 mins walk from the flybus stop. Perfect.

The restaurant again was above expectations. A decent spread for breakfast with warm and cold choices. Eggs, Bacon, Cheeses, Hams, Pastries - The lot. Feed yourself up at breakfast as the prices to eat out are a little scary. Another HUGE bonus is after breakfast is packed away, complimentary coffee comes out and make your own waffles. Definitely a bonus when you consider how much it is to eat out.

We found the Amalie to be one of the cheaper options of hotels in the area so you're in for a bargain when you book. Overall I can’t fault the Amalie. Excellent staff who are there to help whatever you need. Excursions, Hire Car, Restaurant Recommendations nothing is too much for the staff there. I even got talking to one of the kitchen staff who pointed me in the direction to see the Northern Lights in the evening and her advice was spot on.

Enjoy the hotel, the staff and most of all enjoy the awesome city of Tromso. I’m so going back.

Room Tip: Feed yourself silly at breakfast so you can skip lunch as the prices to eat out are a little scary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a small hotel, centrally-located to everything you need in Tromso and I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a warm, clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay. Staff are outstanding, breakfasts are absolutely fantastic and the rooms have everything you need. It is honestly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, but without the fanfare of many others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Amalie Hotel in early February. We found it well located, and within easy walk of everywhere.
The bedroom was on the small side, but clean and cosy. The beds were very comfortable. The wooden bedroom floor was most welcome, as given the wet and snow, bedroom carpets could quickly become grubby and unpleasant.
The hotel staff were polite, and very helpful.
Frode at reception, was especially helpful with our queries concerning car hire and local parking.
The buffet breakfast, was simple, but an adequate selection.
If travelling to Tromso again, would we stay in Amalie? I see no reason not to!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank packymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Property: Amalie Hotel
Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing