We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, but perfect location”
Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amalie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small room, but perfect location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed with my husband for 3 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is perfectly located in Tromso's city centre and most of the tours (northern lights, dog sledding, etc) depart from the information centre just across the road or from one of the hotels around the corner.
The hotel is simple but everything is clean. Our room was really small and we had a hard time trying to accommodate 2 big bags - eventually we had to move some furniture but even then it was difficult to walk in the room. But we barely stayed in the hotel, so it was fine.
Breakfast was simple but not bad. And they offer coffee/tea and waffles in the afternoon, which is really nice.
Staff was always helpful and friendly.
We would certainly stay here again if we ever return to Tromso.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    97
    30
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
111
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I´ve stayed here several times (working travels). Staff is very friendly and location is great. But it is an old fashion hotel, cosy but not very stylish. Breakfast is not particularly extravagant. There´s no gym. It´s also not that cheap. A typical 3 star hotel. Walls are also not very sound proof.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre nor restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DameCa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at Amalie for 4 nights with my husband. The hotel is a little dated but has all the facilities needed for a Northern Lights trip. The breakfast buffet is included in the price with hot and cold food options and lots of choice. There are also waffles, biscuits, tea and coffee available in the afternoon free of charge. This really makes a difference when food prices are so high; we would go for somewhere with self catering facilities next time. The room was small but clean and has everything you need: tv, desk, couple of chairs, adjustable heating, hairdryer. We were on the 2nd floor and a down point was that the room overlooked a main street so we had to keep the curtains closed all the time. Next time I would choose a room that overlooks the harbour so you can look out for the aurora at all times! The staff were friendly and the location is really central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the second floor or facing away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed in Amalie for 4 nights, and then travel to Oslo/Copenhagen.

Food - I can say that Amalie have the "best breakfast" in my "non-luxury" trip so far. The breakfast hall is not big, but the food variety is more than enough. Also the food are fresh. What surprises me is they offer "waffle" (self cook / service) in the afternoon. And you can have a cup of tea & waffle free of charge!

Location - Perfect, it is just next to the airport bus station, and next to Radisson Blu Hotel where the Northern Trip Tour gathers. Also next to the post office for your post card.

Service - The staffs there are nice and helpful. They have also recommended local restaurants and helped us make reservation.

Room - Not very big but have everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

First week of March 2014 in Tromso. With a friend. 2 Single rooms for 7 nights.
Tromso is very expensive city, so paying about 160$ per night for a single room was a good price.
Rooms are small but very convenient. Since there is only single bed in room there is much free space. You have a desk, 2 chairs, a 32 inch flat screen HD TV, small fridge and ironing machine. No safe deposit box and not much place for your things
Bed is soft. Room’s lighting is not strong. They use mostly regular, small wattage, incandescent lamps.
No much view from the room because it is blocked by another building. From the 4th floor I could see part of Tromso’s bridge, the bay and the top of Fjellheisen.
Bathroom is small but comfort with excellent shower.
Very good breakfast
Very good location (across the Radisson Blu hotel).
Internet is OK, not very fast (had a problem with the Internet connection on our first day. It was solved the next afternoon).
Hotel’s staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Seems that single rooms at the 4th floor are slightly better than on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YZyz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent choice for family holiday. Great location just in the centre of the city, good connections by bus. Very quiet hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Hotel offers also (not in all evenings) soup and bread in the evening at very cheap price which was a perfect choice for us with no need to go elsewhere and look for a restaurant. There is also a possibility to make waffles every afternoon for free which was very popular with our children. Good breakfast also served.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently stayed for a long weekend staying 2 nights in room 411.

The hotel serves a great breakfast and there is free tea/coffee and biscuits throughout the day. In addition you can make waffles in the afternoon and in the evening they had soup and rolls available. All of which is greatly appreciated as food and drink prices in Norway are high.

The hotel also offers free WIFI and is conveniently located.

Depends on personal preference, but I found the beds to be too soft and the rooms are small and compact but sufficient for a long weekend away.

Tromso itself is quite small and easy to navigate around. The shuttle bus from the airport was 70 one way or 100 for a round trip.

When in Tromso, do try and get yourself on a round trip ferry ride as it gives you more to see in terms of landscape and in the late evening, you may also see the Northern Lights if there is little/no cloud cover.

Something to watch for is the queue at the Tourist Office. It is very close to the hotel but gets busy and there can be a long wait to be served, so might be worth checking on line the things you want to do and booking direct.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Property: Amalie Hotel
Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing