We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Tromso. Close to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amalie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Tromso. Close to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Great location. Only 2 minutes to ferry stop. They give free waffles in afternoon, and have an inexpensive mini buffet in the evenings. They allowed us to use their common room while we waited for our midnight departure.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swannzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    95
    30
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
111
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The room was quite small ("small double room") but fit our needs. It was equipped with a double bed, a suitcase stand, a small table, television, refrigerator (a quiet one) and some mini-bar articles, a small snacks table, an armchair and wall-mounted ironing set including a trousers press. In overall, a very nice room; the double bed might be a bit narrow for a couple with an over-average size person. The bathroom has no bath but a large and comfortable shower compartment. The breakfast is a buffet with warm eggs and coffee, and a quite good choice of cheese, ham and vegetables. It is served until 10 on the weekdays, 11 on Saturdays and 12 on Sundays. The room fare was around 1100 NOK and included WLAN and breakfast.

The harbour-side rooms have the view to two similar-sized office buildings, probably belonging to the harbour. However, if the room is in the 5th floor, you can see the opposite side of the fjord quite good, including the Arctic Cathedral.

The service were nice and very helping. Recommendation to all willing to visit Tromsö, especially for leisure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

This hotel is apparently one of the only family run hotels in Tromso and this helps to create a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We arrived at about 2am and our check-in took hardly any time at all, which at that time of night is always a bonus! The room could be described as on the small side depending on what you may be used to, but had all amenities we needed and we don't go on holiday to sit in our hotel room anyway.

The location is excellent as it is in the harbour area and about a 2 minutes walk to the big chain hotels which are used as pick up points on a lot of the activities, eg northern lights tours, dog sledding. It is also within walking distance of the other sights, eg Polaria, Tromso museum, if you can stay upright on the ice! Also, at the time I booked this it was quite a bit cheaper than the chain hotels.

The inclusive buffet style breakfast included a range options, from toast, cereal, eggs and bacon to fish, ham, cheese and salad. (They said 90% of their guests are Norwegian and hence there are plenty of fish options for breakfast). In addition, we checked out at 4.30am and they offered to lay a breakfast on for us at 4am. We thought it would just be toast and may be cereal if we were lucky, but they had also included some salad options and biscuits and said if there was anything missing to just ask . The free waffles in the afternoon are also handy if you are on a tight budget and need to skip the occasional meal!

The staff were always friendly and welcoming and happy to deal with any ditzy tourist questions we had and as with most people we met their English was excellent. All in all we were very pleased with our choice and would be happy to stay here again should we find ourselves in Tromso in the future (here's hoping!)

Lastly, there is a Dolly's Dimple pizza place right next door which offers an all you can eat buffet meal, with a drink, through the day on weekdays for 100kr, which is a good budget option if you need to eat before the 6.30pm buffet meal at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaineyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

This is a great hotel. It's clean and comfortable. The tourist information, where we booked most of our trips is just around the corner. It's also within easy walking distance of many of the city's restaurants and places of interest. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had a very early flight coming home and they even put on our breakfast at 4.15am.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelydoveydonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This little gem of a hotel is only metres from the tourist information, and the bus and boat terminals. Nestled between a variety of well known chain hotels. Also within easy walking distance of many of the city's museums and restaurants. We liked the friendly and helpful front desk, the free ( make your own) pancakes in the afternoon, the '24 hour' availability of coffee/tea, and the light evening buffet. Particularly, it was a calm oasis to retreat from this beautiful and lively city. For our 6.30am departure, the hotel even provided us with the makings of a breakfast 'to go'.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay- very friendly and helpful staff willing to give advice and help. The evening and breakfast buffet is good value in a country where everything is expensive.The rooms however are small and cramped. Bathroom was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

Hotell Amalie is a centrally located, but still quiet hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Wireless internet is free, but access is erratic and not at all reliable. Very comfortable bed. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Aila_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalie Hotel

Property: Amalie Hotel
Address: Sjoegata 5B | Postboks 14, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing