We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smarthotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smarthotel Tromso
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Matfors, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This newly opened hotel is very chic. Room was small, but everything is brand new. Nothing to complain about the breakfast - the restaurant felt like a bit like a school canteen though. Wouldn´t get up early to enjoy a long breakfast. I think I am a bit too old to appreciate this city chic hotel with graffiti on the walls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    167
    93
    22
    6
See reviews for
27
151
79
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the Smarthotel for 2 nights in December 2013. We couldnt book 4 consecutive nights in Smarthotel nor the Viking hotel during our time in Tromso, so we stayed 2 nights in the Viking hotel as well. These hotels were within our budget.
We had a car in Tromso, the parking was a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel. Check in was prompt, there was even a machine for self check in! The room we had was tiny, barely had enough room to open our suitcases. The room however was clean and looked modern. There were tea, hot chocolaete and coffee free for guest to enjoy. The overall experience reminded me of staying in a Travelodge with less room space, and with a higher price tag.
If I have the option to choose my stay between Smarthotel and the Viking hotel, I will stay in the Viking the entire trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshuavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The rooms are tiny but efficiently designed. The double beds were really quite small (and me and my sister are only 5"3) but I guess for the price you're paying (relative to other places in Tromso anyway) you can't really complain. The place was kept very clean and I love the interior. The check in staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just a couple streets down from where all the shops and restaurants. Its a short 5 min walk to the entrance of the tunnel car parks. There is no free parking anywhere. Overall pretty great for value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Taxi driver who brought us from the airport commented that it was the cheapest hotel in town and naturally we were expecting the worst! It was in fact great! Everything was there that you need - warm comfortable bed with spare pillows, clean modern bathroom, places to hang clothes, a dest, tv - we were not having our holidays here, it was just a staging post overnight and it was fine! The rooms are small but it was fun! The staff were extremely efficient,helpful and welcoming and I would stay there again without considering anywhere else. It's a bit like IKEA! The breakfast the next morning was also very good. I have stayed a far worse places that have been very pretentious and charged a lot more. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Tromso locals shuddered to hear we were staying here. "The rooms are like prison cells aren't they?" was one of the more polite comments. Their double room might just be adequate for one person staying for one night. To pretend it works for two people is disgraceful. The breakfast was a fair price considering how expensive Norway is as a country.The staff were friendly and professional and the wifi was excellent but that isn't really enough is it to compensate for overpriced extremely cramped accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

the room we were provided was smaller than any other single room I have stayed in, looks like those rooms that you can see through the windows in the red-light district of Amsterdam. Wal decoration included a blank cemented wall where it was written 'you are smart'. Yes we smart enough to accommodate ourselves in a single bed. We are smart enough to do without a dust bin in the room and litter all our garbage in the room. We are smart enough to keep shoes, and clothes littered all through the small passage from the door to the bed as there was no other space in the room nor any cupboard, except some white clothes hanger on the wall where you have to try and hang all clothes of the winter.
the best thing of the hotel was the reception desk, who were always at help and the internet which worked fine in the room. breakfast expensive, location was fine

Room Tip: if you are smart enough to squeeze into a hole then best wishes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBDG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Firstly if your a person who wants a room thats large enough for you and ten of your friends, this is not for you.
But if you are on a budget and just a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and very good free wifi this is the place!
Its in a good location, Tromso is small so you are not far from anywhere!
The room is small, in fact a bit like a cupboard, but the price is very good! The staff are very friendly and there is free tea/coffee 24hours if you need a re freshment.
Make sure you book direct from their website for the best deals, we chose the non refundable option which saved a little more.
Remember when you are here, eating/trips/drinking is very expensive, so don't waste your money on somewhere you wont stay long and choose the smart option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarthotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarthotel Tromso

Property: Smarthotel Tromso
Address: Vestregata 6, Tromso, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarthotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Tromsø, this hotel is just 200 metres from Storgata shopping street. It offers brightly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. All rooms at Smarthotel Tromsø have Dux beds, a work desk and a private bathroom with shower. Light dishes like sandwiches and salads are available in the lobby shop. Tromsø Smarthotel offers an ironing service and a 24-hour reception. The Hurtigruten Terminal and Polaria Aquarium are both 8 minutes’ walk away. The Polar Museum is 800 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smarthotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing