We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a long weekend in magical tromso”
Review of Smarthotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smarthotel Tromso
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect for a long weekend in magical tromso”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Frankly I don't understand why the reviews are very average for smart hotel.

Lots of people complain about the small rooms etc but honestly these days people seems to want everything for nothing. When I booked the hotel was by far the cheapest for what is a very expensive place.

However, given the price you are met with a simple but efficient hotel that has everything you need for an outdoor adventure trip in Tromso and not much you don't. Yes the rooms are very small, but if you want to spend all day in doors in Tromso you are going to the wrong place anyway. You don't get fancy stuff like good toiletries, ironing facilities, wardrobe etc, but you don't really need it and wouldn't expect it for the price. Rooms are not cleaned during weekends, but a non-issue for us as we don't usually like cleaning service during our short stays anyway and have someone come into your room to move your stuff around.

Pros:
1. Hotel is newly opened in 2013 so everything is in good order
2. Modern rooms, good heating, great shower
3. Excellent free wifi
4. Flat screen TV (which we didn't turn on once)
5. Excellent sound proofing, blackout curtains, duvets, pillows and mattress. On the website they claim to offer a great nights sleep and they are not a bit wrong. This is so important, especially sound proofing.
6. Given the size of tromso city, every hotel has a good location, Smarthotel was probably the furthest from the high street, but that is still a 5 min walk to the tourist centre (most tours you book depart from near the tourist centre, Radisson hotel etc).
7. 24/7 front desk.
8. Super clean.

Cons:
1. They do charge 19NOK for coffee and tea which I considered unnecessary
2. The place doesn't accept cash at all which was a bit annoying, especially if you want a cup of tea as above...19NOK for credit...really? Not to mention on one morning the card facility was not working properly and we nearly couldn't have breakfast.
3. Breakfast is 95NOK each when free at all other hotels so if you plan to eat there everyday it's worth building in the total price when comparing to other hotels.
4. Breakfast was plentiful but average quality compared to say Thon and doesn't change at all each morning. Because all the hotels offer free breakfast I don't believe there are many places in town that you can go to for a proper breakfast otherwise.

So all in all, not disappointed at all.

To get to the hotel take the flybussen which is 100NOK each return, although really the city is a 10 min drive via tunnel from the airport on the otherwise of the little island.

On this trip we went to the Ersfjordbotn, activetromso dogsledding, green fox northern lights and lynsalps snowmobiling. Let me know if you have queries for any of those activities.

Room Tip: There are no rooms with a good view, so it doesn't matter. The views are outside in the middle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dynamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    180
    100
    24
    7
See reviews for
32
161
88
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent price-quality ratio.
Rooms are indeed small BUT contain everything you need : beddings, private T&B, towels, hair dryer, coat racks, TV, desk

Very good breaksfast for everybody's taste.

"YOU ARE SMART"

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in Tromso for one night. Got to the hotel by the fly bus from Tromso airport and arrived at approx 2.30. The lady at reception told us out room wasn't ready which we accepted as check in wasn't suppose to be until 3. (even though this was the first hotel we'd ever been told to wait half an hour to get our room). Just after 3 we were told out room was ready. As we entered out room we could tell immediately that it wasn't ready. The bin was still full. There were no cups. The bed was messy an when inspected there were hairs, obviously from the people who were in the room previously. I went back down to reception and informed the woman at reception that our room hadn't been cleaned and she apologised and told us it should be ready within 15 minutes, even though we were told out room wasn't ready when we arrived. I would have much preferred her to have told me that check in wasn't until 3 and that we had to wait instead of lying. I told her that this wasn't acceptable so she gave us another room which was at least clean, even though the bin hadn't been changed! We were only in Tromso for one evening but i definitely wouldn't have wanted to have stayed longer. The hotel was central and the rooms were small, but that was to be expected for the price. It would have been good value if our room has been at least clean. Their excuse was that the last people to stay in the room had left the day before and therefore they had 'assumed' that it was already clean?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XclaireeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

There was a trip to Norway on the biz schedule lately.
Norway in march?. And very far in northern Norway?. Yes, it is!.
Tromso is the place to stay for the first night. Arrival in the evening by Norwegian from Oslo.
The Flybuss waits right outside the terminal, just a couple of minutes to wait for the other pax with bags
and on the way. The returnticket is 100 Kronor.
Out of the bus some minutes later in the fresh nordic night at the Rica Grand Hotel. Cross the street left hand side, up the hill for the next one, where the hotel is located just around the corner. A nice welcome from a young woman, a room on level 4 is prepared.
Small it is, here you will not be lost, I tell you.
But don´t get me wrong. This is Norway, the far north of Norway where things are tend to be expensive and the hotel is fairly priced. The room fitted with a bed, flat screen TV, a small desk, the bathroom with a shower cabin. Four towels, ok for me. Hot water from the first minute and also, most important, the heating works well. Not more than 10 minutes to walk for the city center and the harbour.
Ice sculptures down there show me that it´s definitely cold here!.
A well nights sleep, no noise from the outside or around.
Ready for breakfast as early as possible at 06.30 am, if I remember correctly and
everything what I need on offer.
Biz calls, checkout soon thereafter managed by another nice young woman and on the way by bus again for the airport heading to Kirkenes close to the Russian border by Norwegian.
The usual question for the downsides is missing here:
Well, just a little bit more space in the room should be nice!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is well located.
All the staff we had to deal with were very helpfull. (especially the night audit)
Our room has not being cleaned in 3 days ... that was the only negativ remark I had to say.
Room quite small and no place to put your suitcase... but we spend more time out than in the room.
Bed is very confortable !!
Would go there again, should we come back to Tromso :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaelBrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Smarthotel is a new boutique hotel. The check in process is either manual or with the kiosk. Tried using the kiosk, it is so easy and fast. Gives you the key card along with the receipts. Or you can check in the traditional way. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Although I did not try the breakfast, it must be nice or value for money since the café is pack with people. Typical Norwegian spread with smoke salmon and cheese.
The room that I got which is double bed and the toilet is clean and comfortable. The only problem that I have is that the room and toilet is kind of small. We had only 1 mid size luggage with us and we had to put in on the floor and it kind of obstructed the walkway. Bed is just ok for us. There are a few hangers on the wall but not enough. So if you don't have claustrophobia, the hotel is just fine, only 2 streets from the main shopping street. They also do rent Smart For Two cars and bicycles (In Summer only).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKC_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Smart hotel in Tromso is on a very good spot in the city center. This concept fits in this time spirit .
Rooms and badroom are very small when you are with 2 but it is very clean . The staff is very nice and helpful . Breakfast is good. Free internet and free coffee and the . When you don't want to spend a lot off money on the expensive restaurants in town than there is the microwave in the lobby where you can heat your supermarket-diner . This hotel is the best value in town.

Room Tip: They have only double rooms , no twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.0 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarthotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarthotel Tromso

Property: Smarthotel Tromso
Address: Vestregata 6, Tromso, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarthotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Tromsø, this hotel is just 200 metres from Storgata shopping street. It offers brightly decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. All rooms at Smarthotel Tromsø have Dux beds, a work desk and a private bathroom with shower. Light dishes like sandwiches and salads are available in the lobby shop. Tromsø Smarthotel offers an ironing service and a 24-hour reception. The Hurtigruten Terminal and Polaria Aquarium are both 8 minutes’ walk away. The Polar Museum is 800 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Smarthotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing