We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm little place with a great view !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMI Hotel Tromso
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai,india
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Warm little place with a great view !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel / motel / B&B whatever you label, is a great place. it has a great view. The owners are friendly. You could take a Taxi from Airport ( 110 NOK) or a bus ride (55 Nok per person).
DO NOT prebook a TAXI, at tromso.... We were charged the same on return trip to Airport 240 NOK instead of 110 NOK by the same person)

The rooms are small and no elevator. Be prepared to haul your luggage 2 floors......but the price you pay for this place more than justifies.

Breakfast is simple but VERY nice and economical. We had to leave early morning ( 6.30am) and they stocked the Food previous night. Free Coffee / Tea machine saves alot of money as well. You could cook your own food. All these are of great use for Veg. and people looking to save in Norway ( which is more expensive than any country we have visited).
Supermarket is just 10 minutes walk.
Polaria Museum is just about Ok... can be missed.

MUST visit is a ride in cable car / funnicular (Bus 26 from town center in direction Hungeren.)...... where the views are breathtaking. Don't forget to take wollens, as there is SNOW there even when it is the time of the MIDNIGHT Sun.

Room Tip: Pl Book a room with private bathroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    104
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
72
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I was upgraded to ami after having been doublebooked into abc hotell.
The price is the best in Tromsø, for what you get.
But it is a bit of a fire trap!!!
And in winter the hill up is very glått.
They try very hard...I'll come back

Room Tip: room 25 has a window that is too close to the street passing by....try a different room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

this hotel is so great i cant tell you how warm cosy friendly and how best situated it s,its not the ritz but it has free brekfast tea ,coffee ect and they even allow you too make packed lunch ect from breakfast food ,eg ham eggs cheese salad ect,if you want to see the northern lights ,go to tourist information and book a bus boat trip,2 hours up 0n bus and 3 hours back on cruise ship, guaranteed to see northern lights on the way back if clear weather,this trip is the only way you will see them as you need pitch black and this trip guarantees that, i promise!

Room Tip: river view gives view of sea tromso mountains and cathedrel, a dream to sit in window at night in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoblinO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, Brazil
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I´ve reserved 2 months prior our arrival a room with private bathroom, but as we arrived, they had only a room with shared bathroom. Front desk staff told me that they had made a mistake and could only offer us this room. I was very disappointed and they couldn´t do nothing for us.
In despite of the mistake, hotel have a nice kitchen for guests, free wi-fi and computers and free coffe/tea 24/7.
Not sure if would stay there again, this kind of mistake is unforgiven.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rortoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place was perfect for us. Don't expect snazzy rooms, because you are getting what you pay for, but it was perfectly nice and comfortable and a real bargain compared to the other hotels. The free all you can eat breakfast was a real save too, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. highly recommended if you don't want to spend more than you need to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleG186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

At AMI Hotel you will find your own comfortable home, warm, clean, open kitchen with free tea, coffee and hot chocolate at any time of the day and night. A fully equiped kitchen allows you to prepare your own meals instead of eating out every night. You can make use of the computers with free internet and a playstation or a dvd for the kids. Excellent price, staff and location. Very private and at the same time a family atmosphere all over the hotel. Breakfast included and can even be taken after hours. Check in at any time with no restrictions or waiting for your room to be ready. We highly recommend this hotel and will definately come back here should we visit Tromso again.

George & Alessandra

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

If you're looking for a hotel with all the luxuries of staff 24/7, hotel bar and plenty of space then ami isn't for you. However, if you're looking for somewhere with great communal facilities, comfy beds, clean bathroom facilties and at an affordable price I would definitely recommend ami. I stayed here for one week and found it to be hugely enjoyable. Easy to talk to other guests, often from various locations around the world, great location and helpful staff. Bedroom was basic but comfy, breakfast was basic but fillinv, free hot drinks all day amd a great hill outside for sledging!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Property: AMI Hotel Tromso
Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AMI Hotel Tromso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing