We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMI Hotel Tromso
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We loved our stay in Ami hotel. We had the bedroom under the roof and from there we had a beautiful view on the city and on the nothern lights!!! This hostel is very clean. breakfast ok. You can cook your food in the kitchen, this is very cheap and perfect. ther is anything you need. Computer, kitchen, living room, tea and coofee all day... It is 2 mins from the center and we could walk from the ferry(10 min). If we comeback in Tromso, we wil defenetly comeback here. Blanche et steph

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanche d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    104
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
72
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
306 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Very central location. The climb up the slope to reach Ami Hotel requires a little effort. Its a 3 story house and lugging suitcases up was another issue.

We loved the park in front of the hotel and also the hot chocolate machine in the common room. Breakfast is simple.

Very convenient. Book much in advance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJohnWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

I liked this hotel. It was a low price for Norway and was only a couple blocks from the center no more than a five minute walk. To get there you have to walk up several flights of stairs through a park. The view is pretty but I imagine in the snow and ice it's not an easy climb. The rooms are clean but basic and small. We had a room with a private bath. The bathroom was also small, but all the rooms have refrigerators. There's no elevator. The common room is nice with free coffee and tea, a small kitchen and a tv and computer for guests to use. Also they have a complimentary breakfast that is nice but nothing fancy. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed our stay, and recommend this to anyone who wants a basic place to stay close to the city center especially if you want to save money by cooking your own meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jes0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

From the city center to reach the hotel, you need to climb the hill about 5 mins. Please be careful, it can be slippery especially during winter because of ice. This hotel is good for budget travellers and I think the cheapest hotel in town, considering Norway as a country with high living cost.Breakfast is included in the hotel price, and the breakfast buffet is very good.There is also coffee and hot drink provided can be consumed at any time.The room is considered ok, clean enough for me, good heating system and spacious for 2-3 persons.There is also kitchen if you want to cook your own meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very nice budget hotel in Tromsô, located close to the city center. Friendly and easy check-in over the phone. The rooms are smal but clean incl. free internet, flat TV and even a fridge.
There is also a guest kitchen and living room that can be used.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

5min walk down the hill to the center. Clean rooms, small but ok breakfast. Considering the prices in Norway this is a 'cheap' and good place to stay. Would definitely stay here again. Big plus is the kitchen. You can cook your own meals there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saka2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

It is a budget B&B in Tromsø, very close to city center and public transport.

Free wireless internet.

Breakfast is included in the price. Guests have access to shared kitchen as well.

I was surprised to find hair-dryer & flat screen TV in my room.

On top of that our room was serviced in our two night stay and we received fresh towels as well.
We were on Holiday and I regreted a bit that why didn't I book something better!

The house could use complete renovation and upgrading.

I don't mind small & old but this house was not classy/chic old but shabby old & a bit damp.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Property: AMI Hotel Tromso
Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — AMI Hotel Tromso 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your AMI Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing