We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheap base ”
Review of AMI Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMI Hotel Tromso
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

It's pretty much all been said already.
If you want somewhere cheap, clean, warm and central with all the basics and a good breakfast then this is your place. If you're looking for luxury then it's probably not.
It is essentially an excellent quality hostel rather than a hotel. Go with that expectation and all will be fine. The free hot drinks were a big bonus.
The only negative point was the thinness of the walls. Loud chatting and noises that should be private could all be heard from neighbouring rooms - take some ear plugs and you won't care.
Other than that all was very good.
Tips:-
It was snowy and as AMI is at the top of a small but steep slope I really appreciated my yaktrax ice grips. If you stick to the main path next to the road you may find it a little easier to walk than than the park steps or path as it is mainly gritted.
The bus situation at the airport was a little confusing. Mainly due to lack of signs and a little language barrier. The local buses are great and stop right near the hotel. So when you reach the exit at the airport go down one floor, straight across the underground car park, across the small road and wait at that bus stop. You want bus number 40. Sit on the right hand side. You'll pass the main bus station, climb a hill through a nice residential area and pass the lake on your left. On the way back down the hill as soon as you see the park on your right look up and AMI will be well lit at the top. This is where you want to get off.
The lake mentioned above is a good spot to wait for the Northern Lights if you're not on a trip and saving some pennies.
If back in Tromso would happily stay at this good value place again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were a group of students staying for two nights. The beautiful view from the 4-bed room was brilliant. Moreover, the bed sheets, towels and breakfast in the price of the room !!! Our room was spacious and there was TV with norwegian movies. What more, the well-equipted common kitchen and free coffee automat made our day. If I were you, I would definitely go for this option. The comfort, home-feeling and nice environment. Oh, I forgot to mention the Wifi :-)

Room Tip: The 4-bed rooms have a view of the downtown park and the mountains in the background. - Worth if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at Ami for 3 nights. Besides being very reasonably priced for Tromso, its location is the best! Our room window had a view of the city, the bridge , arctic cathedral and the cable car station. What more would you want other than being cosy and warm in your room with a view of the city ?
Its so centrally located that we could pop in and out whenever.
The breakfast is good if you dont mind cold continental breakfast. There are hot beverages throughout the day and night and free wifi!
We had an excellent stay at Ami and would definately return there if we visit Tromso again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElviCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife & myself stay for 3 nights on the 3rd level with a nice view overlooking the mountains(room 37, If I did not mistaken). In fact, we saw the lights on our last night from the luxury of our room. We ask for a room with a view, we got it. All thanks to AMI.
The breakfast was good & filling. You can also fry. If you chose to pack, ziploc pack provided! Coffee was good. You can even bring your own coffee powder.
I guess the minus points would be no lifts & the hotel is on the hill, a steep climb up. Plus the icy pathway does not help.
Overall, it is a good place to stay

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view, at the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patchoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The location is perfect and the atmosphere is great, specially during winter. The price is not that great but comparing with other places, this is the best catch... I had to reserve a whole room so I only stayed for 2 nights, the place was clean and its worth every krona you pay for.
Tip: if you are looking for an Aurora Borealis hunt, this is the place to begin... if you are really really lucky, you can have glimpses of the northern lights!

Room Tip: Higher floors are perfect to check the weather if you are going out to see the northern lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolasRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at AMI Hotel for 4 days in September. It is a lovely, small hotel. Very relaxed, nice ambience, the breakfast was good. The room had an excellent view out over the town and to the mountains on the other side of the water.

Our room was on the third floor and there is no lift which might be a problem for mobility impaired travellers.

It's close to the centre of town - only a few minutes walk to things like the visitor's centre, restaurants, shops etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. We recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a view and got one, but I don't know if this is necessary - other rooms may have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed as a single traveller in December 2012. I was a bit apprehensive about the 'long uphill walk' based on previous reviews, but found this to be more than manageable - I even managed to lug my suitcase up the icy hill in the midst of winter, so this wasn't so bad at all.

I was also surprised at how centrally the hotel is located - while maps and previous reviews indicate it as being sort of on the periphery of the town, it is within very easy walking distance of everything in the town centre.

While maybe a bit more of a bnb / high grade hostel than a hotel, I found the facilities more than adequate, and of a high standard. The internet access was great, and breakfast quite adequate - the coffee machine was a real plus!

Would definitely recommend for single travellers, though many couples and families about during my stay. Will definitely stay there again if I'm ever lucky enough to visit Tromso again...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justdanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Enter Amalie Hotel
Enter Amalie Hotel
#14 of 18 in Tromso
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#5 of 18 in Tromso
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMI Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMI Hotel Tromso

Address: Skolegata 24, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AMI Hotel Tromso 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with reasonable prices and views. Quiet neighborhood in the city center. Single, double and family rooms with shared and privat bathrooms, breakfast included. Ideal for travelers that want affordable accommodation. Cooking facilities in common kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ami Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing