We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AMI Hotel Tromso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
82
104
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
104
26
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights for a last minute birthday trip. The hotel itself is just above a park and we arrived to snow and winter darkness even though it was only 3pm and the view from the hotel which was revealed the next day is great.

The hotel stay was for bed and breakfast and there was cereal, bread, cheese, waffles, hard boiled eggs. The hotel also does has a free tea, coffee and chocolate machine in the guests kitchen which was really good.

The good thing about this hotel was the guest kitchen which we used whilst in Tromso to cut down on the cost of eating out. The lounge and dinning area made it a very sociable meeting place and we met people from around the world. Here we swapped trip advice and sightseeing info etc ... This style of hotel would be good if you were travelling on your own and in fact several people staying were doing just that.

We hope to go back again and consider this hotel a really good find.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodlandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Thank goodness there is a reasonably priced accomm option in Tromso!! We stayed one night in a double room with shared bathroom and had a great stay.

The room was clean & spacious and even had a sink, tv & fridge! Our shared bathroom was clean & i never had to wait to use the toilet or shower. Breakfast was good & the kitchen had plenty of gear but only one stove so you may have a short wait at peak times. There were free hot drinks all day - yummy hot chocs.

Location is also very good. The hotel is up a hill but the path was well gritted so we had no problems with the ice & snow even when carrying our big packs.

I also stayed at City Living for a couple of nights (excellent but more expensive) however I would recommend saving your money and going with AMI instead.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We stayed there for 5nights and found it was very basic and simple but
comfortable.Since in Norway,everything is so expensive that we sometimes cooked there.The breakfast was good,they even offererd free hot drink (coffee,tea,chocolate...)all day.There was a slope just in front of the hotel,kids enjoyed sliding on the snow with sledge(I don't know what it is called) which you can borrow from hotel .We went Tromso to see northan light.We joined tour and although aurora activity forecast said that acvivity was very quiet ,we had a chance to watch it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed there for two nights just before New Year and enjoyed our stay very much. The location of the hotel as well as the whole "concept" is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveliina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here with a family group of adults for a long weekend when we hoped to see the Northern Lights. The Hotel used to be a training school and is well organised to make the stay as easy as possible for travellers. The rooms vary, ours was small and cramped but others were bigger. No matter really 'cos all we did in our rooms was sleep and get dressed etc. The main thing is they were clean and warm. Downstairs the communal areas included a comfy lounge with TV and internet, an adjoining dinng area and use of an extremely well equippped kitchen. Eating out is very expensive here so we were pleased to be able to buy pasta and stuff from the local store and get a decent meal every day without breaking the bank. The location couldn;t be better, town centre was a 5 minute walk away and being on top of a hill the views are good. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great with travellers chatting to each other and passing on tips about what to do, where to go etc. We tried two trips for the Northern Lights. We didn't rate the Northern Lights Bus at all. We felt cheated 'cos the driver made it obvious he didn't expect to see the lights that night yet didn't call it off and refund our money. So we paid £65 each to sit on a bus for a 4 hour round trip. When we got to our destiantion we got off the bus and stood for less than 20 minutes before he said no lights tonight, time to go. We didn't even get the promised hot drink and biscuits! None of the 16 passengers that night were impressed. Two nights later we tried the (www.lyngsfjord.com) dog sledding trip. It was amazing fun and the Northern Lights showed themselves to us at the end of a fantastic adrenalin fuelled ride. The Samis looked after us and fed us and gave us a night to remember for the rest of our lives. Worth every penny. Don't miss the cable car, spectacular views at the top.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Highastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews