We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed a night after escape from construction site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersGold level
Sistranda, Norway
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stayed a night after escape from construction site”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent my 3rd and last night on business trip at the Edge. Friendly and accomodating staff.
Phone not hooked up, Fridges in hallway to be installed. Really good breakfast.
Nice hearth to welcome and warm you after getting chilled soaking in the last rays at Skarven , just around the corner. Nice soup in the restaurant. Nice architectual setting near the Coastal steamer dock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Steven,

Thank you so much for your review, and for choosing Clarion Hotel The Edge.
We always try to improve and we promise to work hard to be better.

We hope to see you again :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    451
    103
    29
    19
See reviews for
204
570
72
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sortland, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The newest hotel in Tromsø is awesome. Not 100% finished yet, but good enuff. Very good location, Since I am a Gold member I was upgraded to a suite on the 6.floor. The view was very excelent. I'll be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HStian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Stian,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the hotel's opening weekend.

The view from the room in the fourth floor was a bit disappointing. The location of the hotel is as close to the ocean as you can get, but still our room just had partial ocean view, and I still think there are a lot rooms with even less view. The room's interior was stylish and adequate in size. Big shower.

Some start problems which probably will get better with time. E.g. didn't the front desk phone work, so it was hard to find out about practical questions as check out time (which wasn't stated anywhere in the hotel room). Also quite much noise from the party in the lobby even on the fourth floor.

The breakfast was great. Varied and with homemade omelets.

All in all a good hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sigurd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Sigurd,

Thank you very much for your feedback after your stay at Clarion Hotel The Edge.
This is very important to us as we always work to improve our services.
I apologize for the inconvenience with your stay, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast.

We promise to continue to work hard to be better, and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel 6 to 8 of May. It was far from finished and had some troubles.

Im a Gold member at Choice hotel so Im supposed to be upgraded. When I arrived i got a room in the 5 floor With a view to a brick wall and a air condition that was very noisy. The window was very dirty and hasnt been cleaned.

I went to the reception and asked for a New room. This time i got a room in the 7 th floor , With the the smallest bathroom I ever have seen. The window was ( very) dirty here as well, and just outside my room it was a airdrier machine that was very noisy ( they dried up the carpet beacuse they had a water leakage just before)

I went to the reception again..and said this is unacceptable. I told them I was a Gold member and was supposed to be upgraded and I just got bad rooms. I got a big excuse and got upgraded to a reallynice and huge room ( 903 ) in the corner With view over the Ocean on both sides. I even got a treat , Kaia the receptionist come up to my room With some snacs and a few beers. So in the end it was good service and Kaia did a good job ( The Danish man in the receptionist did a bad job)

Anyway when the hotel is finished and "runned in"I think it will be the best in Tromsoe. Now its not.

Room Tip: High up in the building facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huttiheita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your review.
This is very important to us as we always work to improve our services.
I’m very sorry about moving you around to different rooms.
We take this feedback very seriously and we promise to improve our service at the hotel.
And as a Gold member you will always be upgraded if possible.
Very glad to hear that Kaja delivered good service and I will make sure that she gets the information.

We promise to continue to work hard to be better, and we hope we can welcome you back as our guest in the future.


Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Offfice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.1 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel The Edge

Property: Clarion Hotel The Edge
Address: Kaigata 6, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel The Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2014, this central Tromso hotel is located at the harbour, overlooking Tromso Sound and the Arctic Cathedral. It features free Wi-Fi, modern rooms and on-site dining. Contemporary furnishings are featured in all rooms at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as well as a large flat-screen TV and desk. The bathrooms include a shower and hairdryer. Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson restaurant serves New York-style dishes made from local ingredients. Guests can book access to a nearby gym. Polaria Aquarium and the 19th-century wooden Tromso Cathedral are both within 300 metres of the hotel. Tromso Airport is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing