We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience! Rooms were great with robes and slippers waiting for weary travelers. Breakfast was great as well. Location is right by the water. No problem with noise. They just started Segway tours from the hotel. They also were most helpful in allowing my husband to arrange for a birthday cake to be waiting for us in our room when we arrived. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for your kind review.
We love making guests happy and I am delighted to see that we delivered service with passion.

Segway is really fun - I hope you got the chance to drive.

We really look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a great summer :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Edge is brand new and absolutely gorgeous! With great views of the mountains and water and spectacular service, you'll absolutely love this hotel! It serves one of the best free breakfasts I've ever had in my world travels and actually lasts until 11:00 AM! A HUGE perk when you want to sleep in on vacation (most hotel breakfasts end long before that).
It's also right next door to the northernmost shopping mall in the world (Nerstranda Senter). Sadly we didn't discover it until the last day, but it's a fantastic place to shop, eat and stroll around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamWillieWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Pete & Deborah,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our breakfast and service.
<one of the best breakfasts> - Thank you so much, we really appreciate it :)

Nerstranda is a wonderful shopping mall. Tromsø in general offers great shopping - from locally made specialities to international and Nordic brands.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
And I will be more than happy to inform you more about all shopping facilities that Tromsø has to offer.

Have a great summer =)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I understand this is a new property and that they are experiencing some teething problems, but I waited 50 minutes for a Ceasar salad in the lobby bar and did not receive an apology - there was two other guests besides me, so not very busy. When I finally received my salad it had mango and a fried egg in it?! Thats hardly a Ceasar salad at all?! This is subject to my personal opinion - but I like places that respects the classics.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit at Clarion Hotel The Edge.
There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced.

We greatly value your feedback and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to show you service with passion (that we stand for) and which you have every right to expect.

Have a great summer =)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

exellent hotel in a beatiful city , quite hotel at the quay in Tromsø exellent food and clean rooms this is the best hotel i have stayed at in Tromsø and when i am going back i will sertenly book at this hotel.

Room Tip: roon to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tage E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Tage,

Thank you for writing about us on Tripadvisor.
I am very glad that you enjoyed our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a great summer!=)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Its new - but, the handle in my bathroom fell off, the insulation under the door was loose. The air-condition valve is fixed in the bathroom with duct tape. And the bathroom has a smell, can not tell if its mold or not.
The staff is polite and breakfast not bad for Norway, but just normal. Room of course is new and I had a nice view from the top floor. It takes an hour to get hot water out of the shower. Normal modern business hotel with a 3-4 star flair. No fitness facilities in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review.
We always listen to our guests and we appreciate that you are pointing out things we can do better.
We hope to see you again sometime.

Have a great summer =)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel itself looks abseloutly gorgous, from the outside to everything inside. The check in took some time, seems like the staff were quite new. The rooms were clean and very nice, you couldn`t hope for a better room. The breakfast was very standard, but it was quite good. If you plan on visiting Tromsø This is the place for you, it`s as central as you can get. you have everything you want around you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlillegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Vlillegård,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We really appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Have a great summer :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The minute we arrived we fell in love with this place. Really nice location by the harbor, and the hotel is clearly a passion and no expense has been spared.
Every single aspect of the hotel was wonderful. The check-in was spot on with the very friendly receptionist making us feel so ease and welcome. We got a room up in 12th floor with a fantastic view over the city. The room was beyond belief with so much attention to detail and thought put into it. We loved the room!

We had our dinner at restaurant at the hotel, Kitchen & Table, which served us excellent food to a reasonable price. A must whether you stay at the hotel or not while you are in Tromso. After the dinner we went down to the lounge area and had some cocktails, which were really tasty.

The morning after we ate at the huge breakfast buffet with the best selections we have ever seen. We liked that the hotel did offer products from local suppliers, which also had a high quality. At the breakfast buffet they even had a chef ready to make omelets and pancakes upon request.

This has to be the best hotel in Tromso, and among the top in Norway, no doubt about it.
The only shame is that we had only had 1 night, but we will be back, for sure!! Thank you Clarion Hotel the Edge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Chloe,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing Clarion Hotel The Edge.
I'm really pleased to hear that you loved our hotel and service.
We promise to continue work hard to be even better.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to us :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.1 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel The Edge

Address: Kaigata 6, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £118 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel The Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2014, this central Tromso hotel is located at the harbour, overlooking Tromso Sound and the Arctic Cathedral. It features free Wi-Fi, modern rooms and on-site dining. Contemporary furnishings are featured in all rooms at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as well as a large flat-screen TV and desk. The bathrooms include a shower and hairdryer. Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson restaurant serves New York-style dishes made from local ingredients. Guests can book access to a nearby gym. Polaria Aquarium and the 19th-century wooden Tromso Cathedral are both within 300 metres of the hotel. Tromso Airport is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Nordic Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing