We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food, poor room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the first look we really liked that hotel: newly built, modern furnishing and centrally located. Luckily we got a room on the top floor with an excellent view on the sea side, towards the Mount Storsteinen (you can reach it with cable car - great place to watch stunning panorama of Tromso!!). I was also positively surprised with rich food and beverage menu at the breakfast buffet topped with freshly made pancakes and omelettes on guest wish...

Sounds pretty good right? What I found odd considering the hotel standard is following:
(1) double bed room had 2 single beds, which were sliding apart = no hugging for couples..
(2) key card was not working properly and we had to spend some time when leaving the room to make sure it closed properly. We also had a problem to access our room, which was later fixed at the reception.
(3) a little detail - bathroom has no hangers for drying towels (low-hanging rail under basin isn't practical)
(4) staff is very friendly and helpful. But be prepared to spend some extra time to get served at the
bar or restaurant.

Overall score between average and very good. I would recommend to visit, but if you travel in two, check your bed first! :-)

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kinga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Kinga
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your honest and helpful review. We appriciate it greatly, as we do our best every day to meet (and exceed) our guests expectations. I am therefor sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with your room, but I am happy to hear about your positive experiences, and that you would recommend other guests to make us a visit.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a suite on the 9th floor at the very "edge" of the hotel with my girlfriend. Great standards with an amazing view. Very good breakfast. Polite and helpfull staff. Rented a segway outside of the hotel for an hour. Good fun! Will visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.
So fun to hear that you rented segway and that you enjoyd your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great new hotel. Room was fabulous- we had a Junior Suite on 9th floor which had a 215 degree view due to its triangular shape on the edge of the building). Staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was the best and restaruant food was good (if a little pricey).
Location for the town centre is great and despite this, it was quiet (good glazing) although it was holiday time for students and we were on 9th floor. AC worked well as it was hot some days and with so much glass, it might have been very hot in the room. Treat yourself !

Room Tip: Room facing south down the Fiord towards the mountains-high up as you can get and if you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our rooms and food.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to us :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First, the room was fantastic. Views right out across Tromso and across the water. What's more, this was a free upgrade. Second, the breakfast was amazing. It really has everything. Finally, when I wanted to make a few changes (such as staying additional nights, etc., it was all no problem).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jrmsubsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø. We are happy to read your appraisal of our rooms, food and service =)

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

New hotel opened May 2014. Nicely placed almost in the ocean and neighbour to the very famous and highly recommended pub and restaurant house Skarven. Has a fantastic seaview and also you can see the snowwhite mountains nearby.
The staff is serviceminded and I will also recommend the restaurant and of course the roof top lunch bar with an even more fantastic view.

Room Tip: High up will give you an even better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Erik

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.
We are happy to read your appraisal of our service, restaurant and view :)

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is 5 minutes from the Hurtigruten terminal and thus very convenient. The hotel opened in May 2104 , it is a modern building, 11th floor, no charm but beautiful panorama views once inside, at least from our corner suite! reception can be very busy but on the whole helpful if you need service ( reservation of taxi or restaurant) but this is Norway so don't expect too much! Breakfast buffet is excellent. But why so dark and low ceiling in the restaurant, when most of the time it is grey and dark outside in this part of the world? excellent wifi and fun sky roof bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Christine,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø. We are delighted to read your appraisal of our skybar and breakfast.
We always listen to our guests and we appreciate that you are pointing out things we can do better.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family reunion party was held at The Edge. Booking rooms went smoothly and the rooms we got were great, clean and tidy. We lived in a suite. The beds were just right. The bathroom was large and the showers were good. Breakfast offer had everything (omeletts, pancakes, all kinds of bread, cereals, juices, vegetables, salads. . The staff were perfect helpers with the event. Only thing to complain about was the main course of the meal. The meat was overcooked :(
Good location, next to a shopping center, restaurants. Bus from the airport is just next by.
Fresh free newspapers from the reception desk. We will stay at this hotel next time in Tromso.

Room Tip: Junior suites give you av view of the Harbor to the north and the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.

We always listen to our guests and we appreciate that you are pointing out things we can do better.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us :)


Best regards,
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.1 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel The Edge

Address: Kaigata 6, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £123 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel The Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2014, this central Tromso hotel is located at the harbour, overlooking Tromso Sound and the Arctic Cathedral. It features free Wi-Fi, modern rooms and on-site dining. Contemporary furnishings are featured in all rooms at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as well as a large flat-screen TV and desk. The bathrooms include a shower and hairdryer. Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson restaurant serves New York-style dishes made from local ingredients. Guests can book access to a nearby gym. Polaria Aquarium and the 19th-century wooden Tromso Cathedral are both within 300 metres of the hotel. Tromso Airport is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing