We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning inside & out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning inside & out”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Edge looks great from the outside, has stunning views and is beautifully designed. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food and drinks are fab, and it's ideally located to explore Tromso or for transferring to Hurtigruten cruises. Top marks. I hope we get to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodBodBods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience.

We really hope to see you again sometime =)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    462
    107
    30
    20
See reviews for
211
581
74
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is brand new, right in the middle of Tromsø, with a view towards mountains and the Hurtigrute terminal. The hotel is right next to the popular spot "Skarven" and it´s excellent seafood restaurant Arcandria. The hotel is really comfortable and has many nice spaces to relax or work. The room we had was not massive, but it had all the amenities we needed, including a very comfotable bed. As a tip to the hotel, I would recommend them to mount more towel racks in the bathroom, as there was nowhere to hang the towels when we stayed. The hotel has a roof-top bar, and when we stayed the weather was amazing, making the bar a hot spot in Tromsø. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.

We always listen to our guests, and we appriciate the tip regarding towel racks.

We really look forward to welcoming you back =)

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel at the beginning of our holidays in Northern Norway. First impression was great, with a very warm welcome from Veronica, who was more than helpful in getting us checked in. The room was lovely, great view, really comfortable bed and nicely furnished. Just what you want when you are on holidays. We had read good reviews regarding the breakfast, and we were not disappointed, the setting is lovely, and the food outstanding. Great choice and plentiful. The location of the hotel is perfect. The airport shuttle bus dropped us practically at the door. The hotel is situated by the water, and perfect for any sightseeing around Tromso. Loved our stay in Tromso, which was enhanced by finding a gem of a hotel. Will hopefully return at some point.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.
We are delighted to read your appraisal of our view, beds and breakfast. Thank you =)

Very glad to hear that Veronica delivered good service and I will make sure that she gets the information.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the first look we really liked that hotel: newly built, modern furnishing and centrally located. Luckily we got a room on the top floor with an excellent view on the sea side, towards the Mount Storsteinen (you can reach it with cable car - great place to watch stunning panorama of Tromso!!). I was also positively surprised with rich food and beverage menu at the breakfast buffet topped with freshly made pancakes and omelettes on guest wish...

Sounds pretty good right? What I found odd considering the hotel standard is following:
(1) double bed room had 2 single beds, which were sliding apart = no hugging for couples..
(2) key card was not working properly and we had to spend some time when leaving the room to make sure it closed properly. We also had a problem to access our room, which was later fixed at the reception.
(3) a little detail - bathroom has no hangers for drying towels (low-hanging rail under basin isn't practical)
(4) staff is very friendly and helpful. But be prepared to spend some extra time to get served at the
bar or restaurant.

Overall score between average and very good. I would recommend to visit, but if you travel in two, check your bed first! :-)

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kinga
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your honest and helpful review. We appriciate it greatly, as we do our best every day to meet (and exceed) our guests expectations. I am therefor sorry about the inconvenience you experienced with your room, but I am happy to hear about your positive experiences, and that you would recommend other guests to make us a visit.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a suite on the 9th floor at the very "edge" of the hotel with my girlfriend. Great standards with an amazing view. Very good breakfast. Polite and helpfull staff. Rented a segway outside of the hotel for an hour. Good fun! Will visit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø.
So fun to hear that you rented segway and that you enjoyd your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great new hotel. Room was fabulous- we had a Junior Suite on 9th floor which had a 215 degree view due to its triangular shape on the edge of the building). Staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was the best and restaruant food was good (if a little pricey).
Location for the town centre is great and despite this, it was quiet (good glazing) although it was holiday time for students and we were on 9th floor. AC worked well as it was hot some days and with so much glass, it might have been very hot in the room. Treat yourself !

Room Tip: Room facing south down the Fiord towards the mountains-high up as you can get and if you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our rooms and food.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to us :)

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
marianne.hoybakk@choice.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First, the room was fantastic. Views right out across Tromso and across the water. What's more, this was a free upgrade. Second, the breakfast was amazing. It really has everything. Finally, when I wanted to make a few changes (such as staying additional nights, etc., it was all no problem).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmsubsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel The Edge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to The Edge and Tromsø. We are happy to read your appraisal of our rooms, food and service =)

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Tromsø.

Please feel free to contact me at marianne.hoybakk@choice.no.

Best regards
Marianne Høybakk
Welcome Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel The Edge

Property: Clarion Hotel The Edge
Address: Kaigata 6, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel The Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2014, this central Tromso hotel is located at the harbour, overlooking Tromso Sound and the Arctic Cathedral. It features free Wi-Fi, modern rooms and on-site dining. Contemporary furnishings are featured in all rooms at Clarion Hotel The Edge, as well as a large flat-screen TV and desk. The bathrooms include a shower and hairdryer. Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson restaurant serves New York-style dishes made from local ingredients. Guests can book access to a nearby gym. Polaria Aquarium and the 19th-century wooden Tromso Cathedral are both within 300 metres of the hotel. Tromso Airport is 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel The Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing