We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”
Review of Enter Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enter Viking Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed only one night in Tromso Viking hotel. Our room was a little bit small, as well as the bathroom. There was almost no space for our luggage, but the hotel service is nice, it was clean, and had good breakfast. It is close to the downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rossitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Enter Viking Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Small hotel close to downtown Tromso. Helpful staff, small rooms. Rooms recently redecorated, communal areas somewhat dated. Good base for a couple of nights - cheaper than the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_in_Tunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The apartments, are okay, but it is a very nosiy street, to be located on, so if you are looking for a quiet good nights sleep, this is not the place to be! Also Mr. Jensen is a very shady business man. We needed to leave a day early, and told him 36 hours in advance, and he said he would post the apartment as available, come to find out from another staff memeber he never posted it as available. After checking out and closing our account a day early, he went back and charged us for the night we told him we wouldn't be there....plus we found out he actually rented the room out to someone else that night.....,....double dipping, and dishonest......WOW!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lieto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in this great hotel. I booked one of the small apartments but due to a mixup we got a double room for the first night. The rooms are nice and comfortable if a bit small. The beds are fine but also rather slim. The bathroom is well equipped and has floor heating.
The receptionist is very friendly and helpful, he gave us lots of information about the city. Once we discovered the mixup, he offered us the biggest apartment for the price I paid for the small apartment for our second night. The biggest apartment is 43 m2 and a real beauty with fireplace, well equipped kitchen, big flatscreen TV and view of the mountains.
Location couldn't be better, the hotel is in the center of town and you can easily reach all there is to see by foot.
Price is really good considering that the hotel is in North Norway. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiraneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Centraly located good hotel. Rooms are bit small, but clean and beds are good. Very good breakfast. Helpfull staff. Parking only on the street, which is not free.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

just back from my second trip to tromso norway and it was amazing.
to make it all the more special was the viking hotel apartments..
i stayed 3 nights with my mate and my parents for a late christmas gift and we had a fab time.
the apartments were excellent 3 bedrooms,fully fitted kitchen,large lounge with a very large tv,dvd and hifi although as we were out all the time we didnt use them
it is like home from home
heated floors and enough towels to dry the whole of tromso
the service from mr Jensen is second to non and he will advise on all your needs and tours. trust me when i say this is truly a great location to stay as it was my second time at viking hotel and i will not be my last

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m270869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Perfect small but quality city hotel. Clean, modern, comfortable room with great bathroom. Tasty and plentiful breakfast (and on the day I left they opened breakfast early for me so I could eat in time to catch my early flight). Great staff, friendly, know all the local info and willing to help with anything - and the Northern Lights guide they use will give you the very best chance of seeing them (ask for Iver who is great and at 650 kr the best price around). Location is a quiet street just 50m from the start of the main shopping and sightseeing street, 10 mins from the water. Tromso is a small but lively city, pretty, lots to see and do, and perfect for Northern Lights, husky sleighing, and clean air/mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrphanoftheStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Enter City Hotel
Enter City Hotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter Viking Hotel

Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £72 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Enter Viking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Enter Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing