We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just spent a fantastic week staying in an apartment here over Christmas. The airport shuttle bus dropped us right outside the hotel. The English speaking staff were welcoming, friendly and assisted with our every request. Reception had a candle-lit seating area and wide screen television playing the world news, and a bar serving tea, coffee and alcohol. On arrival we were pleasantly suprised with a free upgrade to a larger apartment, which was located in a separate building next to the hotel, with an outdoor staircase leading up to the top floor - it was just like having our own penthouse flat. We had our own front door with good security, a sizeable kitchen / living area, a separate bedroom with ensuite bathroom and walk-in wardrobe. The well-equipped kitchen allowed us to cook a range of meals all week, even a full Christmas day dinner! All crockery and utensils were brand new, a full size fridge freezer was provided, and the user friendly oven worked excellently. We were even supplied with bin bags for both the kitchen and bathroom so we could keep it clean, there was a handy wheelie bin located outside. The living area had a very comfortable L-shaped sofa with blanket, a wide screen television with good selection of channels, a brand new dvd player, even candles on the table. The bedroom was spacious with a clean and comfortable double bed, a spare supply of fresh cotton sheets also provided. The bathroom had a great shower with constant hot water supply and numerous clean towels located in the cupboards. The adjustable heaters made the apartment super warm, there was good lighting and plug socket supply throughout. The apartment idea is great for those wanting a bit of independence whilst on holiday. There was a large supermarket and shopping centre located a 5 minute walk away, offering a good range of fresh food and all other required shopping. The main town with its amenities was a short walk way, very easy to navigate our way around without a car, a great range of shops and restaurants on offer. On departure reception printed off our boarding cards and booked us a taxi, super service. We met 3 different members of staff during our stay, all English speaking, friendly and very helpful - they were there day and night and always with a smile. They gave us recommendations on day trips, restaurants etc. They booked us on a very successful northern lights trip, an amazing experience. We even saw the northern lights from our front door one evening. All in all we cannot fault this lovely little hotel, we had a fantastic stay and will definately return. We have stayed in many places over the years and this is certainly one of the best. Thank you Viking Hotell for the best holiday we have ever had, you really made it special for us!

Room Tip: Apartments are good for those wanting a bit of independence during their stay, top floor rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    163
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
113
152
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I really appreciate how hard this hotel is trying, and I think I would recommend it based on price, location near city center, and excellent staff, but there are a few issues with it. The main thing for us is that the lock on our room was broken and so our key wouldn’t work. They had to order a replacement, so for our whole stay we had to ask the front desk person to let us into our room (on the 4th floor) every time we went out. The bed and pillows were older and not the most comfortable as well.

The renovated bathroom was very nice, especially the excellent shower, however, the main part of the room was fairly run down. Breakfast was good and they had complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby, which is very nice. The main saving grace of this hotel were the employees, who were all very friendly and professional and willing to help in any way. They allow guests to use their laundry facility when housekeeping is done for the day, which is really helpful, and they never had an attitude that any request was too much trouble. It is also good that the front desk is open 24 hours, since many Tromso tourists are there to see the Northern Lights, which often means coming in quite late.

For the price compared to other hotels in Tromso, I am very pleased with our stay at the Viking and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We decided to stay in one of their hotel apartments, it was smaller than we had thought (after seeing the pictures on their internet site) but it served the purpose well (mum, dad and two boys (6 and 14). Grocery store is a block away and we bought our breakfast raw materials there and ate in the apartment. It is only a 5 or so minute walk into the town center and as such it is a little quieter, which was perfect for us. The apartment felt a little tired but not to the point where we were disappointed. The owner was great, he help arrange some excursions and gave a lot of insider knowledge on the local area, top marks. I'm 50/50 on whether we would return, but having just said that, for the price point of this hotel in Tromso I believe we would return as it represented the best value for money that we could find on the internet, if I had more money to spend then perhaps I'd look else where.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just back from a week staying in two apartments, a studio and a three bedroomed, in the Viking hotel. There were seven of us travelling together so this arrangement suited us perfectly. Both apartments were finished and equipped to a very high standard, a home from home.. The beds were the essence of comfort, hard to leave in the dreary November mornings!The central location is perfect, a ten minute walk to most public transport stops and adventure pick up points, The staff are so friendly and professional, they went to endless trouble to help us book trips and find information . They helped make our stay truly memorable.we cannot thank them enough for all their help. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martik239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We travelled to Norway in January. We mainly went for my partners birthday and to hopefully see the Northern Lights.
I wish we had just stayed a few days in Tromso as after one night in the hotel we knew we had to stay for a full week.
When we arrived at the hotel it looked really nice and cosy. We went into the reception area and the man behind the desk greeted us. While checking us in he commented that our room was very small and would we like to upgrade to a bigger room for £60 a night. We had already paid £600 each for our hotel and flights so we said no. We felt as if the room we had booked was no good before we even seen it. Anyway we up to the room and it was no bigger than my single bedroom at home. The bed was no way a double and we both stuggled to sleep in it. For the money we paid I feel as though the room was not up to scratch.

Our holiday in norway would have been better if we stayed somewhere else, but other than the accomodation it was fantastic. We went up to the top of the mountain on the cable cars which was fantastic but everything was very expensive. Take lots of spending money with you and look for deals in restaurants as you could end up paying through the teeth for a sandwich or bottle of beer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieDaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
192 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Had a nice time during our two nites in Tromsø. Super friendly reception both on the phone and in real life. Nice modern (small) room with the aforementioned heated bathroom floors. A few things I'd like to change: I wish the shower was a step up from the rest of the bathroom but the water didn't spill out much. We could have used an extra rack and hooks for towels and stuff. I'd like a top sheet in addition to the heavy duvet being the only cover. And a warm egg dish would be nice. All that said tho, the breakfast was decent, we were close to the main drag and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed only one night in Tromso Viking hotel. Our room was a little bit small, as well as the bathroom. There was almost no space for our luggage, but the hotel service is nice, it was clean, and had good breakfast. It is close to the downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing