We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Hotell Tromso
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for five nights 21 - 26 January 2014. Initially the place was fully booked but after a phone call the lovely staff got back in touch with me to say a cancellation had come up and we had a room! The staff cannot do enough to help you out. They speak perfect English, which is a great help when my Norweigan is 0. Very clean and well run. Breakfast is a mixture of meats, cheeses, muesli, toast, eggs, rolls and loads of coffee, tea and fruit juices, very good. All in all would stay again. Central to everything in Tromso.

Room Tip: Room 205 is above the breakfast room, so a little noisy at 6 or 7 in morning when they are setting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 272HellsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    163
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
113
152
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

All staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were spacious and had everything i needed. I loved the free waffles that came out after 3 pm and the free coffee and tea available. The rooms were clean and the hotel had a great location in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aztecrose84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived here having had an error with our booking for ABC (sister Hotel) late in the evening.
ABC did all they could for us and reduced the rate by 30% @ Viking for us to stay in and apartment.
We were made to feel welcome and once shown to the apartment then shown around with a map were to shop,eat and visit.,which bus to take ,where to buy cheaper bus tickets etc.
Staff were very helpfull and friendly.
Breakfast room could do with being twice the size it is,Currently able to seat 16 guests
We arrived 0845 and got the last table,after this another dozen guests arrived eating their food standing up (not ideal)
The info in the guest book was not upto date as the Internet worked once minute then dropped the signal the next.
One simple call to Reception sorted this.
However if trying to use the net to search its not the fastest especially if large images / files are sort.
The location is absolutely ideal to explore the town centre although this will not take too long.
We stayed 4 nights/ 5 days and had seen and been to all the tourist spots including walking across the bridge (1 mile each way) to the Arctic Cathedral.
The only real downside is the alley way leading to the apartments some 20m away from the main entrance to the Hotel.
This is narrow and badly lit.
Ice forms in the centre so you either take the risk on ice or straddle either side of the Ice as you enter or exit the alley way itself as it meets the main pavement (its very slippery here)

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would recommend an apartment as the cost of eating out is very expensive compared to most of Europe with the local supermarket is 100m away and the Butchers and ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syracusey2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as we wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance to the city which it is. The one bed apartment which I booked was not the one shown in the picture, but thank goodness it was on the top floor so this meant that we got no noise from above, we did however experience a little noise from below on one of the nights at 2am in the morning, the other thing to mention is that to get to some of the apartments you have to walk outside of the hotel itself , and then go down a narrow siding to some stairs as there is no lift, this would pose a problem if you are elderly or have a heart or breathing problem, then I would advise you to look elsewhere . On the plus side, it was ideally located within easy walking distance to everywhere even attractions, the staff were all very friendly and most helpful, and the afternoon waffles were an added bonus. If you are driving a car however parking is on a first come basis, which for us being there in late September was not an issue. On the whole we found it to be comfortable enough especially the beds.

Room Tip: go for top floor apartment less noise as walls are a little thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161LindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel December 2013 for 2 nights. We booked the trip very late, so we only stayed 2 nights here and 2 other nights in Smarthotel up the road. The room itself was very basic, but relatively spacious compared to Smarthotel. The room was clean, and enough room for our suitcases. We arrived by car, and luckily we were able to park in one of the three parking spaces the hotel had.
There were free tea and coffee on offer in reception all the time, and in the evening, guests are able to help themselves to waffles (which is good for travellers on a tight budget). Buffet breakfast in the morning had a good variety of cold meats, fish, breads etc The staff was always quick in refilling any empty buffet plates.
For the price of the hotel, the quality of the room/breakfast/services exceeded my expectation. The best asset was without a doubt the staff. Reception staff (a blonde girl) was incredibly helpful with organising our tours and even gave us tips as to where to go for the best view of the northern lights.
When we go back to Tromso, we will not hesitate to stay at the Viking Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Obviously we read the many reviews beforw booking and I had my fingers crossed that we would be happy. We stayed for two nights in one of the apartments (1 block up from the reception). The apartment was clean confortable and we lacked nothing. Gorgeous bathroom. Great location, close enough to walk to most places. The waffles in the afternoon were a huge hit with our kids. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would def recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment with the fiber optic lights above the spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I travelled to Tromsø for tours of the aurora borealis and had decided to stay here.My first impression was that it was very cramped.As we were walking down to our apartment, I noticed that I had to go through a very narrow and icy passage to get there. I had also noticed that the area surrounding my apartment was covered with cigarattes and remnants of trash. The stairs going down to my apartments were steep and covered with snow. It was small, cramped and the internet wasn't working . After discovering that the place had more cons than pros, we decided to look for another place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotell Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotell Tromso

Property: Viking Hotell Tromso
Address: Groennegata 18-20, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#6 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Hotell Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Hotel and Apartments offers accomodation for any guests in any situations. Single and double hotelrooms in traditional ways that includes a nice breakfast, though in a rather small breakfastarea. New and very popular apartments with 1-4 bedrooms, fully furnished and with kitchens ready to use as you wish (breakfast not included). Free internet access from both hotelrooms and apartments. Our serviceminded staff is always present in the lobby, offering our guests free coffee and tea :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotell Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotell Tromso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing