We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm and good value”
Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skansen Hotell
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, warm and good value”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at the Skansen from30th November to 4th December 2012 and found it excellent. It isn't the poshest place in the world, but as I've said on here many times, you get what you pay for, and by Norwegian standards the cost is very reasonable. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfy and the en-suite shower was a of a high standard. My favourite thing of all was the underfloor heating in the bathroom! I have never experienced underfloor heating before and it was such a novelty I took to standing on the lovely warm tiles in my bare feet with a big daft grin on my face! (Yes - OK - I know I need to get out more). The breakfast was good - you don't get an English breakfast, but why would you? You're in Northern Scandinavia. There was plenty of choice of spreads, juice, coffee, tea, bread, cold meats, and freshly boiled eggs etc. etc.
Super friendly and helpful young man on Reception when we checked in - Jonathon.
In my opinion there were two things missing which would have helped enormously. 1. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room - the coffee machine in Reception cost £1.50ish for half a cardboard cup of lukewarm very bad coffee. 2. A toaster in the dining room to toast the very nice bread they provide.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    35
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
35
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

http://www.skansenhotell.no/en/index.html
we contacted the hotel directly through their Mail form
got a timely reply ...
Our period of stay was during Midnight Sun Marathon , a very busy time in Tromso
last week of June - beginning of July
we could get an apartment ( different building ) but close ( 5mn walk ) to the main reception
we had the bed size we desired at decent rate ( long term discount )
We booked for 10 days.
They sent us confirmation by Email , with Bank details however never required a transfer
On arrival , we were asked if we wanted to pay upfront or at Check out ... I choose Check Out ...
the Apartment number 3 just up the stairs was as we have seen on Pictures online
Clean , spacious enough for 2, heater , TV with English Channels ( Could watch Euro 2012 Games )
underfloor heating in the shower room, quiet
Fry pan , cooking pot , plates , cups glasses and utensils for 2 , Water Boiler for Coffee .
We happened to see cleaning ladies making other rooms , we asked for cleaning and fresh towels ... all done properly !

We asked reception to take care of our laundry , they did .
We drop bag in morning; got clean fresh clothes back same day !

Will absolutely go back !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We got put into an apartment 'for 3 people', the third bed was just a old and shabby sofa not even sofa bed. The apartment was generally dark and tired looking. I can't review the rooms in the actual hotel but do not stay in the apartments attached to the hotel. We ended up staying at City Living, which was much better.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katrinawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tromso hotels

singapore
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Offers a good price for a very reasonable hotel. Rooms are small but clean. Nice and newly renovated bathrooms. But they need to do something about the shower flooding up the whole bathroom floor. Appreciate that the staff went out of their way to get us early breakfast after we told them that we have to leave by 6.15am. Location is 10 mins walk from town centre. Can be difficult to walk in snowy conditions if you have lots of luggage going to/from cruise port or bus terminal. They should highlight the restricted access after 11pm. We were not directly affected but did have to make sure that we get back before 11pm ( after dog sled activity) to pickup our stored luggage. But I will definitely not rate this shabby.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for contacts if you plan to arrive after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan_fromAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Skansen Hotel was below par even for a budget hotel.

On arrival at 11.30pm there was no-one in the hotel to greet us. We had to call a number and wait 30 mins in the freezing cold for someone to arrive and let us in. The fact that they close the doors at 11.00 was not relayed to us as part of our booking.

Our room was shabby: holes in the walls, peeling paint, sagging and very worn old mattress on third bed (a put you up bed), kitchenette with no plates, cups, cutlery, only a very old burnt cooking pot, no kettle, no tea making facilities of any description.

The lift didn't work, there was a paying tea and coffee machine in the lobby that was usually free in all other hotels we stayed in if the room didn't have these facilities. Not that you could get to it in the evening as they lock the reception.

We raised the issue of the poor bed with hotel staff to be given another very old, worn mattress to put on top of the old put you up bed.

I wouldn't usually highlight so many bad points on a review site, but I'd hate for another person's stay to be dampened by this hotel. Everything is so easy for them to fix and they just haven't bothered. Everywhere else we stayed on our travels in Norway, all within the same price range, were luxury compared to the Skansen and of a really great standard.

The only thing the Skansen Hotel has going for it is the location, it's a very short walk to the town centre. And the WiFi worked.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLucyLou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the apartments run by the hotel rather than the hotel itself. We had a first floor apartment which was great as we could see the Arctic cathedral out of the bedroom window, albeit between two houses! When we arrived, the original apartment we were given smelt of fish so we asked to move and they were very apologetic and helpful. The new one was fine: immaculately clean, big comfy sofa, lots of channels on the TV, very warm and nice underfloor heating in the shower room, airy and quiet. In terms of equipment it was bizarre; wine glasses but no kettle or sharp knife (we had to tear the really nice Norwegian bread we bought!!) and only one saucepan. But we felt that if we had really cared enough to ask they would have given us more stuff. they were just a little laid back; its not a Centerparcs inventory situation !! The apartment was just up the road from the nicest bit of the town centre so the location was good. There is a Thai restaurant opposite so we ate there on the first night. Tromso is very epensive and this wasn'tt too bad; about thirty quid for 2 courses. We also, I am ashamed to say, ate at Burger King one lunchtime tand that was 20 quid for the two of us. So having the apartment and self catering helped a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights after rejecting a studio apartment in another block run by this hotel. The studio was simply awful - very poky and small, and nowhere to put away your clothes! Also, it was up the street where the footpath (such as it was) was terribly icy and dangerous.

Having paid on arrival, it was a little bit awkward that I did not want to stay in the apartment. But the young man on reception gave me the last room available in the hotel itself. It was quite a large corner room overlooking the street - so no nice views. Room itself was nothing special, but comfortable enough with double bed, 2 chairs, 2 stools and a desk. Bathroom was quite large, although disconcerting because the blind was broken, which meant you had to shower and otherwise use the bathroom in full view of anyone in the building across the road. Ended up having to shower in the dark to preserve my modesty!

Breakfast was plentiful if a bit dull. 2 kinds of cereal, boiled eggs, bread, a few cold cuts and jams, as well as orange juice, tea and coffee.

The location is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town (and from the airport bus stop) and up a bit of a hill. Probably not an issue most of the time, but in the icy conditions I was nervous of slipping. The free wifi was great and the decor was quite pleasant. And I really appreciated being able to control the heating in the room.

My main gripe about the hotel is the total lack of cleaning. I stayed there 4 nights. When I mentioned my room had not been serviced on Day 2, the receptionist brought up clean towels. But other than towels, no cleaning or servicing was done at all during the four days!

Room Tip: As other reviewers have said, ask for a room with a view. But if the view is not important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Property: Skansen Hotell
Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing