We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Place for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality Place for the Price”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here in July 2011, a week before the bombing. The loaction is just alright, almost seems sketchy at one point walking there, but it was quiet. The room was small, but very comfortable with all the amenities one would need.
Since Oslo is super expensive, this was our best choice and we are happy we stayed there.
It's not super close to any sights, but we like to walk anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakbutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    795
    256
    78
    44
See reviews for
134
808
215
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Video Clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T8NfsEYZs4
Oslo is not cheap - especially accommodation but this hotel manages to be cheap(ish) but carries none of the traits that might go with a cheap hotel.
Location is brilliant - about 7minutes walk from the Central Station. Also on the road itself, there are a couple of clubs/bars and gets very busy on Fri & Sat nights! (But you won't hear any of this in your room)
You can pretty much walk everywhere from the hotel, including the bars/pubs as well as some sightseeing places. Just go for a wonder down the main road (Karl Johans Gate)
It is clean & modern and comfortable to a point. Like many other travellers who have mentioned, the single beds are slightly smaller than a 'normal' single bed - but that is the only 'fault' I could find in the room! This should not put you off from booking a room here (unless maybe you are an extra large person!). The beds themselves were comfortable enough.
The room itself is spacious enough (i.e. not a crazy amount of space, but enough to be comfortable in). It has been designed very well, with folding tables etc. They even have a fridge in the room to keep your drinks cool (there is no mini bar). The TV is a flatscreen - maybe 21 inches? & plenty of English Channels if you did want to watch TV (though a lot of old shows - think Baywatch era...) You can also connect your Ipod, MP3 player etc to the TV and play your music through the TV, which was great!

Bathroom - very clean, and slick with a decent shower (soap & shower gel/shampoo included) and also includes a hairdryer. Towels are provided.

For those of you staying more than a day, there is no room service, unless you wish to pay a bit more (around £12 for new towels, a bit more for a full room service)

Reading the reviews from previous travellers, some people seem to be complaining about the self-check-in. I actually liked it - it was quick & easy. Though if you do manage to get into any issues, there is always someone there and they are friendly! There were two girls we met who were always very helpful - about general info etc. There is a small gym in the hotel.

Free unlimited internet, tea and coffee are all included! There is a large dining are downstairs from the main reception, where you can warm up your own food should you wish.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, for its ease of use, convenient location, friendly staff, and price!

I was going to book some 4* hotels which were around the same price....BUT DON'T DO THIS. The cheaper 4* hotels are all located miles away from the centre of town, and you will pay a FORTUNE to travel into the centre of town! Even though this is a 3*, you're guaranteed a decent stay (assuming you are not looking for 5* luxury) within a great location!

A few other tips -
1.There is an information Centre a few minutes walk away (ungdoms informasjonen) 'Use-It' info centre where if you're under 27 (or look it) you get lots of free stuff.
2. Oslo Pass - You can get 24/48/72 hr pass which includes free entry to lots of museums and galleries (24 hour pass is £28ish). I'm not sure if this is worth it for two reasons - 1 being, most of the museums are free anyway (about 3 or 4 aren't) and NO - ONE ever checks for a ticket on public transport in the city centre - not even on the ferries (They do check on the trains in and out of the city!). However, if you plan to visit these 3 or 4 museums, then get the 24 hour pass, and make sure you visit these first, then visit all the others that are free. Also, believe it or not, you can even sneak into a museum - the security is so lax. I think the only place you can't get into sneakily is the Munch Gallery and to be honest, unless you are REALLY into art, just look at the pictures in a book, then pay to get in!!
3. If you don't get the Oslo 24/48/72 hr passes, then you can get a 24 hr travelcard (around £8ish) which will let you travel unlimited on all public transport, including ferries to the islands in the Oslo fjords. But like I've already said, no-one ever checks this tickets. Having said that, with recent events in Oslo (i.e. violence/bombs), this may change...

Go to Oslo...despite recent events...it's a city definitely worth visiting...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooSah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

my fiance an i stayed in the comfort xpress for our weekend break to Oslo. when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a friendly hello and we loved the decor. we were able to check in early for a small supplement which we greatly appreciated!the room was beautifully decorated and the beds were sooo comfortable!!!shower was powerful and bathrooms and rooms spotless!!also there was free tea and coffee which was great because Oslo is an expensive city!!the hotel was in a great location...i couldnt fault the hotel at all!!we would recommend the comfort xpress to anyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCrossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a relatively new hotel a 5 minute walk from the Central Train Station. The hotel caters to early 20s but was relatively affordable for such an expensive city. The staff was very friendly. They have a decent gym and a place to do laundry. The laundry machines were a little odd - mostly the dryer - it kept turning itself off, so I ended up ironing things to dry them!

The rooms were a little small but comfortable enough. The pain and fixtures were very youth-oriented and very "now" so suspect that they will appear dated at some point in the not so distant future. Another thing that is interesting, they don't clean for the base rate during your stay (you have to pay extra for that) - we were only there for 2 nights so not a huge deal but could imagine that would be inconvenient.

While breakfast wasn't free, they did have free coffee in the lobby which was nice!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

If you looking for a budget place to lay your head whilst in walking distance to all the sights this is a great hotel, it was run more like a hostel than hotel as had to check yourself in on a pc and girl who did man the reception was not very friendly but for basic reasons it was a good choice. Great location and very clean and has funky little chairs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Click-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

When me and my girlfriend stayed here it was brand new. Everything was shiny and cosy. There were a lunchroom downstairs from the lobby which was perfect for us since we bought food we could heat up in microwaveovens.
There were internet and a nice tv, and the staff was young and really professional.
The only downside was that the prices differed every day. It actually doubled during the week so we had to change hotel. But while it was a good price it was cheaper than the hostels in Oslo.

There were a really nice gym too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Alexandersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel's concept seemed smart in the expensive Oslo. Self check-in is simple, the staff is welcoming and ready to help. Coffee and tea facilities are in the lobby, public PCs are available in the lobby too. Breakfast and cleaning may be ordered separately if needed (you do not have to pay for it). The room itself is small so it may be difficult to stay at this hotel with kids or bulky luggage. Parking is right in front of the hotel (free from 6 pm to 8 am as far as I remember), Perfect place for a short stay in Oslo!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isulena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Property: Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Address: Moellergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing