We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but not good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool but not good value for your money”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

O.K. so Oslo is expensive. No shock there. However, for close to 100 euro a night, I expected a clean room. The dust on the furniture and the dirty toilet do not justify the price. Yes, the room is small but it was smart too. The bathroom is even large, but the stream from the shower head is pathetic. The hotel is close to the downtown but almost impossible to find and the immediate vicinity is not delightful. This place is average and provided lower value for money than I had expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msnic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hi msnic69,

Thank you so much for your comments. You are off course right to expect a clean room - and we deeply apologize if this was not the case at your arrival.
I really hope you where able to change rooms upon letting our staff know, and that you enjoyed your stay in Oslo.

Thank again for taking the time to review us, and hope to see you either here or at another Nordic Choice hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    807
    261
    79
    45
See reviews for
136
812
218
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews here. We needed a hotel close to the station for one night. We did not want to spend a lot of money as we were moving on very early and would not be availing of breakfast in any hotel. We were delighted with the location and facilities. We did not have to self- check in - the girl at reception was very helpful and made a note of our early start to ensure that bread etc would be left out extra early in the morning for us. Once sorted, we were able to walk to the Opera, up to the palace via Karl Johans Gata and back via Aker Brygge all with ease.
We bought a snack and availed of the coffee machine and internet in the foyer. We headed out to dinner and had no worries walking back late at night. The following morning we found bread, cheese etc in the foyer before our departure.
5 nights later we were back in Oslo. I had already prebooked a 'posher' hotel for this second night. I shouldn't have bothered - the Comfort Hotel was nicer, more convenient and better value.
I am unable to complete the review because we did not have breakfast but apart from that I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.
PS - we're in our 50's - it suits all age groups

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hi tms2indub,

We're really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - we hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We came across the hotel when looking for a budget place to stay in Central Oslo. My boyfriend and i were both really impressed with our clean and spacious room, comfy bed power shower and chilled out vibe. We didnt opt for Breakfast which seemed over priced for sandwich delivered to your room, but free tea and coffee in the obby was much appreciated when returning from the cold outside Great value for money! One tip i would have is to get clear directions as we struggled to initially find the hotel at night.

Room Tip: One tip i would have is to get clear directions as we struggled to initially find the hotel at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Hi Kate I

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We're really glad to hear that you liked it here - and hope to see you again on your next visti to Oslo.
Make sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates and info on our NOK 10 sale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Wasnt the easiest to find as it was so new but check in was very modern as you did it yourself, the room we received was very modern and minimalistic but in a good way, bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was designed very well. Hotel was very cheap which was a relief as nothing else in oslo was.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hi Barry-and-Roneta!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us - we're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here!
We're a whole year old now, and we've had such a great first year.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo - Oslo can be a bit pricy, but we do have some inside tips on how to get your kroners to last longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and our primary reason for choosing this hotel was low price and good location. It is walking distance from the train station and silent enough to warranty a good night's sleep. Considering the price in an expensive country like Norway, we were not expecting any stellar services. And the place exceeded our expectations. Rooms are clean, Staff is courteous (helped us with check in and check out which was a breeze) and there is free wi-fi, tea & coffee. Breakfast is available if intimated in advance and this is clearly mentioned in the literature in rooms. There are plenty of good restaurants around and the recommendations we got from the staff were spot on. Absolutely recommended if you are looking for a decent no-frills reasonably priced accommodation in Oslo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hi swapc!

Thanks for the awesome review - we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and visit to Oslo.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The room was so small it was difficult to open a normal size suitcase. There was a coffee machine in the lobby, but when I asked for cream or milk, the clerk simply said "We don't have it." When I went looking for breakfast, they informed us "We don't have breakfast, you have to pre-order it the night before." But when I checked in the night before, no one mentioned that breakfast had to be pre-ordered. In a country where breakfast is a usual part of any hotel stay, you would have thought some one would inform you if they operate more like an upscale youth hostel. The room was very clean, but the 'couldn't care less' attitude of the clerks and the lack of normal amenities makes this one to avoid unless you are looking for bare bones in a decent location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folkslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Hi Folkslinger,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We know that our room only concept is not for everyone – and are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the information you needed when booking your stay or when checking in.
Comfort Hotel Xpress is a low price hotel, offering compact rooms at a good price. Including in the rate is free coffee/tea, free Wifi and free gym. To be able to offer our rates, we include the basics and give our guests the opportunity to add what’s important to them.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Oslo and hope to see you at another Nordic Choice Hotel on your next visit.
Thanks for taking the time to review us – have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel. The room was small, but enough for a short stay. We only paid AU$90, which is cheap in Norway. It is a nice basic hotel which offers to basics you need. I would recommend for anyone who is only staying a few nights especially at such a low price!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolveigVoldheim, Manager at Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hi Nathan,


Thank you for an awesome review! We're really glad that you liked it here - and hope to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,489 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 100 in Oslo
805 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget

Property: Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Address: Moellergata 26, Oslo 0179, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfor Hotel Xpress Youngstorget. Opened 2011. Youngstorget, Oslo. Budget hotel. Small rooms. Plenty of attitide, low rates & love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing