We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak is chunky and beefy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hereford Steakhouse

Hereford Steakhouse
Ranked #185 of 1,405 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Grill, Steakhouse, Barbecue, European, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Hereford Steakhouse grill menu you will find, among other things, meat with pedigree from the British Hereford breed, sought after for its quality all the way back to the 1600s. You can also find Kobe meat and Aberdeen Angus meat: Juicy, tender meat - in demand worldwide. The steaks are served in three different weight categories. If you do not wish to eat beef or homemade burgers, the kitchen at Hereford Steakhouse offers variations of chicken, Norwegian salmon, tapas and spareribs from the grill. Salads, sauces and desserts are of course made from scratch. Hereford Steakhouse is a casual place with nice, modern, rustic inferior. Great outdoor seating in summer
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Steak is chunky and beefy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Love it! The food is good (bit pricey...but thats Norway) deserts are illegally good, especially the brule, good selections of wine and lovely atmosphere. The service is fab. I eat here coz they all make me feel good, friendly and that little extra. Dont forget to ask for the churichuri sauce ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    62
    27
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I came here with Sind friends for dinner. The restaurant had a nice feel. The food was amazing. We had a mixture of steaks and fish for mains. Everyone thought their food was great. My steak was cooked to perfection. The sauces were amazing. The chips was possibly the best I've ever feasted on. Portions were huge. I could not stop eating despite being full because it was so good. We all scrubbed our plates clean! I would come back again and recommend it. The house wine was also very good. Location was good. I am indeed impressed by this gem in Oslo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hanado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New location, cleaned up menu, top notch chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've been here several times, great meat! The chef from Argentina knows his stuff, he is the main reason I keep coming back, great guy! Be sure to ask for his special chimichurri. The menu is cleaned up, atmosphere lovely, wine selections well done, worth every penny - a good place to go :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eilerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steak in Oslo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Got a tip from a friend about this place. Arrived around 1800, maybe 10-20 people and the atmosphere makes you welcome. Its just wonderful! Nice staff, easy and simple menu, the food is just incredible... I dream about the steaks!

If you love steak, you need to visit this place! And if you got the money, buy the "Kobe Steak"!

Get ready for a food experience you wont forget!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HHaugland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubin, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We arrived at the restaurant at 17:30 and were the first clients. Although it took an hour to get our steaks it was worth waiting. The food was very good, nicely cooked and served. Appetizers were also nice. It's bit pricy but I guess every good place in Oslo is. The restaurant is not easy to find if you follow google maps, it's on the other side of the building and you have to walk from the main street to the river to get there. Also, the address here on Tripadvisor is wrong, it should be: Hausmanns gate 16. Considering it all, the place is worth recommending.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PolakMaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hereford Steakhouse also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Hereford Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing