We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Solid hotel with good location”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in one of the Thon "Junior Suites" (note: you can get discounted rates if you book early on the website; the rate is non-refundable but is an incredible bargain). We arrived earlier than check-in time but the staff was more than willing to let us check us in. The room was sizable by Scandinavian standards and included a nice bathroom, a comfortable bed, and a deck. Like other hotels we stayed in Scandinavia, the room was very clean and the hotel was overall quiet. In terms of location, it's hard to argue with this hotel as it is a mere 7 minute walk from the train station and 3 blocks from the main shopping street, Karl Johans Gate. The area around the hotel is not particularly "happening", but there is a nice bakery called Bakefri right around the corner and a nearby sandwich shop. The breakfast buffet was solid and consisted of a few hot dishes (e.g. eggs and meatballs/bacon), fruit, cold cuts, and a continental spread.

My only complaint was with the lack of security in the luggage storage room. They give you a key to the storage room in the back but it seems like it would be too easy for any random person to ask for a key and then take luggage; I would have preferred it if a staff member would have been the person who retrieved luggage on request. The other minor complaint is that the staff were all dressed according to some theme (on day 1, people were dressed up like animals with cat whiskers, etc.; on day 2, it was apparently Mexican sombrero day). This contributed to a feeling of unprofessionalism, even though the staff themselves were perfectly helpful and competent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear, traveldoc42-

Thank you very much for your kind comments of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama are focusing on the children every summer from June - August, hence the sombrero, cat whiskers and so on - just to make the stay a bit more memorable for the children. I am happy to hear that our staff still were perceived as helpful and that it did not affect the level of service you received. I have noted the first complaint and will take a closer look on our routines.

We hope to see you the next time you are visiting Oslo.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    330
    94
    22
    13
See reviews for
188
246
45
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I booked a superior room (2 nights) for its advertised size. Indeed, the room had a separate living area, complete with a sofa, TV, microwave oven, dishwasher, stove and minibar.
The bed is very comfortable.
Excellent breakfast, with wide selection of food.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for its size and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenatoBedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear, RenatoBedin.

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and especially that you found our staff service-minded - as this is something we strive for.

Welcome back on another occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I loved all the hotels I stayed at in Norway, so it may be that I like the same things in a hotel that Norwegians do. First, this was probably the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in (even though there were families staying there), maybe because it was initially going to be condos, but was turned into a hotel. That's why our room had a bedroom, living room (with a balcony!), and kitchenette. European hotel rooms can be small, so this was especially nice. The bed was very comfy.

The staff was great, the breakfast buffet was excellent (lots of variety, all excellent quality), and they even had a ping pong table (ostensibly for the kids - this hotel is family friendly). Stay here.

A note: All the hotels we stayed at in Norway shared these characteristics: free coffee in the lobby all day; liquid soap dispensers for the shower and bathroom sink; heated bathroom floors; individual comforters (two) on double beds (no fighting for covers!); black-out curtains (for the long daylight hours).

Room Tip: I emailed in advance and asked for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear, Kurt12.

Thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself with us and we all here at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama hope to see you on another occasion.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for its central location and reasonable price.

The staff were extremely friendly and we happy to help with everything from sight seeing tips to recommendung restaurants.

The room itself was quite large and had a separate living area complete with a sofa and 2 TVs in total. And this was just a standard room. In a city where going out drinking costs a fortune, it was nice to have a room we could hang out in.

Breakfast was also nice. A wide selection including fruit, pastries, bread, cold meats, cheese, cereal, yoghurt, meatballs, eggs etc.

The location is perfect. A short walk from the main shopping area, train station and ferry terminals. I was worried the area near this hotel would be rough but its a nice quiet street.

The free WiFi was much appreciated too.

The only downside was the view, it was over looking the middle of a building and the fact that there is no bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanadia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear, vanadia7.

Thank you very much for your kind comments of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that our staff was perceived as extremely friendly. We hope to see you again if you are visiting Oslo on another occasion.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spend 3 nights here during our stay in Oslo and were very pleased. We arrived before check in and the staff took our luggage off our hands and told us they would do their best to open a room for us before the typical check in time of 3. We walked around the city and found the time passed quickly. Upon our return we found they had upgraded us to a business suite at no extra charge. This was certainly a pleasant surprise. Our room had a fridge/freezer, oven, and stove which allowed us to prepare some simple meals in our room, a very pleasant surprise which saved us some money in an expensive city. The balcony was amazing and our view (from 11 floors up) was stunning. We spent every evening enjoying the late night sunshine and watching the city unwind.

As for the nitty gritty that everyone wants to know when checking Tripadvisor, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The shower in the bathroom was strange (swinging door that doesn't really close to anything so water splashes over the toilet during the shower) but we simply left the lid down while showering and it didn't pose us any difficulties. (The sink and towel rack stay dry.) The breakfast was very good, lots to choose from and everything was tasty and fresh. There is free tea/coffee and biscotti cookies round-the-clock in the lobby. The hotel has a lot of cute little extras for those travelling with kids. A little care pack is given to each child on arrival with crayons, coloring books, a token for a free ice cream, and some toys. There are toys in the lobby and the breakfast has plenty of high chairs available, bibs and childrens dishes, along with a special breakfast area made easy for children to fix their own plates. The location is very accessible to downtown, right in the heart of things.

All in all it was a great stay and we would be happy to stay there again of the occasion arises.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear, lorichick.

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was such a pleasant experience and we sincerely hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have stayed at the Thon Hotel Panorama both on business trips as well as on holiday on a few occacions and have been happy with it. The superior rooms are spacious and clean, with amazingly comfortable beds and a great view if you can get a room on the higher floors. A wider choice is offerred at breakfast and there is a great coffee machine on tap in the hotel reception. The hotel is very centrally located and just a few short minutes walk down to the harbour front & the staff are friendly and helpful.

The key card didn't work first time though, but the replacement was ok. I suggest that the hotel has more than one staff on duty in the morning when people are queuing to check out in the morning as there was quite a line up when guests all want to check out at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear, nomad88888.

Thank you very much for your kind comments of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnprior
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Good location but hotel has virtualy no parking and difficult to offload luggage on street out front. .all else excellant and good centraLLocation very central in Oslo - No view on lower floor but quite central courtyard view made for easy sleeping.Great buffet breakfast..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the parking we do have four parking spaces in the basement of the hotel, however these must be ordered prior to your arrival as they are often occupied. We hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama

Property: Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Address: Raadhusgata 7b, Oslo 0151, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oslo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#16 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama opened in October 2008, and is a professional business hotel that is also well suited for holiday travellers. The hotel has 118 spacious and modern rooms, including two penthouse suites. The interior consists of Scandinavian design with bright colours and wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing